We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, you don't get what you pay for though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Classic Street Hotel
Ranked #122 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Clean, friendly staff, tasty breakfast with as much fruit as you like. Perfect location in the Old Town. The luxury room is pretty much the same size as the standard room & does not have a bath or a balcony as advertised (one of them does have a balcony but it is not large enough for a chair) so ask for a discount if you are in this room as it is definitely not worth $64 per night.The standard room has a window but it has been bricked up. It still doesn't stop the room being a loud room so you definitely need earplugs. Better off going for the standard room here. We've marked it down because the luxury room was mis-sold on the website we booked through (we have stayed in both the luxury & standard) & we had to sort out a discount as there was no bath or balcony & this was the reason we had booked the room.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the luxury room, just go for the standard & bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sober_Colm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 369 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Excellent small hotel for the budget conscious - but comfort not sacfificed
$35/night gets you a deluxe room with double bed and TV/Bathroom free Wifi/breakfast
Friendly service
Central in old quarter
Nearby to shops restuarants/lake
All usual services avalable - laundry/trip arranging etc

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel couldn't be better located. Right where you want to be -- in the center of activity! Shopping out the front door & all around. Water Puppet Theater within 5-minute walk. East Lake, HoChiMinh Mausoleum, Temple of Literature are all in walking distance. Lots of street food, restaurants, bars in the area.

Hotel & Rooms are super clean & well appointed. Rooms/Baths are small but plenty adequate! This is not an International Hotel; it's a boutique hotel & family run with great staff.

It's really quiet considering it's location. Breakfasts include beverages, fresh fruits, eggs & bacon, VN soups, & even sweets to finish your tea/coffee with!

Room Tip: We had a 'luxury' room on the 7th floor that looked out over the rooftops & into the sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AkDenizK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel must not be judged by the external appearances! Inside it is a great place to stay. The staff are attentive and very helpful. The prices are very reasonable. The rooms are well fitted out, with the most comfortable beds. The bathrooms are spacious. The hotel is located in the Old Quarter where many attractions exist, lots of restaurants, pubs, and in the middle of shopping heaven!

Room Tip: No pool or fitness centre, but I did not want to ruin the ratings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkHalpern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Classic Street Hotel for about six nights in a row. We can highly recommend the friendly helpful staff that is always motivated and friendly. As my wife got sick they even went to the market to buy some additional ingridients to provide special meals for her. I also can highly recommend the typical Vietnamese breakfast. The quality of the rooms is at a high level, they are quiet, off the street and furniture decoration is in a modern Vietnamese style. The location of the hotel is right in the center of the old quarter and therefore perfect for tourists who want to visit experience the city life.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is what old Hanoi should look like. Its small boutique liked hotel with chinese furniture decoration took us back to the time when the old quarter was in its heyday. Although the Classic Street Hotel could live up our expectation in terms of the spotless and beautiful decorated room and its facilities, but its true essence is hospitality. The staff was exceptionally helpful and polite. They could come up with answers for everything we ask for making our stay to be so pleasant. The location is unbeatable if you want to visit places by walk. Lots of dining choices around apart from shopping. For entertainment, if you get bored with highly comercialized show like water puppet I recommend attend traditional music performance in a very unique old style house on Ma May street. All of this are in shor walking distance from the hotel. Definitely the Classic Street would be our next base for the next trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sakon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great Location in the hub of the city. Hours a to be spent wandering around the surrounding streets taking in Vietnam's culture.
Staff are very friendly and helpful but we booked our trips next door as they gave better deals.
Rooms are clean. Only down side is ours was up 5 flights of stairs, only half of the hotel has a lift. But its a good bit of exercise, just a pain if you forget something!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#30 of 599 in Hanoi
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#62 of 599 in Hanoi
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#52 of 599 in Hanoi
1,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Street Hotel

Address: 41 Hang Be Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#49 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#73 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $33 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Classic Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient streets of Hanoi are one of the world treasures. This is not only the place of 112 vestiges of history, religion and culture but also the place which has witnessed the changed of Hanoi people's life through the past thousands years. Our hotel - Classic Street Hotel is located in Hang Be Street, one of the ancient streets in Hanoi. With its truly traditional style, open and airy space, Classic Street Hotel makes deep impression in customers who have stayed here. From here, you can feel the most peace of Hanoi. It takes only 2 minutes to go for a walk to go to Hoan Kiem Lake, to Ngoc Son pagoda, The Huc Bridge. Right beside the hotel is Thang Long Water Puppet Theatre, tourism center, bank... You can walk through small streets shadowed by big trees, watch silk and souvenir shops on the 2 sides of the roads which joint Vietnam to other countries in the world. Esp. Here you can make friends with Vietnamese people who are very friendly and hospitable. Classic Street Hotel is surely your ideal hotel destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Classic Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Classic Street Hotel Hanoi
Classic Street Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing