We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home in Hanoi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Classic Street Hotel
Ranked #129 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“At home in Hanoi”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Hanoi is a city to fall irrevocably in love with, but this love needs to be helped on quite a bit at the beginning. This is a city turned inside out - the pavements and streets are alive with human energy, and all of human life is there to be seen and to become part of. The Classic Street Hotel is a great place to start if you want to take on the challenge of becoming part of this great human dance of movement and sound. Once you begin to flow with the city, it opens its heart to you. The walk between Classic Street Hotel and Hoan Kiem Lake will get you started because it takes you from one oasis of relative peace to another, and in the beginning, you really do need these oases. The hotel appears deceptively small and non-descript from the street, but like most spaces in Vietnam, the extreme narrowness of the building is offset by the depths that lie behind the facade. Once you pass the utilitarian reception desk, the hotel expands into a zen-like, open-air, marbled lobby which is decorated with antique carvings, prints, unusual objects, small water-features and plants. This is a really lovely place to sit at night time. The breakfast room is a continuation of this space and is calm, cool and restful. The rooms are clean and well-equipped, and there is wi-fi for every floor and computers freely available in the reception area. Some rooms are more spacious than others so it's well worth inquiring about a move if you feel that yours is too small. Breakfast is simple and good - fresh rolls, eggs and fruit on the European menu, and Pho on the Vietnamese menu. Coffee here will take a little getting used to but - like so many things in Vietnam - it will slowly persuade you to love it, and then you'll miss it when you can't have it any more. One of the best and most important thing about Classic Street Hotel is the staff. They are endlessly patient in helping you to plan and organise anything that you want to do. We booked our trips to Halong Bay and SaPa through the hotel, and they put hours into it on our behalf, tweaking it for us right up to the last moment. They stored our luggage while we were away on these trips, and we were able to check back into the same room when we returned. At the ned of this part of our SE Asia trip, we were very sad to be leaving Hanoi, and almost equally sad to be saying 'goodbye' to the Classic Street Hotel. Stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipMarlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    123
    27
    5
    11
See reviews for
46
132
44
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Trafalgar, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel on three occasions whilst in Hanoi area (between trips to Halong Bay and Sapa). On each occasion we've been impressed with the friendliness of the manager and staff and their willingness to help us, even allocating rooms for us this morning when we arrived at 5am from Sapa. A pleasant breakfast is provided, and the staff generally speak good english. The beds are very comfortable, and the rooms have great air-conditioning. We noticed that the rooms ending in '4' aren't quite as good as the others (the other four rooms we had (all ending in '5' or '7' were excellent (I can't comment on the others as I haven't seen them). This is a newly renovated hotel which I would definitely stay at again if I return to Hanoi on a later visit. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that end in 5 or 7 (e.g., 407) which appear to be either new or recently re-furbished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douliou
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

we stayed at Hanoi Classic Street Hotel with a conveniently located hotel on our first time in Hanoi and were absolutely happy their services. It was not only because they upgraded our room, for which, of couse, we were most grateful; However, it was more about the staff who clearly made every effort to make us feel welcomed such as at home. The room was impeccably clean and comfortable with chic interior. What impressed us most was when the reaturant staff still remembered us when we returned there after a week for our trip to Halong Bay and Sapa – Bac Ha trip. The food was excellent although there could be more vietnamese choices, and the spa provided satisfactory service too. we wish we stayed there longer and will definitely go back and highly recommend this hotel too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huudan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
울산
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Chosen this hotel for its closeness to Hoan Kiem Lake and it has on the Guide Book but we fell this Classic Street Hotel is very fantastic hotel. We stayed here for our last days in Vietnam. We had a wonderful time, the clean and spacious rooms, friendly staff, great location. When we arrived the staff welcomed us with a drink (mmm mango juice) and they brought us to our room. It is a comfortable room but it has everything you need. The bed is very comfortable. The breakfast is good! The price for this hotel is reasonable. I would book this hotel again if I come back to Hanoi! For me it was perfect. And highly recommend this Classic Street Hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank changkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

nice hotel located in old town in hanoi. 2 min away from the lake
comfortable beds and cold warm aircondition. friendly stuff and clean rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pustekuchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth W Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This is the third time we have stayed at Classic Street Hotel because of its fantastic position in the Old Quarter, the value for money, the good breakfasts and the no-nonsense, reliable assistance from the staff who are friendly without being over the top. There have been extensive renovations recently so there is now a lift, there are new rooms and the dining area has been enlarged and upgraded. This hotel has generally seemed to be middly on Trip Advisor rankings but I would have no hesitation in recommending it - we will certainly choose them again!

Room Tip: Not sure- we have never had a bad room and now that there is a lift you don't need to avoid the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The hotel is situated inside the Old Quarter in Hanoi, Vietnam. So, it is very strategic. All you have to do is just preparing your legs for walking around the area, buying from shops that are hundreds there or trying many varieties of foods if you are classified as a taste adventurer.

I chose this hotel because it is in a walking distance to Thang Long Water Puppet, the theatre where we will go tonight.

Beware that there are several Classic Street Hotels. In Vietnam, there is no regulation for giving the same name on the same business. Even if the regulation does exist, people just ignore :) So, you should have the address with you and also a map to point at the exact Classic Street Hotel you want to stay.

The hotel is very small if you see it from the front. Like most of hotels in Hanoi, its width is only around 6 metres. So, to go to your room you have to climb steps, many steps and they are steep. One room per floor. There are 3 locations of staircases and it goes to different rooms and different floors. It is just the characteristic of hotels around Hanoi because as my friend told me, the land there is very expensive (around USD 30,000 per m2). Imagine, a developing country but with that high prices for land and buildings. So, they have to figure out how to make a hotel with such a limited space like that.

When you see the room, the bed almost hits both of the walls and it is hard to go from one side to another side of the bed. Even to put and open your luggage needs a specific skill :)

Television size is only 14" inch, but it has colours, at least (not black and white, hehehe...)

The bathroom certainly has the same situation. It is very small. But everything is okay because we don't stay at the hotel for the whole day like we used to do when we stay in a holiday hotel/luxurious one.

What I really complain is that there is a noise coming from the wall at around 11 pm when we are sleeping, very tired after the flight and the show. Seems that somebody in the process of doing some renovations on the wall, but why the hell he does it in the middle of the night like that?

Because we are so tired, the busy noise can not stop us for sleeping at that night.

The breakfast is Pho! Actually, we can choose, whether has a western one or Pho. Of course we choose Pho because it looks similar with our noodle and we used to eat noodle as our breakfast back in my home country. The hotel staff has to buy the Pho outside (they don't make it by themselves) and the Pho is very delicious. I think it is more delicious than the one we took at Pho24 :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awe2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#140 of 588 in Hanoi
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#28 of 588 in Hanoi
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#47 of 588 in Hanoi
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.1 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Luminous Viet Hotel
Luminous Viet Hotel
#163 of 588 in Hanoi
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Street Hotel

Property: Classic Street Hotel
Address: 41 Hang Be Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#51 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#75 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Classic Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient streets of Hanoi are one of the world treasures. This is not only the place of 112 vestiges of history, religion and culture but also the place which has witnessed the changed of Hanoi people's life through the past thousands years. Our hotel - Classic Street Hotel is located in Hang Be Street, one of the ancient streets in Hanoi. With its truly traditional style, open and airy space, Classic Street Hotel makes deep impression in customers who have stayed here. From here, you can feel the most peace of Hanoi. It takes only 2 minutes to go for a walk to go to Hoan Kiem Lake, to Ngoc Son pagoda, The Huc Bridge. Right beside the hotel is Thang Long Water Puppet Theatre, tourism center, bank... You can walk through small streets shadowed by big trees, watch silk and souvenir shops on the 2 sides of the roads which joint Vietnam to other countries in the world. Esp. Here you can make friends with Vietnamese people who are very friendly and hospitable. Classic Street Hotel is surely your ideal hotel destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Classic Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Classic Street Hotel Hanoi
Classic Street Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing