We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences
Ranked #159 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Atherton, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Hanoi Club is away from the city center and the nicer hotels. The rooms are pretty nice but you can get much nice for $20-30 US for a nicer hotel with much nicer facilities grounds.
We arrived in the evening and the checking staff promised to recommended a place for us to eat. He walked out the door and pointed at the street leading to the hotel and said turn right at the next street. The street was very dirty and only had street vendors for food. We walked about 1/2 mile before getting in a better section where there where actual restaurants. Later in the week we transferred to another hotel where the facilities where 2x nicer, the staff give us several recommendations for restaurants and patiently spend at least 1/2 hour with my wife calling our tour agency to fix some problems. The moment we stepped in the other hotel, my wife (who was looking to save some $$) was extremely regretful that she had book the Hanoi club. On top of this, she was looking forward to a "free" spa at the Hanoi Club which turned out to be a credit that was not enough to pay for any treatments and we never used. This place does have a driving range and a full (local) gym if you looking for that.

If you are looking to see the city, stay in the old quarters where you can walk right out of your hotel for food, shopping and sightseeing.
If you are looking for nicer facility pick something higher end.

Room Tip: Get room at the back (as high and far right as possible) to get better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_PC_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cao Anh N, Front Office Manager at The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Mr Bob

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences and spending time to write this comment to Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to read your comment about our staff was not really helpful when recommended someplace to eat for you at night. And i am so sorry to hear that you are not happy with our Spa service because our hotel offer Spa voucher discount VND 100.000 not Free for Spa. Please accept our sincere apologies for the trouble caused by this unfortunate mistaken.

We sincerely hope that this experience will not impair your confidence in our hotel. It is our hope that you will give us an opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future.

In the meantime, if I can be at any further assistance please contact direct to me at fom@thehanoiclub.com

Warm regards!
Aaron, Nguyen Cao Anh (Mr.)
Assist Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    103
    35
    5
    9
See reviews for
45
78
20
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

A nice Hotel, nice staff, according to cost in Vietnam it was little bit expensive. I had made a mistake in my booking with agoda. First they said it could not be changed, but after 7 emails and two phone calls, Mr. Aaron helped very nicely, so the penalty then was the payment for onbe night instead of 4 nights getting lost.

Room Tip: if you do not want to hear the traffic at night, better choose a lakeside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank OttoHGies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cao Anh N, Front Office Manager at The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Mr Otto

Thank you very much for your recent stays at The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences and taking time to write this wonderful comment on tripadvisor

It was a pleasure having you here with us and we are so happy to hear that you satisfy with our service and facilities, we will continue to work hard to meet our customer's requirement.

We will pass your comments to service team so that we can do our utmost to provide great service to all guests.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Aaron-Nguyen Cao Anh
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Situated just outside of Hanoi on West Lake this hotel has lovely rooms - very clean and recently done out with comfy beds and nice linen. Bug bear of mine is useless showers and the bathroom was great. This has the feel of a big hotel but without the chain feel to it. It's not the most polished, fancy hotel in the world but it has a real charm and was a special little place. The staff are all wonderful - full of smiles and keen to help. The breakfast isn't the best in the world but is good enough to start the day. I had a poached egg done for me - after a bit of confusion and being asked how long it took to cook it came back lovely and tasty!! There is pool and golf range - the weather was awful so I just used the small spa and gym which was just what I needed. Don't be put off by the location - it's only about £4 in a taxi tops into the town centre and you might find you get a better nights sleep away from the noise of the old quarter,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cao Anh N, Front Office Manager at The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Mr Matt

Thank you very much for staying at The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences and taking time to write this wonderful comments about our staff and facilities on Tripadvisor.

All the staff were very happy to read your comments about the "The staff are all wonderful - full of smiles and keen to help" as this is key to the hotels success.

We are very proud that you enjoyed your stay with us. We believe that we will continue to deliver even better services to all our guests.

I hope next time when you come back to Hanoi we will have an opportunity to look after you again.

Your sincerely,
Aaron-Nguyen Cao Anh (Mr.)
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skanderborg
Level Contributor
277 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences is situated a bit far from the city center - it is not walkable, but taxi prices are very reasonable. Nothing much is going on around the hotel, so you have to take a taxi if you want some action or want to see famous sights of the city. The hotel seems to be hid just few meters away from a typical busy Hanoi street, but there in the middle of it all you find this luxury hotel with great views of the West Lake. The staff is friendly, the rooms are very nice and comfortable. If you want to relax there is a spa in the hotel which can be used by hotel guests. The spa also includes a sauna and steem bath. Outside there is a swimming pool with a bar. All in all a great experience, but be aware that everything seems to close down around 10 pm, and nothing in the neighborhood se

Room Tip: Rooms with lake view doesn´t always have views of the whole lake. We had booked a room with lake vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cao Anh N, Front Office Manager at The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Mr Lars Soholm

Thank you very must for staying at The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences and taking time to write this thoughtful comments on Tripadvisor.

And i am very happy to know that you love our room, our staff, our spa sauna and our swimming pool ... Our hotel is located outside of the hustle and bustle of the city centre but the taxi always available at the main entrance and cost only few dollars. And because the hotel near the lake and away from the street so after 10:00pm will be a little quiet.

We always try our utmost to satisfy all guests request and their expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences in the near future.

Best regards!
Aaron-Nguyen Cao Anh
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Room and facility are good. Easy area to commute from old city and airport. Service was excellent and all facilities were functional. Explored around old town, hotel and lake by walking every where, so location for my purposes was perfect.

Room Tip: Lake view and higher up are quiet and good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Calgary1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cao Anh N, Front Office Manager at The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Calgary1955 & BKKTraveller2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences and taking time to write this great comments on Tripadvisor.

It was fantastic to read your comments about the "Excellent services and facilities" and it is always a pleasure to hear that you satisfied with our services and facilities.

We will continue to work hard to meet our customer's requirement.

Again thank you for your positive feedback and We hope that you will present us the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Warm regards!
Aaron-Nguyen Cao Anh
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Room and facility are good. Easy area to commute from city to airport. We were arrive late at night but the check-in was fast, Not having much time to explore around the hotel but lake scene in the morning was fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BKKTraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cao Anh N, Front Office Manager at The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Calgary1955

Thank you very much for your recent stays at The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences and taking time to write this great comment on Tripadvisor.

We are very proud that you enjoyed your stay with us. We believe that we will continue to deliver even better services to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards!
Aaron - Nguyen Cao Anh
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I must confess that I booked the hotel because I was very impressed with the pictures. The deal was also very good (lake view + 3pm late check-out + spa coupon + amazing swimming pool).

Swimming pool was empty, lake view was more like a 'oh look I think the lake is there', spa was closed so I didn't get a coupon. The late check out worked.

The hotel location is not good if you want to see the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LeoArend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cao Anh N, Front Office Manager at The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear LeoArend

Thank you very much for your recent stay in The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences and taking time to write this comment to Tripadvisor.

I am sorry that we disappointed you because the Swimming pool and the Spa. Please accept my apologies on behalf of our hotel for any inconvenience caused to you.

We already posted annoucement to all online websites that during our Tet holiday some of our service and facilities will not available and our hotel located is not in the old quarter but at the beautiful West Lake area and is take only 10 – 15 minutes taxi to the city centre.

I hope you can give us another chance to show our best services next time you come to hanoi, and should you require any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at fom@thehanoiclub.com

Warm regards!
Aaron - Nguyen Cao Anh (Mr.)
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
1.3 mi away
Somerset West Lake
Somerset West Lake
#175 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.5 mi away
Diamond Westlake Suites
Diamond Westlake Suites
#126 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
La Casa Hanoi Hotel
#157 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#70 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
1.0 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#82 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#77 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences

Property: The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences
Address: 76 Yen Phu Street | Tay ho District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hanoi
#38 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#40 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#45 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#52 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#60 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of Hanoi's largest lake, the West Lake, The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences offers a first-class accommodation with uninterrupted panoramic views. The luxurious property provides professional service in a relaxing atmosphere with a long list of facilities which include fitness center, Bonus Club Jackpot and Gaming Center, Panda Kid's Club and Arena Golf Driving Range, making it a perfect rendezvous spot for either business or casual get-together. Aside from the hotel facilities, in-room amenities are also arranged to ensure you a comfortable stay. For those looking for an upscale establishment with a wealth of activities and kid-friendly, The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences makes a perfect solution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Fastbooking and Agoda so you can book your The Hanoi Club Hotel & Lake Palais Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hanoi Club Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing