We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moosalicious and rootastic”

the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill
Ranked #42 of 2,293 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: European, Australian, International, Gastropub
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Moosalicious and rootastic”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Went to the moose and too after finding it on trip adviser. Easy to find. Very classy on the inside. Staff were very friendly. We got the pulled pork sandwiches with the beef gravy on our fries and a friend got the mash potato. Well we all ate in silence and loovvveeeddd our food! The gravy was also one of the BEST gravies I had! Our cocktails were strong by there's nothing to complain about that! Definitely will return!!!

Helpful?
Thank Cat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Love the title of the this review. We are also very pleased to hear we delivered with you. Glad you liked the gravy.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    234
    68
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Awesome food, drinks and staff. It was raining like no tomorrow and they welcomed us with dripping clothes and everything. Their food is brilliant and they offer imported drinks. Being vegetarian I had a salad as they don't have a massive range however it was wonderful!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank helpchlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Glad to hear we were able to provide a place for you to dry off. We don't have the largest selection of vegetarian food but if you ever find yourself back at the Moose and Roo please don't hesitate to ask Chef Richie to whip up something special.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great gourmet pub”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Lovely place, top food and drink. Great gastro pub in Hanoi. Well located, good menu choices and a great drinks menu too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duncjwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thanks a lot for such a nice review. We are quite pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little pricey for Vietnam - and worth every penny!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Delicious food. Great service (for any country, but especially for Vietnam). Proper wine & beer. Yeah, it's not cheap, but it's not expensive either, considering what you get.

Helpful?
1 Thank meaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. Glad to hear you enjoyed everything and the comments about the service only help to motivate our staff to try even harder so thanks for that. hope the rest of your trip was good.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home away from home - food wise anyway”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

After two weeks travelling South to North it was fantastic to get some great comfort food. The pulled pork, hamburger, steak sandwich and bangers and mash were all great and would rate well in the best of Aussie Pubs/cafés. Combined with a great selection of beers and Aussie wines, including sparkling, the meal is exactly what we were after.
I do not normally order dessert but followed the TA advice and went the Fondant - fantastic.
Great staff and service.
Prices a bit high compared to what we have become used to Vietnam, that said I thought all the above with a couple of beers and sparkling wines, and a bottle of Australian white wine was good value.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for such a nice review. The staff love hearing when their efforts are appreciated. Glad you had a chance to try our fondant which is very popular with our guests.
Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing