We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hot wings on the planet”

the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill
Ranked #34 of 2,204 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub, International, European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best hot wings on the planet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We visited Moose and Roo yesterday, my husband caused a massive stir with the waitresses when he asked for the 'suicide chicken wing's. At last a restaurant that can seriously produce the goods. There are oh so many pretenders but this is the real thing!! Oh and by the way, he ate them and totally loved them!!
We also had the steak sandwich and beef and dark ale aussie pie - both were delicious.
The waitresses were brilliant and really attentive.
Its definitely worth a visit. Try it you'll love it

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us. The wings are 1/2 the reason we opened the Moose & Roo so to hear you were so impressed with them is really great. Thanks again.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    228
    67
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service, eat here if you're trying to avoid dodgy food or want something from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very western bar/restaurant with Canadian and Australian roots. If it were not for the bustling street outside we could have been at a trendy restaurant back home in Perth, Australia. We found Keith (owner) at the bar and he was happy to chat and was very helpful. Staff speak a good level of English and prices were reasonable.

We came here after having an unsettled stomach due to some good/bad local food and just wanted a steak! We had the brisket and the steak sandwich, both great! I asked Keith if he had any vegemite (just needed the taste of it to help settle my stomach) and he ran down the street to his mates and got me some from his mates at the hostel. Bless!

If you're over pho and rice, come here to relax and have a nice meal for sure. :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Happy honeymoon. It was no bother to get a touch of home for a upset tummy. I hope the rest of your trip goes well and that you are feeling better.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Sat in this restaurant at the moment watching the world saunter by.Great food and draft beer!Staff excellent and really friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dekyid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Love the title of this review.....

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommend a visit if you're in Hanoi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

The food here is delicious and the service just as brilliant and also very quick. Prices are very reasonable and the waiters and waitresses are very friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank AlexCraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thanks for such a great review. We appreciate it.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Darren & Michelle uk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Just had a meal in the moose &roo & what a meal!! The best meal we have ever had bar none.I had braised beef brisket & M had Aussie pie. We asked to speak to the chef (Richie) he explained the process how he cooked are food,which made it taste so good.The prices are about the same as uk. If you in Hanoi you must give it a try. Tha address is 42b ma may street old qur.

Helpful?
2 Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithThibert, Owner at the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
We all enjoyed reading this review but I think Richie enjoyed it the most. It always nice to know that a guest has enjoyed themselves so much. Thanks for the recommendation.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to the Moose & Roo Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing