We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of Little Black Duck - CLOSED

Little Black Duck
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Little Black Duck(LBD) is a restaurant and cafe with house special Duck Dishes, it authentic Vietnamese taste and international choices.We are providing Westerners and tourists with traditional tastes of Vietnam as well as International food to give you more choices. You might be enjoying real Vietnamese fresh, healthy dishes or international type of cooking or even some of the dishes that you have back home that you may be missing.For Vietnamese people, you can have your own Vietnamese food served in a nice, clean and modern restaurant or you might try the international food to see what it is like or to know more of other cultures in the world through their cuisine.With a young, dynamic team, Little Black Duck aims to always bring you friendly and helpful service with good tasting food at a reasonable price.Give us a chance to show you what we have here!
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We visited the lovely Little Black Duck last night. My husband had the crispy duck with orange sauce and I had the crispy duck with tamarind sauce. Both was served with steamed rice and a refreshing Vietnamese salad and were ridiculously good! I fear this meal will be tough to beat (these are the anxieties of the food obsessed). The service was wonderful and the window table downstairs provided the perfect view. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
2 Thank Vicsich99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    112
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant.”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was a few doors down from our hotel in the old quarter of Hanoi. We asked to be seated upstairs which was a good call as we could look down on the noisy street below. The staff were very helpful. One of us had the Vietnamese style duck and the other a French styled duck a la orange both dishes were excellence. In fact we swapped plates half way through. It's not a big place so you might have to book when it's busy. Prices were very reasonable though.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mega disappointment”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I don't usually write negative reviews but we went to this restaurant based on the many positive Tripadvisor reviews. Well, what a load of rubbish!

The waiting staff had not been briefed on the daily specials so it took two members of staff to find out what the specials were. The food service was slow. The food itself was average - I would go as far to say it was our least enjoyable meal in Hanoi. When we asked for the bill, we waited patiently and eventually we were asked what we had eaten for them to create the bill. The table next to us were having a frustrating time ordering dishes that were not available (this happened twice!), including the wine they requested.

It was chaotic, none of the staff were in control and as we left, it was quite amusing to see an unstaffed bar, with a blender whizzing away and no one tending to it.

Thank goodness it was reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SARAH L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongHoang, Owner at Little Black Duck, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
My sincere apology for a less than satisfactory night for you. our senior staff suddenly had to get home as she got an urgency personal problem and we could not arrange in a short time for another on the floor that night. Combined with an unexpectedly busy evening, everything that could go wrong did go wrong.

Our junior staffs are new and still learning. They were unable to competently handle the workload and need further training in service which we provide on an ongoing basis.

All our customer reviews show that we provide a quality service and we are constantly working to enhance our reputation as a quality venue.

We really hope that you have an open mind to forgive the mistaken in the dining experience and more than happy to welcoming you back to prove to you that we are as good as the reviews were.

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best meal of holiday”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Cute little place. Service was excellent. The food was amazing and fresh at reasonable price for tourist and western style restaurant. The duck and salad we had was great. Really fresh. I would recommend this restaurant to any travellers and ex pats

Helpful?
2 Thank Apersonwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Do not miss this place!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Do not miss this restaurant while you're in Hanoi. Really good food, fantastic service and a nice atmosphere, we started inside and moved outside when the table there was free. Nothing was too much trouble and great to see staff that move quickly and work with energy, not often we see that in Hanoi.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Black Duck also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing