We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great location, good value”
Review of Stars Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stars Hotel
Ranked #74 of 627 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We were traveling during Tet so there was a lot of things closed or booked. The staff from the Stars hotel were extremely pleasant and even invited us to share their Tet dinner which is a great honor on Vietnam.

They are located in a quieter street, considering the craziness of Hanoi, so other than the roosters we were able to sleep well.

Staff is very honest and will accommodate your requests as much as possible.
We have stayed all across Vietnam, even at the Hilton, and this was a more enjoyable, genuine experience.

Only weak point is that they don't have an elevator so if you are on the 4th floor like us, don't exhaust yourself prior going to your room :-)

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy_2bTraveling69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starshotelhanoi, Manager at Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2011

Warmest greeting from Stars Hotel, Hanoi, Vietnam.

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are very happy to know that you enjoy your time in Vietnam.

P/s: Going up and down stair helps you stronger !!!

Once again, thank you for your staying with us.

Best Regards,

Do, Hong Ngoc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Stars Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 185 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2010

Ended up leaving this place and going down the road where for $5 more the room was far superior.
The photos are from 15 years ago, and nothing has been updated since. The computer was full of viruses and unusable, and the staff were pushy.
Hanoi isnt the nicest part of Vietnam, so spend a bit more ($5-10) and go somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NathanB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starshotelhanoi, Manager at Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review. Our hotel has been renovated 1 month ago. I am very looking forward to seeing you again.
The computer updated the newest anti-virus for all the rooms.

We always try our best to make customers happy with our service. Certainly, we are not so perfect that we do not get in trouble or mistake in our business. That's why we are always looking for the best way to improve our self, to exert our self to do the work for the satisfaction of the client. We do not want to cause much complaint among our customers, it is our wish to be the best service at your side. For that, we need more feedback from the customers in order to improve our service. We are very grateful for contributing your ideas to our hotel development program.

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We had one of the cheaper rooms (we were put in there from another Guesthouse that was full - but at a discounted price) so for what we paid we were quite pleased. The place was pretty spacious and clean. There was a computer with internet available in the room and there was a kettle!

The bathroom was quite small and the shower wasn't amazing but it was nice enough and again clean. The windows and bathroom door is quite dated in terms of how it looks but that didn't really bother us, if I had paid 30 dollars for this room however I think i'd only rate it at 3.

Half the staff were really friendly and helpful and it's in a good location. Overall not a bad little hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dv912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights and wished we had stayed longer.We paid $18 for a large double room with balcony including breakfast.We had TV,fridge,A/C,bath and shower and free internet in room with computer.
Breakfast was excellent.Choice of eggs ,noodles,bread with fruit.
It was in a great location in the old quarter.
The staff were friendly and attentative and not pushy with tours.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

This Hotel is the best place to stay . i and my wife been there for one week .the staff very friendly and good English speaking , the room very clear .the price not expensive. We will come back Hanoi and stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalanthaFoley631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Stars Hotel Hanoi was the best hotel we were in for this price. Everything was better than we expected. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The service was excellent The room was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verbruggees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

The Hotel does not look very nice from the outside but the room was big and clean. We even had a computer (with a lot of viruses) in our room.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walterfulda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
#137 of 598 in Hanoi
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camellia Hotel 6
Camellia Hotel 6
#86 of 627 in Hanoi
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Evergreen Hotel
Hanoi Evergreen Hotel
#91 of 627 in Hanoi
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Old Town Palace Guest House
0.2 mi away
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#13 of 627 in Hanoi
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Advisor Family Homestay
Advisor Family Homestay
#68 of 627 in Hanoi
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stars Hotel

Address: 26 Bat Su Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 627 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: $15 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in center of the Old Quarter, Stars Hotel offers cosy and comfortable rooms with free Wi-Fi access. It provides a complimentary breakfast daily from 7.30am to 10 am and room service on request. The air-conditioned rooms are bright and feature wooden flooring. They are fitted with a flat-screen TV, a fridge and a safe. Private bathrooms come with a bathtub, hot/cold shower facilities and free toiletries. Hotel Stars operates a 24-hour front desk that can assist with laundry,luggage storage and ticketing services. Car/bicycle rentals and airport transfer can also be arranged at additional charges. Stars Hotel is a 5-minute walk from Dong Xuan Market and night market, a 5-minute walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and a 20-minute walk to Ho Chi Minh mausoleum and Van Mieu Quoc Tu Giam - The Temple of Literature. Noi Bai. It takes 15 minutes to reach the Hanoi Train Station, bus station and Opera House by foot .Noi Bai International Airport is a 40-minute drive away with pick up services Hoan Kiem is a great choice for travelers interested in street food, museums andfriendly people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing