We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Friendly Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Polite Pub

Polite Pub
Ranked #140 of 1,805 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of old Hanoi, just a few steps away from the historic Hoan Kiem lake, Polite Pub & Whisky Bar is one of the first bar/pub establishments in Hanoi, serving ice cold beer with cool music, free foosball table since 1995. Recently renovated, Polite Pub now is a local favourite as a place-to-be to chill out after work with great cigar selection, a decent wine list and a large selection of single malt whiskies and other great drinks. Happy Hour from 4pm - 8pm, half-price house wines, classic cocktails, draught beers
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Although dark inside and with a limited food menu we were made to feel welcome and the food was good. Make sure you check what deals are on offer.

Helpful?
Thank CSRHERTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    26
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing space after a long day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

After a long day at work, this place gives me much pleasure when finding a pub to relax. The music list contains of all jazz, which suits me much. The drinks are made decently, which skills I don't see at many pub in Hà Nội. Good place to chill out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trang N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“My favourite Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I love this Pub and also a place with the most wonderful memories with my all dearest Vietnamese friends , i always had a great great time whenever i came back to my homeland . Friendly staff , cozy , great atmosphere . Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Feng D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hidden gem in the old quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Just off the main road around Hoan Kiem lake lies this classic style pub/whisky bar which is one of the oldest in Hanoi still running strong from 1995. As a whisky lover, this is truly a heaven for me with a good selection of Scotch and Japanese whiskies. They have cigars, wine and imported beers also. Service was professional, the staff are very friendly with smiles all around.
A must-go when you're in Hanoi. As for me, this will be my regular place to hang out after work.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely vintage style pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My favourite after-work joint. The atmosphere is nice and cozy, makes you feel like home, I love the music list also, very relaxing. Large collection of cocktails, whisky, wine and cigar which will make everyone happy. Definitely recommendable

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phchi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polite Pub also viewed

 
Hanoi, Vietnam
 
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to Polite Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing