We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Relaxing space after a long day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polite Pub

Polite Pub
Ranked #141 of 1,801 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of old Hanoi, just a few steps away from the historic Hoan Kiem lake, Polite Pub & Whisky Bar is one of the first bar/pub establishments in Hanoi, serving ice cold beer with cool music, free foosball table since 1995. Recently renovated, Polite Pub now is a local favourite as a place-to-be to chill out after work with great cigar selection, a decent wine list and a large selection of single malt whiskies and other great drinks. Happy Hour from 4pm - 8pm, half-price house wines, classic cocktails, draught beers
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing space after a long day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

After a long day at work, this place gives me much pleasure when finding a pub to relax. The music list contains of all jazz, which suits me much. The drinks are made decently, which skills I don't see at many pub in Hà Nội. Good place to chill out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trang N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    26
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“My favourite Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I love this Pub and also a place with the most wonderful memories with my all dearest Vietnamese friends , i always had a great great time whenever i came back to my homeland . Friendly staff , cozy , great atmosphere . Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Feng D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hidden gem in the old quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Just off the main road around Hoan Kiem lake lies this classic style pub/whisky bar which is one of the oldest in Hanoi still running strong from 1995. As a whisky lover, this is truly a heaven for me with a good selection of Scotch and Japanese whiskies. They have cigars, wine and imported beers also. Service was professional, the staff are very friendly with smiles all around.
A must-go when you're in Hanoi. As for me, this will be my regular place to hang out after work.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely vintage style pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My favourite after-work joint. The atmosphere is nice and cozy, makes you feel like home, I love the music list also, very relaxing. Large collection of cocktails, whisky, wine and cigar which will make everyone happy. Definitely recommendable

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phchi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome place for casual drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Friendly people, great service, awesome drinks. It's a really a good place for after-work relaxing, hang-outs and more!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuan Anh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polite Pub also viewed

 
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to Polite Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing