We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location to explore Hanoi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hong Ngoc Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hong Ngoc Hotel
Ranked #280 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Denver. CO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Location to explore Hanoi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2007

We had to find a room quickly in a pinch after issues with a reservation at another hotel in Hanoi. The Hong Ngoc on Hang Bac street (there are I think five sister properties with the same name) had a room available, so we took it sight unseen. Check in was easy and friendly, especially after the drama we'd had moving hotels at the other place. The room was ready on short notice and the place had an elevator which was a nice upgrade from where we were coming from. Our room was on the fifth floor, just high enough to take you slightly away from the honking mayhem of hanoi. The room was clean and airconditioned. The bathroom was basic but spotless. The only issue really at check-in was that the room did smell like some chain smoker had been in it recently. We had a scented candle that we'd bought earlier in the trip, and that resolved the issue. There was one strange thing housekeeping does: they don't fully make the beds. Just leave the sheet and blanket folded on top of the bed. At least the sheets were clean and worked just fine when laid out on the bed! As previous reviewers have mentioned, you do have to ask the hotel to turn the power on for your AC if you come back during the day, as they do shut it off for power conservation. They are completely willing to turn it for you, however. In fact we found the front desk to be charming and helpful throughout our stay. The breakfast did leave something to be desired (buffet with food sitting around all morning), so we later opted to skip it and go grab a cheap bite at a little restaurant down the block that was really good. The hotel's location is perfect for visiting Hanoi. You're right in the old quarter, on a busy well lit street at night. It's just a short five minute walk to the lake from there. It was easy to find moto-taxis and cyclos to get around anywhere you wanted to be. The elevator was much loved since we'd go back to the room often to recharge the batteries. The hotel was also fair with us when we told them we'd be checking out overnight. Even though we had the night reserved and were expecting to pay for it, they did offer us a reduced rate if we checked out at 6pm. We thanked them for the offer, but chose to keep our room late so we could shower before the transpacific flight home. They arranged a car to the airport which was smooth and easy. This hotel was clean, friendly and very well located. It's a great option for exploring Hanoi. I recommend it.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and execellent location.
  • Disliked — The breakfast leaves a lot to be desired.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    31
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
27
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2007

Firstly this hotel is in a good position in the old quarter, on a busy road with lots of cafes and only 5 minutes walk from the lake. The rooms themselves are also okay, with fridge, air con, tv and hot water.
My reasons for writing this review however is to highlight the poor service.
We had booked rooms and a hotel pick up over the internet and after 3 emails corrected our standard of room and dates of stay (all were stated in the booking but wrong in the confirmation email).
At the airport we could not see our pick up and eventually a driver for another hotels approached us asking which hotel we were waiting for and phoned them to say he would take us - this was not the safe option we had wanted as he had no ID and could not identify us by name, so was really no safer than getting in any taxi from the airport.
When we arrived at the Hotel they "had saved a special room for us, but have a problem with the water" so we had to go to another of their hotels (Ngoc 2) nearby and were assured that we would not have to pay the increased cost. After two nights at this other hotel they tried to charge us the increased rate and needed a lot of persauding that we had been assured no rate increase would be passed on. For the third night we then had to return to Ngoc 3 where we were joing a tour - our reason for choosing this hotel in the first place. On check in we were sent to the room only to find in not yet cleaned or made up (there was still a tip on the side!) and had to wait half an hour for this to be done.
We then had to call to get the air conditioning turned on each time we returned to the room as they turned it off at reception using a circuit breaker, which also turned off the fridge causing it to leak over the floor.
My final gripe was that the included breakfast was awful, we arrived at breakfast at 9am on the weekend - available until 10.30 - each time to find no bread, no coffee, a few rubber eggs and sausages and yesterdays cakes. In the end we paid to eat elsewhere, which I would recomend anyway as Hanoi has some great cafes.
I hope this wasn't too negative as the hotel itself isn't bad, if it was run better I wouldn't hesitate to recomend it. Also as we are in our 11th month of travelling it is not as if we haven't stayed in poor hotels or have 'western' expectations of service, it is just that this was truly poor.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the service from start to finish
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jazzae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2006

we stayed there in April'06. the services there was inconsistent. The nite front desk staff was alot more helpful/speak better english than the day staff. Our room was clean. they missed booked our day trip and also accused us of broken/cracked glass from breakfast (and want to charge us $1 for it). We did not break it and they did not believe us. It was only $1, but the principle was wrong. the breakfast was plain. $25- $35 per nite. Not bad!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank davidtwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2006

Stayed at this hotel in January '06. The hotel is in a good (but busy) location in the Old Quarter, with several restaurants and shops nearby. Our room was clean, comfortable, and very QUIET (a rarity in Hanoi), although a bit small. Special touches included: beautifully carved wooden furniture, a beefy in-room safe, plenty of hot water, helpful staff, and an elevator -- all for $30/nt. When we first arrived in Hanoi, we stopped at a few other hotels in the area to check out rooms/prices before settling on this one -- it was the cleanest, quietest, most modern room we found in this price range.

Minor shortcomings: (1) no free internet, unlike many other hotels in the city. However, internet access is easily found in small shops thorughout the city for about 35 cents/hour; (2) The free breakfast was very basic and uninspiring, especially because I don't care for fried rice, stir fried beef with noodles and white bread toast at 8 am. In fact, we ended up skipping the hotel breakfast after the first morning. Instead we ate at Tamarind Cafe - it's just around the corner and has GREAT breakfasts/smoothies. (Plus, Tamarind Cafe can arrange any tours you might be interested in through the highly reputable Handspan Travel Company.)

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank erikanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2005

Stayed at 3 different hotels in Hanoi (Salute Hotel, 7 Hang Dau Str -- terrible experience), Hong Ngoc Hotel (39 Hang Bac Str.) and Pacific Prince (95 Hang Bong Str -- a main thoroughfare -- very very loud and quite dirty), and the Hong Ngoc hotel was an excellent experience. Handspan travel recommended them and the management was helpful, room was super clean, bright, and quiet (which is unusual for the old quarter), had a large bathroom, satellite TV, minibar and in-room safe. Front desk was very helpful, spoke excellent english.

Would highly recommend them. They own 4 properties named similarly, so check the rooms to see which one you like.

Helpful?
22 Thank anagarika404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hong Ngoc Dynastie Hotel
Hong Ngoc Dynastie Hotel
#138 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hong Ngoc Cochinchine
Hong Ngoc Cochinchine
#172 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gia Thinh Hotel
Gia Thinh Hotel
#149 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel
Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel
#244 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gecko Hotel
Gecko Hotel
#465 of 578 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Hotel
Queen Hotel
#222 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Ngoc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Ngoc Hotel

Property: Hong Ngoc Hotel
Address: Hang Thiec str | Old quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the French protectorate, Hong Ngoc Annam is named after the central territory of Vietnam during the 19th century. Our boutique hotel is situated on ‘Hang Bac - Silver Street’- the busiest and the most famous old street in Hanoi. Dated from the 13th century, this place was famous as a silver ingot factory under the reign of King Le Thanh Tong. Nowadays, experienced craftsmen are still hand-making varieties of jewelry such as ear-rings, bracelets, rings, gold chains for the local market. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hong Ngoc 3 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing