We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, a little pricey, good service”
Review of Hong Ngoc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hong Ngoc Hotel
Ranked #276 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, a little pricey, good service”
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Walked into this place off the street fresh from an airport taxi. No problems getting a room and no issues with showing us a couple of rooms first. Ours was fifth floor at the front of the building. Had a small balcony looking out onto Hang Bac St which was fantastic although the sacrifice was a little more traffic noise. The room itself was bigger than average, clean and comfortable bed, the bathroom was sufficient with shower over bath. Airconditioning was also great although you have to make sure the boys at the front desk turn the power on to the A/C before you try and turn it on. Most of the time they were pretty good, only needed to call downstairs a couple of times to remind them we had returned to our room. The service was actually a lot better than we expected after reading some of the reviews they even arranged our train trip to Sapa for us for a small fee of $2US. Breakfast was included and was plentiful. The location of this place is fantasic, it's a perfect place to explore Hanoi's old quarter. The price was a little more than what we'd expected and I'm sure if we'd bothered to hunt around a little more we would have found a better bargain but I'd still recommend it.

  • Liked — Location location location
  • Disliked — Comparitively the price wasn't that good
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Becbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
27
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

Got moved here after previous hotel room had leakage with rain. Overall impression was old and not so clean. Shower is meant for person who is not above 5ft 3. Ants were all over the room, and it was very loud due to outside noise

  • Liked — NA
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TX_Flyer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2008

My customer booked this hotel for me for USD$37/night. Stayed here a night and moved to The Rising Dragon Hotel the next day.

The room decor is more on the ancient side and is more suitable for Westerners. The bothroom is poorly litted. Comes with complimentary breakfast and WIFI.

The hotel charge service tax of 15% which makes the room USD$42/night. Rising Dragon Hotel is definitely a better options as it is also nearer to Hoan Kim Lake.

Stay here if other if other hotels nearby are fully booked.

  • Liked — Free WIFI
  • Disliked — 15% service tax
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank biz_traveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2007

Wish we had found this hotel earlier, really nice rooms, friendly reception with excellent english. The reception even arranged a wake up call, taxi and breakfast to go when we had to leave 4.30am for a flight! Cost us around $45US for a double room, really good value.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank venochik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

We had booked into another Hotel but it was overbooked as is sometimes a common occurance in Hanoi. So check your bookings immediately prior to arrival but don't bother booking this place. The rooms are very ordinary. The air conditioning turns the rooms into fridges no matter what setting you have. If you turn it off you have the oppressive heat and humidity of July/August in Hanoi to deal with. The solution - sleep in your overcoat because the blankets are so dirty you can't use them. The bottom sheets are polyester and while we are not known as fussy we cannot stand pilled polyester sheets so we put the top cotton sheet over the top leaving us with no top layer to protect us from the A/C blowing cold air constantly. Thus the overcoat for me. strange site in the morning I bet. The rooms are very average and not that clean. It is 2 star at best and that is a stretch to be honest
Staff are not that friendly, the breakfast is Ok but nothing special and the room was filled with people complaining about the hotel and it's tendancy to overbook, as well as the inconsistency in pricing. Everyone seemed to be paying a different rate and no one could get a satisfactory reason why. We couldn't wait to get out of there and we were quick to do so to the safety of the Elegance 2 just up the road. Don't book Hon Ngoc this is a poor hotel. It doesn't matter if it's cheap. There is no a great price difference in the better places around town, Follow the Trip Advisor recommendations. Try other better recommended Hotels in a similar price range on Trip Advisor much better value and service than this place.

  • Liked — The Location In Hang bac street is good
  • Disliked — Poor service, rooms and cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan.G49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

I found this hotel to be very good value for money. The rooms are cheap, clean and the location is fantastic. The staff are also very friendly. The included breakfast was also a good basic breakfast.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No window in the room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank makiely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2007

Excellent location in the middle of the old town. The rooms were good and clean and the aircon' was a godsend. We used the hotel 3 times coming and going on trips out of Hanoi and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They even woke and opened up at 5 in the morning and checked us in early after returning on the overnight train from Lao Cai. As important as the aircon' was that both rooms we stayed in were very quiet.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldseakayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hong Ngoc Dynastie Hotel
Hong Ngoc Dynastie Hotel
#133 of 586 in Hanoi
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel
Hong Ngoc Tonkin Hotel
#252 of 586 in Hanoi
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gia Thinh Hotel
Gia Thinh Hotel
#151 of 586 in Hanoi
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queen Hotel
Queen Hotel
#241 of 586 in Hanoi
70 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hong Ngoc Cochinchine
Hong Ngoc Cochinchine
#176 of 586 in Hanoi
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luminous Viet Hotel
Luminous Viet Hotel
#160 of 586 in Hanoi
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Ngoc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Ngoc Hotel

Property: Hong Ngoc Hotel
Address: Hang Thiec str | Old quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the French protectorate, Hong Ngoc Annam is named after the central territory of Vietnam during the 19th century. Our boutique hotel is situated on ‘Hang Bac - Silver Street’- the busiest and the most famous old street in Hanoi. Dated from the 13th century, this place was famous as a silver ingot factory under the reign of King Le Thanh Tong. Nowadays, experienced craftsmen are still hand-making varieties of jewelry such as ear-rings, bracelets, rings, gold chains for the local market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hong Ngoc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Ngoc 3 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing