We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Book at the Lucky Hotel or Lucky 2 in Hanoi”
Review of Lucky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lucky Hotel
Ranked #228 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed August 8, 2006

I am travelling in Vietnam for business and was due to arrive in Hanoi by train from Danang at 5:00 a.m. Since hotels in the city are rather fully booked right now I had my translator phone ahead, book a room and give my credit card number (in my presence). I was told that I would have to pay for the previous night to which I agreed.

We arrived at the Lucky at around 6:00 after a night on the train to find the shutters down, but rang the bell and were finally let in, only to be told that the previous occupant had decided to stay on but that they had arranged a better room for me at Lucky 2. We trudged the 100 or so meters to Lucky 2 only to be told that no, there was no room available. It had been given away. So here we were standing on the sidewalk at 6:30 a.m. after an 18 hr train ride!!! Fortunately I had my mobile phone and my Vietnamese translator was still with me so we phoned around to a few hotels I know and ultimately (not without a lot of trouble found a room for one night).

This was bad enough for me. I know Hanoi, had a translator and had my mobile. What would the average tourist or traveller have done, standing alone on the street in the early morning with not even a cyclo in sight, never mind a taxi, and not knowing where to go in any event?

Please post this review. I do not want anyone to find themselves in the same situation.

Ted Breckner

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
11  Thank Dontstopmenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 69 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2006

We had booked the Lucky 2 Hotel in Hanoi to return to after our 3 day Halong Bay adventure...but when we arrived at the hotel we found that the rooms we had booked were unavailable. The previous guests had extended their stay. We were all (6 of us) quite annoyed but then pleasantly surprised to discover the manager of both hotels (a delightfully helpful and very friendly woman) had organised for us to have 4 rooms in the older Lucky 1 Hotel ...just down the road. She had saved her best rooms for us in the Lucky 1...at a higher level of accommodation than we had booked at the Lucky2 Hotel. Our rooms were beautifully furnished with exotically carved timber furniture. The rooms were spacious with a beautiful vase of fresh red roses and a small selection of fruit to welcome us. Two of the rooms...the rooms to be occupied by the adults of our two families, both had enormous balconies overlooking our street and a small part of Hanoi. The balcony was fitted out with table and chairs and lots of well cared for plants. A great place for us to relax together with a pre dinner wine and chat. The 2 rooms alotted to each of our children (teenagers) were identical to ours but minus the balcony. Our bathrooms were very clean and spacious as well.
One of the reasons why I had originally chosen the Lucky2 Hotel was because it had an elevator (small but effective). We had stayed elsewhere in Hanoi pre our Halong Bay trip and after climbing 7 flights of stairs numerous times a day to reach our room (no elevator in this hotel) decided to look for an alternative hotel as a treat for our last 3 days in Hanoi. Both Lucky1 and Lucky2 hotels have elevators.
Both Luckies included a full breakfast in their tarif...Luck1 breakfasts were excellent. Internet access was also a free inclusion.
The staff were exceptionally helpful and soooo friendly...even though they worked really long hours.

12  Thank miffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2006

Really enjoyed our stay at the Lucky 2 hotel. The staff were very helpful, free intenet connection in the room, clean and well furnished. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GregoryLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2006

We stayed for 3 nights at the Lucky 2, which apparently is the more updated version of the Lucky 1, just down the road. Very friendly and helpful staff. It's a cute little boutique place, so no frills here. Nice clean sheets, clean bathroom, average free breakfast. Internet is available, supposedly for 1USD/hour, however, they never charged us for checking our email and quick browsing of the web. We had a suite, which was spacious. The bathroom was clean, with plenty of counter space. All this for $50 in the middle of Old Quarters. The caveat is that the Old Quarters can be noisy and the air a bit polluted. The hotel is in the middle of everything. Would we stay there again? Probably.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank NomadicFLDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sweden
119
Reviewed October 4, 2004

Good service, clean rooms, nice and friendly atmosphere

19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Самые большие номера - семейные. У нас был номер на 3 этаже - шикарно.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mashalosharik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Viet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Gia Thinh Hotel
Gia Thinh Hotel
#139 of 600 in Hanoi
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
#14 of 600 in Hanoi
930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hoan Kiem Lake Hotel
Hoan Kiem Lake Hotel
#308 of 600 in Hanoi
61 reviews
2.2 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Hotel

Address: 12 Hang Trong Street | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $25 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lucky Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lucky Hotel!Lucky Hotel have opended since 1993 and the one of oldest hotel brand in Hanoi Old and is a recently renovated and well-maintained three – star hotel at 12 Hang Trong Street.With it's great location in the heart of the Old Quarter in Hanoi, guests can easily access the famous Hoan Kiem Lake, Water Puppet theatre, Dong Xuan market........ in just a minute. This delightful hotel comprises 20 spacious and cosy guestrooms, all 20 rooms with windows can open or large balcony offering panoramic city view. All rooms and suites are pleasantly designed in Vietnamese classic and luxury style with artistry wooden furniture and original art crafts which give guests a real touch to Vietnamese ancient royal life. Especially, all the rooms feature windows and private marble bathrooms and our suites have private balconies or large windows offering panoramic views of Hanoi ancient city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Lucky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing