We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Water Puppets, what is that?”

Thang Long Water Puppet Theater
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.00*
and up
Water Puppet Entrance Tickets with Hanoi Hotel Ticket Delivery
Ranked #17 of 276 things to do in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Traditional legends and historical tales are among the enchanting puppet plays performed at this popular theatre.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Laxey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Water Puppets, what is that?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Puppet theatre, with puppets in water!
Narrated in Vietnamese but translation shown on large screens meant we could follow the plot
Live music accompanied the show
Excellent theatre, could see the stage well
Book a day or more in advance, it is often full.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 525PaulC525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,794
    2,973
    1,655
    406
    198
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Marmande, France
Level Contributor
126 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Too long”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Novelty value for the first 10 minutes made it different, unusual and interesting. The other 35 minutes went by way too slowly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheesewineandgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for the first five minutes, then boring....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I'm sure its not easy to do, and I know that its a tradition, but five minutes would have been plenty. Not very impressed... It goes on for way too long.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy255346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Wasn't sure what to think before we went. We mainly went as we though my 4yo son would enjoy the show. We all thought it was great and my son loved it. Better than I expected!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TashaAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight, Canada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A Show not be missed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had our hotel book tickets for us to see this show and I am so glad we did. Water Puppetry is a tradition that dates back as far as the 11th century. If you go to the Museum of Ethnology you can also see some old wooden water puppets on display. A large rod supports the puppets under the water and is used by the puppeteers who are hidden behind a screen. Seeing the puppets tell the story really was amusing. The cost is reasonable and only takes less than an hour. If you travel all the way to Hanoi and do not go to this puppet play than you are missing out understanding their culture.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Retired_teacher_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thang Long Water Puppet Theater also viewed

 

Been to Thang Long Water Puppet Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing