We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““Quaint” but well worth the visit”

Thang Long Water Puppet Theater
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.00*
and up
Water Puppet Entrance Tickets with Hanoi Hotel Ticket Delivery
Ranked #17 of 276 things to do in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Traditional legends and historical tales are among the enchanting puppet plays performed at this popular theatre.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
““Quaint” but well worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We decided on a visit at the last minute , to get out of the rain, and are very please we did.
Excellent value for money and a real insight in older Vietnam

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,794
    2,973
    1,655
    406
    198
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Entertaining, cheap and not too long”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend went to the Water Puppet show in Hanoi and thought it was pretty good. Although it is in Vietnamese you can still follow the stories with the program that comes with your ticket.
The whole performance was around 45 minutes long and was entertaining. The puppetry wasnt spectacular but still fun to watch and the live traditional Vietnamese band were great to listen to.
I would thoroughly recommend a visit. It doesnt take up much of your night and its cheap to get in.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank fobl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice music accompaniment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

If you have extra time to spare, do catch a water puppet show at the theater just to enjoy the mesmerizing note of the one stringed zither 'dan bau'. A piece of advice, there isn't much difference between the first class and second class seatings unless you can secure a seat in the first two rows.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colbee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

This was a great show with beautiful music from traditional instruments. Not for kids only.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank abdtNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
241 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Insightful Adventure into Vietnamese Folk Art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

For the past three times I have been in Ha Noi, Vietnam there has been one things I have said I must do. So guess the third time became the charm.
Everyone seems to want to see the Ha Noi water puppet show which is highly advertised. I had mix feelings the previous two times but was encouraged to go this time and the hotel made it easy by getting me the ticket so I didn’t have to stand in line.
The lights went down and the woman to my left and the man to my right pulled out their cameras and proceeded to accompany the beat of the music with their camera flash, only to be joined by a course of the other audience members and their flashes. I finally closed my eyes and enjoyed the music. Oh by the way, the music is wonderful and well worth all of the small entrance fee. For more information Google Ha Noi Water Puppet show. With all that said, it is traditional art form that tells folk tales of daily life in the rice fields. Do see it, you will enjoy it.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Iamalwayslost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thang Long Water Puppet Theater also viewed

 

Been to Thang Long Water Puppet Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing