We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The museum was fairly rustic which enhanced its appeal.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vietnam Military History Museum

Vietnam Military History Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$529.00*
and up
Dien Bien Phu Past and Present: 2-Night Trip from Hanoi by Air
Ranked #29 of 274 things to do in Hanoi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This repository of Vietnam's military history includes rooms full of war propganda, photographs and documents from wars against China, France, and the United States. The grounds feature several captured aircraft as well as a central structure build from the wreckage of French and American planes. Visitors may climb the flag tower, with great views from the top.
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The museum was fairly rustic which enhanced its appeal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

set in a great building the museum was very cheap and gave a feeling of the hardship the vietnamese must have gone through.the large tanks, cannons and rockets were very impressive. Well worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mamoore1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    450
    261
    60
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Peninsula
Level Contributor
265 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Felt it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

As someone who remembers that awful period, I found myself feeling down, sad for the lost lives on both sides, and as a patriot, sad to find my country on the wrong side of history.

The photos, exhibits and downed planes, helicopter, tanks made it real for me in a way that the history/revolution museum and Hoa Lo prison did not.

Helpful?
Thank lsmkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finspang, Sweden
Level Contributor
147 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Yes and there was these wars...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Vietnam is a country where you inevitable will come in contact with the wars and of course Ho Chi Minh. When it comes to the wars this museum in Hanoi is a good place to visit. They have lots of objects on display although the facilities in it self and some of the objects need some attention, but that is secondary. You will find aircrafts, weapons and vehicles from the US war and also some history about the colonial war before that all from the point of view of the Vietnamese.
This museum had the greatest amount of objects on display, but I would recommend trying to find your way to the B52 victory museum as well. This museum is the only one I've visited that charges you an extra fee for your camera, translated to your currency it is not much, but it feels like a strange foreigner tax though. Most likely they wont check up on you if you've paid for the camera or not, I however did pay.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Different View of the Vietnam Conflict”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

The museum has a number of interesting artifacts including the conflict with the French colonialists, but I found the most interesting artifacts outdoors towards the rear of the museum and included a number of planes and tanks used against or captured from the US forces during the Vietnam War.

It is a good museum to look at the conflict from a different perspective.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marijke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

After growing up in the US in the 60s-70's we felt that visiting this museum was something we should do while in Hanoi. It was very interesting seeing things written from the "other" perspective. The displays were excellent as well as the planes, tanks, artillary, etc.
It was a very emotional visit, but one well worth taking.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank denise2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Military History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam Military History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing