We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in Hanoi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Army Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Army Guest House
Ranked #353 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good value in Hanoi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Our favourite hotel in Hanoi is the Sofitel Metropole, but it costs $$$. The Army Hotel was part of our itinerary on a group adventure. It's almost equally well located, costs much less and provides everything necessary for a couple of days' visit to Hanoi.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side can be noisy, so best avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentStayer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    45
    36
    13
    12
See reviews for
25
19
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Yes, Army Hotel may need some renovation but being in Hanoi one rally needs a quite place in green surrounding. The staff is professional without choking you with hospitality. No tours to sell!
We had two rooms on the ground floor facing the pool. What we liked most at the Army that we were left alone and yet we have got very good answers for our questions about different places in the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krystyna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed in a nice 2 bedroom suite with our 3 kids. The room was clean and spacious, with two balconies overlooking the pool. The beds were very hard, but we found this everywhere we travelled in Vietnam!
The furniture was all dark wood, which made the place quite gloomy. Also the shower water flowed out onto the floor and down the floor drain which was a bit annoying. But those are the only real problems we had with the place- other than getting our laundry done by the hotel. This was our first hotel in Vietnam, and we weren't yet wise to taking the laundry anywhere other than the hotel. As a result we paid a disturbingly high cost- lesson learnt!
The pool was pretty nice, the kids enjoyed their swim even though it was quite cool. The surrounding gardens are a nice, quiet place to relax.
The included breakfast was good, as was the free wifi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank threebluekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Md.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

This place would be okay if they aired it out, got decent, reliable wifi, and came down on the price by $15. We were charged $50 for single rooms (although the bed was nice and large). The first room (ground floor) they tried to put me in smelled like cat pee. i guess it's that it is moldy and not aired out well. The second room was better but not much. My colleague and I had to get up early, and it was kind of late already when we arrived from airport, so we stayed until Sat when we changed hotels. There was no place to put the suitcase so I pulled two chairs together to balance it on the flat arms. I asked about a stand for my suitcase and they said they would talk to housekeeping (nothing happened) and about leaving some laundry -- they assured me it would be picked up out of the basket (which had a used, kleenex wadded up in it). When I came back from working that evening they were still in the basket. I tried to get wifi but it came and went. I opened the front door and the back door to try to air out and cool off the room. There is a nice little patio outside my room (with a back door to reach it) where I sat outside in the evening and a pool. The tub side is so high I had to sit on the edge and swing my legs over to climb in to take a shower. even my younger colleague said it was too high and the edges inside too narrow/slippery to stand safely. Breakfast not too great, no pho, and egg dish too salty. They do have cartons of (sweetened) yogurt. We switched hotels the next day and came to LUcky 2 where my colleague was happy to be closer to shopping. Lucky 2 cost only around $33 compared to Army at $50 USD.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gal_i_vanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Stayed for six nights last week and found the location great as it was near the Lake. Room was adequate but clean. Free wifi was a plus!

There was a pool but I didn't dare take dip because of cold weather, though. I failed to bring a jacket as I didn't know Hanoi could be so cold. Good thing there were shops around selling winter jackets at very affordable price!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayfarer_0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

We booked the Army Hotel because it had an outdoor pool (although we never used it in the end due to the terribly cold weather!). The room was clean, fairly basic but had a TV with a good choice of channels and free wifi. The breakfast was fine and if anything had run out, we only had to ask the staff and it was replenished within seconds. They cook eggs to order as well. The hotel is in a quiet location but easy 15 minute walk to the Old Quarter which we were glad we hadn't stayed in as it was pretty mental! My only criticism would be the very expensive laundry service - go down the road instead. I would definitely stay in the Army Hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
173 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

This middle class hotel has a big garden with huge trees and a swimming pool, which is rare in Hanoi. It is my favorite for years. The rooms are fine, although a bit old. In summer during the local school holidays the swimming pool gets very crowded and insufficient chlorine is used for hygiene. In autumn and spring the pool is pleasant. In winter it is too cold to swim. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is okay. It is owned by the army and run by the military. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is okay. For the Dutch: er is bruinbrood en goudse kaas. I recommend this hotel for this price category.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
1.7 mi away
Army Hotel
Army Hotel
#286 of 578 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hong Ha Hotel
Hong Ha Hotel
#324 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Viet View Hotel & Spa
Viet View Hotel & Spa
#105 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#83 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Lotus Luxury Hotel
Golden Lotus Luxury Hotel
#133 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#86 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Army Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Army Guest House

Property: Army Guest House
Address: 33C Pham Ngu Lao St, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Army Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Army Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing