We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Calypso Suites Hotel
Ranked #43 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Located in the most perfect location the Old Quarter - away from the noise but still in the heart of the action. We were welcomed and well looked after by Kevin and his team as soon as we arrived to the moment we left. The room was excellent and the much needed air con was powerfully good.

The hotel looked after our suitcases as we visited Halong Bay for 2 nights. Hassle free and always willing to help. You won't go wrong staying here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fry_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    112
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
120
456
62
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Calypso Suites' sister hotel (the Oriental Central) accommodated us at the last minute when our flight out of Hanoi was delayed to the next morning and they were fully booked for the extra night. We were sad not to return to the OC, but were delighted with what we found when we checked in -- a gorgeous and fully updated room with French decor accents, complimentary refreshments (including fresh mango and bananas) in the room, and a friendly, knowledgeable staff who made us comfortable even when our travel plans were stressing us out. Highly recommend!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Good customers services by all staff in the hotel, especially the cs manager,Amy & Kevin, they were so professional in their job, doing more than their duties, well done.
Hotel is new , location good, within all amenties and place of interests. Strong WIFI in room and lobby & cafeteria is an added point ! Comfortable rooms , got free upgrade if rooms available.Reasonable price. Package with their cruise is even better, they provide good NEW Luxury cruise with excellent services.

Room Tip: No swimming pool & fitness ctr
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juay7464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,993 reviews
391 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,155 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This laneside Old Quarter hotel in central Hanoi is close to Water Puppet Theatre.

In short, it exceeded my expectations.

But for the hotel losing my freezer ice pack that was in an insulated bag that contained Cadbury chocolate given to the staff for storage, I would have given it a five out of five.

The hotel staff led by manager Mr Kevin Le are super friendly and mostly very efficient.

We stayed on one night and also had day use for one day. The late checkout cost US$50 but 12 hours of day use from 0600 to 1730--due to our arrival on the excellent overnight train from Sapa cost only US$45. That baffled me.

The hotel had an efficient modern elevator to our seventh floor room. The eighth floor has only stair access.

The two rooms that we sampled each had marvellous lacquered local wood, a real quality finish.

The bed linen was first class while the bed was comfortable. The window opened and was protected by a stylish metal grille on its lower half inside the window.

Air conditioning worked very well.

The room had a flat screen television and an in room safe plus a roomy wardrobe. There was a natty kittle alarm clock.

Breakfast was terrific with yoghurt and delicious bread enhanced by warming. There were four different juices available but the pancake was served with the banana nit folded in. They need to send a staff member to Philippines to learn how to do this better.

When we left on the overnight Livitrans train to Da Nang - great trip - the hotel gave us free sandwiches and yoghurt. They also called Ma Linh taxis.

Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I booked this hotel for our stay in Hanoi based on its then number 1 rating on tripadvisor and definitely wasn't disappointed. We had 3 visits to Calypso Suites during our time in Vietnam and we called it our "Hanoi Home" it definitely felt more like staying with friends than staying in your typical hotel.

Calypso Suites is right in the heart of the Old Quarter and only a 5 minute walk to the lake. The rooms are exceptionally clean, fruit, water, tea and coffee making facilities are provided. We loved the breakfast that was included in the tariff but most of all we loved the friendliness and amazing service provided by ALL of the staff.

When Calypso Suites received my booking they contacted me to see if there was anything else they could arrange for us - good business but the service we received made booking everything from airport transfers, water puppet tickets and train tickets to Sapa oh so easy. Thanks Amy!!

Our first night at Calypso was the day we arrived in Hanoi we were greeted with smiling faces, great english from the staff (which we soon learned was not very common in Hanoi) welcome drinks, an upgraded room and best of all a run down on do's and dont's in Hanoi and instructions on how to cross the road safely. We were shown to our gorgeous upgraded room on the 8th floor with a view over the Hanoi skyline towards the lake.

The following day we were off to Halong Bay and Calypso Suites offered to store any excess baggage that we didn't want to take with us. Upon our return a few days later they gave us a complimentary room to use for the afternoon so that we could freshen up before we headed up to Sapa on the overnight train. We had organised the train tickets through Calypso Suites and were asked to be at reception at 8.45pm for our departure as one of their staff would accompany us to the train - wow, awesome service!! When leaving for the train we were presented with a "care package" of food for the trip - so thoughtful and generous of the staff who now felt more like friends! One of our "friends" came in the taxi with us to Hanoi train station got us through ticketing, to the correct train and even into our cabin. Until we got to Hanoi train station we didn't realise how important this service was. Negotiating Hanoi train station without speaking Vietnamese would be almost impossible. I didn't see a sign in english anywhere.

We had booked Calypso Suites for our third encounter with them for the same night that we were returning from Sapa to ensure that we could get into our room early on the morning that we arrived back in Hanoi. Our "friend" who took us to the train station had given us instructions to hop off the train and remain on the platform in front of our carriage and we would be collected by a Calypso staff member. True to the service that we had know come to expect from our Hanoi "friends" we were greeted on arrival escorted to a taxi and taken back to our "Hanoi Home" we were given the beautiful room on the 8th floor again and when we asked what time we needed to check out of the room Kevin the manager gave us a late check out of 4.45pm at no extra charge (check out is normally 12 noon) that way we didn't have to vacate the room until we needed to leave for our flight to Danang. We were also give a parting gift by Kevin to thank us for staying with them.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a stay in Hanoi. Our only regret is that we weren't able to stay for longer!

Room Tip: Our upgraded 8th floor room had a really bright and airy feel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwannaceverything14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Calypso Suites is a really nice hotel in a great location within Hanoi's old quarter. The rooms and food are of a very high standard but what really sets it apart is the staff. During our stay, the staff would go to great lengths to make sure our time in Vietnam was as enjoyable as possible. This included escorting us to the train station for our sleeper train, providing us with packed meals to take with us and making every effort they could to recover a lost phone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We have never stayed anywhere that has better service than here. We were treated like family. Nothing was too difficult for the staff. The rooms were lovely. The breakfasts were great. It's location in the Old Quarter is very handy for shopping and to see many of the sights. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A family room together a bit more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wkrawczuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#28 of 588 in Hanoi
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#48 of 588 in Hanoi
1,128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#24 of 588 in Hanoi
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#21 of 588 in Hanoi
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Suites Hotel

Property: Calypso Suites Hotel
Address: 11E Trung Yen Lane, Dinh Liet Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Calypso Legend Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calypso Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi old quarter, just 3 minutes from Hoan Kiem Lake, night market & Dong Xuan Market. The hotel location is very convenient for its guests with nearby shopping and also sight seeing. There are many restaurants to choose from in the same location too. You will have an enjoyable and great time in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calypso Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing