We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Calypso Suites Hotel
Ranked #41 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. From a price-value point of view, the Calypso Suites Hotel is a very good choice. Of course, on the first day the shower didn't work well and on the second day they had to shut down the electricity for annual maintenance. Nevertheless, the rooms are clean (except the slippers in the wardrobe) and the bed comfortable. The location is great (a real Hanoi experience in the Old Quarter) and the staff are extraordinarily friendly and helpful. As other reviewers have mentioned, you almost get a 4 to 5* service: They offer you a welcome drink, accompany you to the street to get a taxi and help you out if you've forgotten your umbrella.Two thumbs up for the staff! The breakfast is not the best you've ever had, but overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreasB_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    112
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
120
457
62
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The location of the hotel is great, can see most of touristy spot within a walking distance. The staff takes an extreme good care of its customers, and at no point I felt they missed anything. They offer us drink and always great us and ask us if we need anything. The room are decent, clean and well designed. Great job.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Everything here was amazing. You name it it was amazing. The service, staff, welcome drinks, room, breakfast, location. All of it. Amazing. We stayed here on honeymoon and the Customer service manager Kevin was so helpful and booked us an amazing cruise. Stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I loved this hotel, the staff were very helpful, the room was great, the breakfast was delicious.

Its in a little allyway which might be a bit hard to find if your taking your own transport there (they do offer airport pickup). I was travelling here from the train station so I didnt have this option and was google mapping my driver directions to it. I had to jump out of the cab on the cross street becuase the car doesnt fit in the allyway.

I had met two british people while in Hoi An earlier in my trip and they too spoke highly of this place

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petek9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

What a great stay we have had at the Calypso Suites.

On arrival we got treated like royalty, the staff are extremely helpful (Perry especially) as she sat down and had a welcome meeting with us to discuss the area of a hanoi, places to eat and visit too. We had booked a deluxe room however on arrival we got upgraded to a family suite as they had it available (Result!!) The porter was very helpful bringing all of our heavy bags up for us with a smile, also fixing our safe when we got the password wrong twice! I have never felt at home in a hotel as much as I have done here.

The rooms were clean, spacious, modernly decorated and had everything to suit your needs including a tea, coffee and fruit station which was complimentary. Robes, slippers, shower shoes and hairdryers all came with the room. The housekeeping staff changed everything daily including a fresh plate of fruit even if the previous was not touched.

Breakfast: a great selection of food from all day breakfasts (Vietnam style) to club sandwiches which they tell you to order as much as you like. There is also a fruit station with cereals and tea and coffee.

Location for the hotel as a whole was great, it was located in the old quarter near all restaurants, shops and dining places. The only downside is that it is down an alleyway so can be dark at night times. I can't believe this place is down such a small road meaning people don't notice it as much as you would other hotels (what a shame)

We would like to thank all the staff for making our stay in Hanoi so special.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtashadx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Perfect location if you are into shopping and adventurous in eating local food in the busy street market of the Old Quarter. The room is very clean and spacious for 3 person. We are very lucky to book 1 night Bhaya Cruise Halong Bay thru this hotel as it was upgraded to 5 star luxury Au Cruise with no extra charge! Good breakfast and very smooth transfer service from this hotel to Halong for 4 hours. Our overall trip to Hanoi is memorable because of the "excellent service" of this hotel and amazing cruise experience at Halong Bay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperDLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Great locations!! Its in the middle of market.

Most important.of all is the room.we were offered a super.deluxe room on.the night we arrived.just because the room is available.so upgraded for free.
Excellence os service! Staffs are friendly.and helpful whenever you need help.
Mannn..ur holiday will be perfect if u choose this hotel.

Free.breakfast!nice food and awesome chefs!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank zaa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#51 of 591 in Hanoi
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#31 of 591 in Hanoi
505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#22 of 591 in Hanoi
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#24 of 591 in Hanoi
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Suites Hotel

Property: Calypso Suites Hotel
Address: 11E Trung Yen Lane, Dinh Liet Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Calypso Legend Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calypso Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi old quarter, just 3 minutes from Hoan Kiem Lake, night market & Dong Xuan Market. The hotel location is very convenient for its guests with nearby shopping and also sight seeing. There are many restaurants to choose from in the same location too. You will have an enjoyable and great time in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calypso Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing