We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Calypso Suites Hotel
Ranked #41 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

perfect location, good price, clean/modern/well maintained. breakfast was great. a good selection of fruit and smoothies, with an extensive breakfast menu, the burger list seemed a bit random at first, but some were things like bacon and eggs, so its just a breakfast bap really! not sure about beefburgers for breakfast though some people did have that. the pancakes looked good, and they also had pho and stir-fried dishes which are what we saw many locals having for breakfast around town. its right in the centre of the old town, you couldnt get a better location and the staff will help you with any questions you have. its a small hotel and friendly, good service. more like a 4 star than 3 star really... i guess there are some people in hanoi looking to scam tourists, but the hotel and every restaurant we ate at made sure we were aware of those things and to be honest even if we hadnt, we wouldnt have had any problems. hanoi is an amazing place, where locals and tourists alike mix well. many of the locals dont tolerate scam artists either, the owners and some of their regulars really shouted at a guy who tried to charge more than agreed for cleaning someones shoes! :) its a really safe place, and we found the locals were mostly really friendly and keen to practice their english! the hotel had a mix of couples and families etc.perfect for either really.

Room Tip: they are all pretty much similar...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank violetmoomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (913)
There are newer reviews for Calypso Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 913 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

I have stayed in Hanoi many times, at expensive 4 or 5 star hotels. I enjoyed my stay at the Calypso Suites far more than those at these hotels. The staff are absolutely excellent, friendly, efficient and helpful. The rooms are a little basic but clean, comfortable and very functional.The restaurant offers a very nice breakfast. It location is brilliant. It does not have the facilities of the bigger, far more expensive hotels like a pool and gym, but it makes up for this with the service it provides. I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and I will stay at during future visits to Hanoi.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark3182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This little hotel was great fun and excellent value. Our room was inexpensive and clean, the bed was large and comfortable. While the hotel is in central Hanoi, with all the noise that implies in a city or some 7 million people, once we closed the curtain to our window on the wall, all was quiet and peaceful. In fact, Hanoi seems to be chaos by day and quiet by night. The hotel's location in a relatively tranquil side street was a short walk to Hoan Kiem Lake, Ho's mausoleum and the Palace, numerous restaurants, shops and markets.
The hotel's breakfast was adequate and filling, though nothing special. On the other hand, the staff were very friendly, extremely considerate and couldn't have helped us more.
All in all, the hotel was very good value.

Room Tip: The back rooms, not those fronting the street, are likely to be quieter, particularly if there is co...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stay Calypso Legend 3 times since they grand opening in 2012. Clean, quiet, friendly staff, convenient. Direct liaise with hotel you can get better offer. Arrange for hotel transfer from airport for first timers as it is a bit tricky to find the hotel for the first time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerrenzNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

A lovely hotel with a friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. A little small but they're very quiet. Don't expect a view (but this helps with the silent rooms - a luxury I suspect in Hanoi!!)
We booked a two night boat stay on Halong Bay through the hotel, more pricey than the others but it was very relaxing.
Even though our laundry was late one day the staff was very apologetic and immediately said we would not be charged for the service.
If you want a central, relaxing, quiet, hotel with a little bit of luxury without paying a high price, this is your place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamc209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Did not have much luck in Hanoi with the people in regards to their politeness and customer service...that's another story there but this place was anything but the same as the rest of Hanoi. The staff are smiley and warm and always looking to help. The rooms were beautiful very comfy and always clean. I gave a 4 instead of a 5 simply because for the amount one pays per night for this place I think a kitchen that does lunch or dinner, for those days you don't want to leave your room would be helpful.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sen1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Family with 3 children staying in this nice, clean and quit hotel in the middle of the old quarter of Hanoi while visiting Halong Bay and Sapa too.

Staff were very friendly end helpful by pick-up from airport, finding and confirming tickets to water puppet show, taking care of bags while we were on boat-trip and indeed helped us preparing for the night train to the mountains.

As our girls say: we surely would like to give the star number 4 to this hotel because of the staff!!

Coffe and the and fruits in the rooms, cheap minibar, good breakfast.

We feel very lucky by having stayed at the Calypso Suites Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ainoi1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#29 of 597 in Hanoi
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#53 of 597 in Hanoi
1,140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#21 of 597 in Hanoi
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Suites Hotel

Address: 11E Trung Yen Lane, Dinh Liet Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Calypso Legend Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $37 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calypso Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi old quarter, just 3 minutes from Hoan Kiem Lake, night market & Dong Xuan Market. The hotel location is very convenient for its guests with nearby shopping and also sight seeing. There are many restaurants to choose from in the same location too. You will have an enjoyable and great time in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calypso Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing