We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service in Hanoi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Calypso Suites Hotel
Ranked #43 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 star service in Hanoi”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Amazing service from the staff in this hotel. They weren't just attentive, they were also very thoughtful in suggesting things for us to do and advice for our days out. The breakfast was excellent as was the room. I highly recommend this hotel and it will be my first choice if I ever go back. Well done Calypso Suites Hotel for making our stay so memorable. And thanks especially for the free room upgrade on the last night! x

Room Tip: As with any city centre hotel, earplugs are recommended although the noise wasn't too bad at thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    112
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
120
456
62
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a lovely little place. The staff are great and, at the price, it is great value. We stayed here three times while touring North Viet Nam and Laos and were welcomed like old friends. Staff are knowledgeable and helpful on everything you need to know.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koenraad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Old Quarter of Hanoi is hectic and absolutely interesting. I could walk for days here just exploring. This hotel is right in the centre in an alleyway, and in the early morning you can go outside your door for a bowl of noodles or snack.

The best thing about this place was the staff - absolutely lovely and warm, very friendly. We loved our stay here and it was our favorite place in the 3.5 weeks we travelled in E/SE Asia. Very keen to help, and front desk staff are trustworthy, knowledgable about the city and tours to surrounding areas.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yinchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulahdelah, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Everything about this hotel was exceptional - price, location, cleanliness, staff, breakfast. Couldn't ask for anything better. Hotel organised pick up at the airport, ($AU15) which was great as we would never have found it. It is located down an alley, but surrounded by shops and restaurants and only a short walk to the lake. Stayed here both sides of a trip to Halong Bay. Staff stored our luggage so we didn't have to take it with us, just took an overnight bag. Good internet, excellent English, staff organised taxi's for us and told us how much the fare should be. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. We loved it! We checked out before breakfast on our last day to catch an early flight, but staff packed up a breakfast pack for us to take with us which was great. Great attention to detail at all times. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WendyAnn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The hotel is located at a great location, in the centre of the tourist walking belt of the Old Quarter. But, because it is just off the main road (the short road leading to the hotel is accessible to only bikes) it is also quieter in the night. There's a nice little shop nearby selling pho, so do check that out (patronised by the locals, very affordable).

The service was top notch, the staff were happy to go out of their way to answer my questions and to provide advice. The rooms were clean and the breakfast options were sufficient.

Just a note, the hotel charges 3% extra if you're paying by credit card, so if you wish to save on that bring enough cash along.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Beautiful hotel, so incredibly clean and in a great location - walking distance to everything you want or need. The staff is top notch - and so friendly and helpful. We arrived exhausted after flight delays with no luggage and the staff took such good care of us. They made me ginger tea and brought it to the room - they stored our luggage safely and without cost when we left for a couple of days to go on a Halong Bay boat - the list just goes on - staff is superb! Also, the breakfast is quite delicious. Just stay here, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

- The room we stayed in was modern, clean, tidy, well kept. The bed was comfortable!

- The staff are warm, welcoming and totally happy to help you and they take initiative. We were given a refund for a night because we decided to book a night out in Ha Long Bay and we didn't even ask for a refund they just offered. We had a very early morning flight home and they arranged a driver and take-away breakfast for us because breakfast was not open yet. So nice ad thoughtful!

- They take the time as soon as you arrive to tell you the do's and don'ts to enjoy your trip. They map out their fave eateries etc. Thanks for that as the advice helped!

- The location is in an alley way so you don't hear the traffic and it is so close to everything as this hotel is central!!

- The chef is so efficient with the breakfast, I thought there wasn't enough time for him to cook my breakfast but I was reassured and then bam it came out so I wasn't late for the tour guide to pick us up from the hotel. There's plenty to eat and nice juices and it's all so fresh and clean.

I feel like I have so much more to say. Thank you and we wish you all well and will return to this hotel again. Keep this up!

Wendy

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrendyWendy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#28 of 588 in Hanoi
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#48 of 588 in Hanoi
1,129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#21 of 588 in Hanoi
929 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#24 of 588 in Hanoi
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Suites Hotel

Property: Calypso Suites Hotel
Address: 11E Trung Yen Lane, Dinh Liet Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Calypso Legend Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calypso Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi old quarter, just 3 minutes from Hoan Kiem Lake, night market & Dong Xuan Market. The hotel location is very convenient for its guests with nearby shopping and also sight seeing. There are many restaurants to choose from in the same location too. You will have an enjoyable and great time in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calypso Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing