We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Calypso Suites Hotel
Ranked #46 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This little hotel is great value for money and situated in the middle of the Old Quarter.
The room was very spacious and had a great view of Hanoi.

Breakfast was fantastic and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: For a few extra dollars go for the suite! it comes with complementary fruit daily and the room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olgamaxwell 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

502 - 508 of 920 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had a great stay. Great breakfast buffet`, wonderful location in the heart of the old quarter. Thank you to Mr. Kevin for a great stay, who couldn't do enough to help us. We had so much to do around the hotel and when we were in the hotel it was relaxing and peaceful, that was our 'getaway spot'. Thank you.

Room Tip: Try and get the top floor rooms for a peaceful stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Currently staying at the calypso legend and it is the best we would expect it Hanoi - clean, friendly, rooms are as big as needed. The staff try and pedal Halong Bay tours, but you can't turn a corner in Hanoi without that happening...they are very friendly and helpful besides that and have given us good advice so far. Hotel in a great location. Unfortunately there has been a lengthy power cut, but the whole street went out and this seems to be a regular problem in the city. Only slight negative is that in the bathroom you can hear the people in the room upstairs, but somehow this isn't a problem in the room. All in all - you would pay well over £100 a night for a hotel of this quality in the uk.

Room Tip: According to the staff the rooms on the higher floors are they best...no evidence as to whether this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spiderling2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Pros: Cleanliness and decor, friendliness of staff, right in the middle of the old quarter conveniently located near most attractions/restaurants

Cons: Nothing, once you get used to the look of the Old Quarter

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SisKurbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Before choosing the Hanoi Hotel, I browsed through Tripadvisor Review and decided on Calypso Suites Hotel. Reviews were accurate and I am glad I had made the smart choice of choosing Calypso. The location was good, hotel room super comfy and clean, staff was extremely friendly and helpful & the breakfast they served was of 5 star quality. The staff was all out to help us. eg when my hubby's Teva slipper's sole (one side) dropped off, they helped us to get it repaired within an hour, free of charge. They said the amount was too small for us to pay them:).
We booked all our packages like Alova Green Halong Bay Cruise and SAPA trips via the Hotel. We were satisfied with the tour packages arranged by them. Their staff sent us off to Railway station and received us back from railway station too on our SAPA trip. Thanks, Kevin & Crews.

Room Tip: Suites room is more spacious, has good street view and has bigger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sek min c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had booked rooms at the Calypso Grand hotel for two nights before, and two nights after, our Halong Bay cruise. When we arrived, we were given welcome drinks and some useful tourist info, but then the manager asked if we would move to the Calypso Legend for the first two nights as other guests had unexpectedly extended their stay. That was fine, I'd seen both hotels on their website and both looked great - which they were.

The Legend is in a lane close to Hoan Kiem Lake, right in the middle of the old quarter which was great for sightseeing. Our room was comfortable, quiet and spotlessly clean. Free WiFi worked perfectly, we used our own laptop but there was a computer in our room. Breakfast was great - a selection of cereal, fruits, yoghurt, fresh breads, pastries and spring rolls, plus plenty of choices (Vietnamese and western) cooked to order. There was even a toaster-oven to heat up the breads and pastries!

We loved the hotel generally, but the staff were amazing. They checked regularly to make sure we had everything we needed, they offered excellent advice on where to go and what to do, they confirmed our tour and next hotel, and they always had time to smile and talk. If I could, I would rate their service as a 6, not 5. I wish more hotels were like this one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank setenaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay, and was very impressed. This was my first experience of staying in a boutique hotel, i am cabin crew (flight attendant) with an international airline based in the Middle East, so for the past 7 years ive been travelling the world and pratically living in hotels such as like the hilton, marriott etc. The service at the Calypso was fantastic and had such a personal touch. I received an email shotly after booking from Mr Kevin who was able to arrange airport transfers in advance of my arrival. I arrived at the hotel 4 hours prior to standard check in time, however, was given my room straight away. Before travelling i had organised a trip to Ha Long bay through a website online, when i arrived at the hotel Mr Kevin informed me he would be able to do the same trip but for 70 us dollars cheaper! luckily i was able to cancel my online reservation and book through the hotel. Upon arrival a welcome drink was provided and full details of what sightseeing is available. As i had not taken a laptop with me i was provided with one to take to my room and use at no extra cost. The rooms were very clean with tasteful decor,a complimentary plate of fruits were provided in my room each day. As the hotel is down a side street there was no street noise whatsoever. All the staff were very friendly and always smiling...Best service i have ever received and would definately reccomend staying here

Room Tip: book a superior room on a higher floor so that you have a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#28 of 599 in Hanoi
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Suites Hotel

Address: 11E Trung Yen Lane, Dinh Liet Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Calypso Legend Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $38 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calypso Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi old quarter, just 3 minutes from Hoan Kiem Lake, night market & Dong Xuan Market. The hotel location is very convenient for its guests with nearby shopping and also sight seeing. There are many restaurants to choose from in the same location too. You will have an enjoyable and great time in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Otel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Calypso Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing