We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to call home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Calypso Suites Hotel
Ranked #43 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this charming little hotel for a week. We were upgraded to a bigger and better room for free. Had a large window, comfortable beds, air con, mini fridge, tv and dvd - pretty much everything you needed. Also an elevator which many of the smaller hotels don't have. The location is right in the heart of the old quarter but nicely tucked away down an ally without cars driving past. The staff, especially Fo the manager, were so friendly and helpful - excellent English! They also organised our trip to Halong Bay! It was an awesome stay and I would recommend strongly to family & friends. Will defiantly stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AC2340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (913)
There are newer reviews for Calypso Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 533 of 913 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

In June of this year my wife and I spent 5 nights and were so impressed that we stayed for another five nights in July . The room was perfect , lovely decor and very clean . The Calypso is bright and clean where ever you look . All of the Staff were friendly and helpful , an loved to talk to you about your day , and if there was anything that they could do , to make it better for tomorrow . With Staff like this we had the feeling that they really cared how your stay was going . The Breakfast spread and service was by far one of the best we have ever had at hotels in Asia . They arranged all of our transfers an several Tours and Guides for us , all excellent . The location was great , a one minute walk on a quite lane were you could relax with your room windows open and no noise .Yet right in the Heart of the old Quarter with shopping at every turn . After spending a month in Vietnam & Cambodia we can say that the Calypso and Staff are Triple AAA . We would like to thank you again for making our stay in Hanoi more than one could expect.

Bill & Anne
St. Thomas On. Canada

Room Tip: The sixth floor gave us a nice view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Calypso Legend Hotel (Also known as Calypso Suites Hotel Hotel) in late July for a total of 4 nights during our recent Asian vacation. We stayed for 2 nights then enjoyed a fantastic time in Ha Long Bay and Ninh Binh before returning for another 2 nights. Service was prompt and professional with a driver waiting at the Noi Bai Airport and transferring us to the old quarter where a bell boy was waiting along the main road to carry our luggage (eventho we were very early). As mentioned, the hotel is located down a small alley between Dinh Liet and connects to Hang Bac (2 major streets). The location was quiet although it was a bit difficult to find if you new to the area.
We were however disappointed to learn that the room we booked was not available so we had to move to their "sister" location in Hang Bac. This B&B was smaller and the breakfast was not as good as Calypso Legend. It was adequate, however, it was not what we had booked and what we had hoped for (and realized that we were charged the rate at Calypso - eventho this B&B averaged a much cheaper rate. They moved our luggage over, then moved it back for night 2. We enjoyed our stay at Calypso and enjoyed that they were professional and didn't try to take advantage of you as tourists. Their prices are fair and arranged a driver to Ninh Binh for us at a reasonable rate. When we returned, we were happy to learn that the management did not charge us for airport transit. We enjoyed our stay here at Calypso Legend (Calypso Suites Hanoi Hotel) and would book again without hesitation - if we were guaranteed that we could stay in the room we booked and paid for.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We began our holiday through Vietnam in Hanoi, where we stayed at The Calypso Legend Hotel. Arriving in the middle of the night, 2 hours late,and being greeted at the airport was just the start of the exceptional service given by all the staff, lead by Mr Kevin. The hotel is in a perfect position for discovering the old section of Hanoi; the lake; and venturing around the other areas. Then a taxi ride back is so easy to get anywhere.
It is off the main streets, down a smaller street that still has the hussle and bussle that is Hanoi, so nice to be able to be in the middle of everything, but just slightly removed.
Mr Kevin was incredibly helpful, not only with any hotel request, and good places to eat, but also helping us confirm further Hotels and train tickets; and organising our 2 day trip to Halong Bay.
I would strongly recommend staying here if you are going to Hanoi.
We will certainly stay here again if we come back to Vietnam.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ros048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Hanoi with 2 young kids in July 2013. Having seen TripAdvisor reviewers' comments, we decided to stay in Calypso Legend Hotel.

We arranged an airport pick-up from the hotel. The service seemed to be outsourced, as the driver didn't know the exact location of the hotel. After driving round and round Old Quarter in the rain for 15 minutes or so, we finally found a little hotel sign in front of Trung Yen Lane. Beware, cars cannot pass this little lane, but it's located only 20 meters from Dinh Liet Street. We soon realized that such a hidden location is actually to our advantage, as it is relatively free from the noise of motorcycles.

As soon as we stepped in, we were welcomed by the staff's warm greetings and smiles. Although the hotel looks narrow, to our surprise, the room size is acceptable, considering it's a boutique hotel (I've seen 4* or 5* in Europe with much smaller sizes). The room was neat and spotless. I have to give them credits for its five-star cleanness. Bathroom comes with a bathtub.

The only little glitch is that the wifi in our floor did not work throughout our stay. So, we had to stand by the room door whenever we wanted to get the wifi signal from another floor.

The staff is extremely helpful, fast and knowledgeable. Ask them anything about Hanoi, they will professionally answer your questions. Breakfast is excellent. Location is in the heart of Old Quarter. The rate is reasonable. What else could you ask for?

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noveltj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stay at Calypso suites hotel around one week and feel very great and comfortable and also strategically located. Staff at there very friendly and kindly and they also had a good arrangement for us travel to SAPA , Halong Bay and city tour . Calypso furnish a immaculate n comfortable room for us.
We like their delicious breakfast and welcome fruit. We look forward to stay at Calypso Suites Hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoralLee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Calypso Suites have great team ! They are so welcoming and warm with genuine smile on our every meets with them. We have no problem communicating with them as they speak good English. The Hotel is in a good and quiet location where you can find most shops and amenities nearby. The Lake & Water Puppet is just walking distance from the hotel.
The deluxe room we had is comfy and clean and breakfast was really good. We would highly recommend this hotel to any traveller.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#29 of 598 in Hanoi
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#53 of 598 in Hanoi
1,139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#21 of 598 in Hanoi
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Suites Hotel

Address: 11E Trung Yen Lane, Dinh Liet Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Calypso Legend Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $37 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calypso Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi old quarter, just 3 minutes from Hoan Kiem Lake, night market & Dong Xuan Market. The hotel location is very convenient for its guests with nearby shopping and also sight seeing. There are many restaurants to choose from in the same location too. You will have an enjoyable and great time in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calypso Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing