We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Calypso Suites Hotel
Ranked #43 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best boutique hotel”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We began our holiday through Vietnam in Hanoi, where we stayed at The Calypso Legend Hotel. Arriving in the middle of the night, 2 hours late,and being greeted at the airport was just the start of the exceptional service given by all the staff, lead by Mr Kevin. The hotel is in a perfect position for discovering the old section of Hanoi; the lake; and venturing around the other areas. Then a taxi ride back is so easy to get anywhere.
It is off the main streets, down a smaller street that still has the hussle and bussle that is Hanoi, so nice to be able to be in the middle of everything, but just slightly removed.
Mr Kevin was incredibly helpful, not only with any hotel request, and good places to eat, but also helping us confirm further Hotels and train tickets; and organising our 2 day trip to Halong Bay.
I would strongly recommend staying here if you are going to Hanoi.
We will certainly stay here again if we come back to Vietnam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    112
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
120
456
62
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Hanoi with 2 young kids in July 2013. Having seen TripAdvisor reviewers' comments, we decided to stay in Calypso Legend Hotel.

We arranged an airport pick-up from the hotel. The service seemed to be outsourced, as the driver didn't know the exact location of the hotel. After driving round and round Old Quarter in the rain for 15 minutes or so, we finally found a little hotel sign in front of Trung Yen Lane. Beware, cars cannot pass this little lane, but it's located only 20 meters from Dinh Liet Street. We soon realized that such a hidden location is actually to our advantage, as it is relatively free from the noise of motorcycles.

As soon as we stepped in, we were welcomed by the staff's warm greetings and smiles. Although the hotel looks narrow, to our surprise, the room size is acceptable, considering it's a boutique hotel (I've seen 4* or 5* in Europe with much smaller sizes). The room was neat and spotless. I have to give them credits for its five-star cleanness. Bathroom comes with a bathtub.

The only little glitch is that the wifi in our floor did not work throughout our stay. So, we had to stand by the room door whenever we wanted to get the wifi signal from another floor.

The staff is extremely helpful, fast and knowledgeable. Ask them anything about Hanoi, they will professionally answer your questions. Breakfast is excellent. Location is in the heart of Old Quarter. The rate is reasonable. What else could you ask for?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noveltj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stay at Calypso suites hotel around one week and feel very great and comfortable and also strategically located. Staff at there very friendly and kindly and they also had a good arrangement for us travel to SAPA , Halong Bay and city tour . Calypso furnish a immaculate n comfortable room for us.
We like their delicious breakfast and welcome fruit. We look forward to stay at Calypso Suites Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoralLee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Calypso Suites have great team ! They are so welcoming and warm with genuine smile on our every meets with them. We have no problem communicating with them as they speak good English. The Hotel is in a good and quiet location where you can find most shops and amenities nearby. The Lake & Water Puppet is just walking distance from the hotel.
The deluxe room we had is comfy and clean and breakfast was really good. We would highly recommend this hotel to any traveller.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Calypso Suites was the perfect hotel for my last couple of days in Vietnam. The rooms were spotless and quiet, the location was central (I reached almost all of the sights by foot) and the service simply fantastic.

I spent a total of 5 nights in Hanoi, with a 1 night break on Halong Bay. Initially I had only booked 2 nights at Calypso Suites. As I enjoyed it so much, I asked for an extension. Unfortunately the hotel was completely booked. The staff, however, immediately helped me to find another room at their (also great) partner hotel, which is just a 3 minute walk away. While I was visiting Hanoi, my luggage was transported to the other hotel - I did not have to lift a finger.

The staff speaks perfect English and is more than helpful in suggesting superb restaurants and great places to visit. What is more, they will assist you in booking airport transfers and trips, such as Halong Bay or the Perfume Pagoda at great prices.

One comment pretty much sums it up: during a rainy day I stayed in the room for almost an entire day. It felt like home.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Philipp L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed staying at the Calypso. It's down an alley way that is quiet but still in the thick of the action. The Old Quarter in Hanoi is a fantastic place. Great food, drink and shopping is to be had. The Calypso Legend is cool because it's clean, the staff is organized, and they're very helpful. We were in the middle of a two month trip through SE Asia which got us pretty well attuned to good service and bad, and the Calypso is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great Place to Stay in Calypso Legend!
The staff are so welcoming, warm and sincere with detailed informations upon our arrival in Calypso Legend.
We had a deluxe room which is clean and comfy. Breakfast was pleasant and good.
The hotel is quiet, away from the traffic and situated in the center of Old Quarters with walking distances to most places of interest and local amenities.
Our departure was in the early morning at 4 am and were surprised the staff took the trouble to arrange a wholesome breakfast for us.
Thank you Calypso team for a great job well done !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.0 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#28 of 588 in Hanoi
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#48 of 588 in Hanoi
1,129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#21 of 588 in Hanoi
929 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calypso Premier Hotel
Calypso Premier Hotel
#24 of 588 in Hanoi
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Suites Hotel

Property: Calypso Suites Hotel
Address: 11E Trung Yen Lane, Dinh Liet Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Calypso Legend Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calypso Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanoi old quarter, just 3 minutes from Hoan Kiem Lake, night market & Dong Xuan Market. The hotel location is very convenient for its guests with nearby shopping and also sight seeing. There are many restaurants to choose from in the same location too. You will have an enjoyable and great time in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calypso Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing