We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Calypso Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Essence Palace Hotel(Hanoi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (926)
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveler rating
785
116
20
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
785
116
20
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold quarterhalong bayside streetsmall alleysmall buffethotel is locatedhoan kiem lakethe hotel staffwater puppet showfresh fruitnight trainsister hotelphovisiting hanoiairport transfertrain ticketsdeluxe room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
718 - 723 of 926 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Lovely accommodation and terrific service . Location was central to most tourist spots. Plenty of choices to eat from . Nice rooms and clean and well maintained . Good breakfast daily . We had 2 people unwell with vomiting and diarrhoea and staff were so kind and helpful constantly making sure we had all we needed . Highly recommend this hotel . Job well done by all . Thank you .

Room Tip: Very quiet as down a lane so that was a plus for tired travellers !
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phyllis Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife, 2 adult children & I were at Hanoi for 8days/7nights (21-28 Nov 2012). We stayed 3 nights at Calypso Legend Hotel, 3 nights overnight train/Sapa hotel + 1 night HalongBay overnight cruise. The whole tour arrangement & hotels were fully arranged & taken care of by Calypso Legend Hotel (Mr Kevin Le, the GM & his team). These are only a few among the many things we were abundantly blessed & taken by surprise namely:-

a) Upgraded from Deluxe to Junior Suite for both rooms every night at no extra cost & without us asking.

b) Feasted 5 buffet breakfast at Calypso Legend Hotel even though we pay only for 3 nights stay.

c) Extra towels and toilet floor matt were delivered to us within 3 minutes upon request. (We requested at the reception, took the lift to level 5 & the house keeper was already there waiting for us with these items).

d) All customers served with unlimited real fresh fruit juice (at least 3 types including strawberry, passion fruit besides mango, papaya & water melon) for breakfast. On top of that, a complimentary plate of fresh fruits were served in your room everyday.

e) We were blessed with 4 sets of complimentary dinner packs comprising bread, ham & beacon, banana, yogurt & mineral water when we had to check-out at 5:30pm to catch the 8:00pm train to Sapa without requesting for them.

e) We were also blessed with 4 complimentary breakfast pack comprising bread, ham, hot-dogs, cut-watermelon, banana, yogurt & drinks when we had to check-out at 5:45am to catch the flight out on our last day.

g) Every aspects of our tour and visit from Day 1 to Day 8 are meticulously planned, organised and executed with such great detail and precision with our comfort & convenience given the utmost priority including escorting us personally from the hotel right up to the sleeping berth/bed in the train at the railway station while on the trip to Sapa & likewise receiving us at 3:30am at railway station upon our return.

h) They generously delivered to us a 5 cm thick stack of facial tissue paper whereas we only requested for a few sheets.

i) The list can go on & on & on & I am sure you will be bored by many more affirmative testimonies enjoyed by us!!!!.

TO MAKE THE LONG REVIEW SHORT, THERE IS ONLY ONE SUITABLE TITLE, i.e. Pay 3-Star But Enjoy & Be Pampered With 6-Star.

For your infor, my family were also at Hanoi Calypso Hotel (1st hotel under the same leadership & management of Mr Kevin Le while Calypso Legend is the second & newest hotel (just 3 months)) in Jan 2012 (same year) and the warm, friendliness, ever-smiling & hospitality service & treatment rendered was exactly the same as this present trip. In other words, the exemplary & excellent service & hospitality rendered to guests has been consistently consistent to-date.

Thus we can confirm & vouch twice the consistency of 6-Star service at the price of a 3-star hotel rendered by both Hanoi Calypso Hotel & Hanoi Calypso Legend Hotel.

By the way, the price I paid to Hanoi Calypso Legend Hotel for the entire package is the cheapest among at least fifteen quotations I had received from other hotels and tour companies in Hanoi prior to my trip. In the words, Calypso Legend Hotel is the most competitive (NOT APPROPRIATE TO SAY IT IS THE CHEAPEST because it sounds cheap!!).

Room Tip: Just choose Hanoi Calypso Hotel or Hanoi Calypso Legend Hotel!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GohBoonHua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

After two months of backpacking, my boyfriend took me to this charming hotel for my birthday. The street to get to the hotel is so small, cars can't get through (which is a good thing) meaning no loud horns can be heard in the morning. Upon arrival, the manager had met us on the street, taking our bags from our driver (highly recommend: $18 from airport to hotel), and walked us in to the hotel. We were welcomed with delicious watermelon juice and were informed about our rooms, facilities in the hotel, hours of the INCLUDED breakfast (which by the way is delicious, and you can order as much as you want!). The manager even upgraded us a better room for my birthday on a Friday/Saturday! The staff was extremely helpful with maps of the Old Quarter and recommended spots to check out for lunch/dinner, shopping, and sightseeing. We had a very pleasant stay here and highly recommend this place, not only is it in the top 10 hotels in Hanoi but it is also a Bed & Breakfast (the best we've had so far, traveling through Southeast Asia). The biggest thing for me when staying at a hotel is cleanliness and location. This hotel was located in the center of Old Quarter, yet down a little street, far enough so it wasn't loud. Don't miss out on this little gem :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The Calypso Legend Hotel in a quiet side lane of Hanoi's old quarter is a real find. Centrally located with extremely attentive and professional staff, a manager who'll bend over backwards to do anything for you, and newly opened, this is an exquisite hideaway from a hard day's sightseeing or shopping in Hanoi. We were in and out several times in a week and each time we went on tour for a few days, they looked after all our bags and had equivalent rooms for us each time we returned. The rooms were spotless, fully equipped, functioning, attractive and above all silent to the hustle and bustle of motorcycle traffic on main streets. Trung Yen Lane leads to great alley markets and eating spots and is so central to shopping, sightseeing and dining as to eliminate the need for taxis except when you need to travel more than several kms. I loved it and plan to go back to it every time I return to Hanoi.

Room Tip: They are all equally good - we had rooms on floors 7, 5 and 2 at various times but the second floor allows for a one flight walk down to breakfast.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewKruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is located in the heart of the old quarter down a side street which can't be accessed by car and is therefore a lot quieter than a lot of the other spots. The staff from the onset were excellent and can't do enough for you. Both receptionists spoke excellent english which isn't always guaranteed in Vietnam. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Night_Fury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews