We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class presentation”

Vietnamese Women's Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.00*
and up
Hanoi City Day Trip
More Info
$87.50*
and up
Private Full-Day Hanoi City Tour
Ranked #9 of 277 things to do in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Focused on the contribution of women to Vietnam's history and culture, this museum highlights their roles in Vietnam's many military conflicts as well as in commerce, including features on female street vendors, women's role in the family, and more recently, single mothers in Vietnam.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“First class presentation”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Visiting this museum was one of the highlights of my trip to Hanoi. A great concept which has been executed in an excellent manner.
The layout is easy to follow, with different topics on each floor. The plaques of information next to each exhibit had the right amount of detail to hold my interest. There are a number of very moving displays, such as the wall with the Heroic mothers of Vietnam.
One particular plaque reminds that "they are only at the beginning of their history".
Everything is beautifully presented, and visiting here is a must-do in Hanoi.
Completed my visit with a Vietnamese coffee at a coffee shop in the grounds of the museum.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnF47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,156
    1,295
    309
    33
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Interesting & informative”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Glad I went to this museum. Didn't realised there were women involved in the war and seeing their picture and the heroic stance in their life during the war.

Would recommend it to all travellers.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TippyLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not a word about womens' rights”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

go to the ethnology museum for good information about culture, clothing, etc.

they don't have anything about prostitution which is a huge market in vietnam. Not a word about sexual freedom. Not a word about salary differences. Briefly, they don't go into any "hot topic", which is kind of sad.

I hope they will in the future!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“very interesting exhibition”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Nice and interesting exhibition.
Several floors, each dedicated to different aspects of Vietnamese women's lifes.
Starting from education, growing up, marriage, house life, pregnancy and giving birth, work and of course fashion.
Loads of colors and items from real life of a woman with loads of interesting descriptions and facts.
Was helpful in some aspects.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Natallia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

My family and I went along not really knowing what we would see here - we were pleasantly surprised. We found it very educational, learning about the important role so many Vietnamese women played in the many early wars, fighting for independence, proving they are very strong and resilient. We also enjoyed the clothing exhibits and the information about birthing and mothering issues. Found this worthwhile.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank suemil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnamese Women's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Vietnamese Women's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing