We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reminds one of the ethnic groups in China”

Vietnamese Women's Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$87.50*
and up
Private Full-Day Hanoi City Tour
Ranked #8 of 278 things to do in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Focused on the contribution of women to Vietnam's history and culture, this museum highlights their roles in Vietnam's many military conflicts as well as in commerce, including features on female street vendors, women's role in the family, and more recently, single mothers in Vietnam.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Reminds one of the ethnic groups in China”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

It is a small comprehensive museum depicting Vietnamese women & culture in the past. Rather interesting ethnic type clothes, but there's a kind of "moss" smell all around 3 floors!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank twong800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,081
    1,255
    300
    32
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Touching - definitely worth an hour or two”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Talked my husband into joining me for this visit, and we were both glad we went. It's a well organized exhibit and easy to navigate. We found the video clips to be very interesting and well done; the one about street vendors was particularly touching. These clips give a different perspective on the lives and customs and challenges and courage of the Vietnamese women. Worth spending an hour or two, for sure.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtown, ct
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Insightful museum”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was the first museum we visited in Hanoi and the one that made the strongest impression. We had planned to visit another nearby museum the same afternoon but were so enthralled by the Women's Museum we spent several hours there, no time for a second museum. The contribution women have made over the years to Vietnam's struggles is well documented.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank brendafaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyandanch, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent place to go”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

like the museum so much, I went alone but made a new accompany friend during my visit to this place.Thank you for that

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lilyclifford c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Modern and well organised”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is a museum which illuminates the diversity of lifestyles within Vietnam. Its well laid out, with explanations in Vietnamese, French and English.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maigemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnamese Women's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Vietnamese Women's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing