We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the outside exhibits museum”

Vietnam Museum of Ethnology
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Full-Day Hanoi City Tour
Ranked #10 of 277 things to do in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Vietnam Museum of Ethnology is a unit under Vietnam Academy of Scocial Sciences. Vietnam Museum of Ethnology is both a research centre and a public museum exhibiting the ethnic groups of Vietnam. The mission of the Museum is scientific research, collection, documentation, conservation, exhibition and preserving the cultural and historic patrimony of the nation's different ethnic groups. The museum also serves to guide research, conservation, and technology that are specific to the work of an ethnographic museum.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Loved the outside exhibits museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The inside of the museum lacked excitement but I loved the water puppet show and homes featured on the grounds of the museum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Safetraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,560
    1,836
    443
    45
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A lovely morning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We loved the museum. We spent very little time indoors with just a wander round the ground floor for 30 minutes or so. There are some interesting items to see but very little information about them. We spent a couple of hours wandering round the different houses in the grounds, which was lovely, shady and very interesting. Would be amazing with kids as there were many hands on items and some of the houses had ladders to climb to get in. we strolled around for a while and also sat & read the guidebook for ideas on where to go next in the grounds.
The cafe is pleasant and employs students from disadvantaged backgrounds working for catering/hospitality qualifications. The food was good, not particularly expensive & there was plenty of choice.
If you want to avoid the taxis why not take the bus. The 14 drops off a ten minute walk from the museum & you can catch it from the north end of the lake. There are also buses that drop you off/pick you up right outside but those don't go from/to the old quarter. That said you could get the main train station & change or have a walk back from near the temple of literature. The buses are easy, comfortable, air-conditioned and cheap (5000VND per journey). You can buy maps from the post office by Hoan Kiem lake that include bus route details & from what we understood all the services in the city centre run every 10-15 minutes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pgwhatkatydid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
156 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Well presented Historical presentation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I could spend all day in a museum. I like to read the fine print and get the feel of bygone days. It was easy to do that here.
Get a taxi from wherever you are, its always cheap compared to home and so is the addmission. The outdoor display of early life is well set out and can take an hour on its own.
The indoor presentation is well defined and interpreted in 3 languages including English. If it gets hot outside ( and it certainly does in May/June ) you can while away a pleasant tour inside with the air-con looking after you. It is more meaningful with a local guide who's english is good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisHamnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“interesting place to know about vietnamnesse culture”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

this museum is same with the other museum, little bit bored. But if you love historical about ethnic maybe you would love it. You can learn alot about vietnamnese culture, if u want to know more, better u hire a guide, they will explain u alot than the text on the information board

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank wennylink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Desperately seeking attention”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We visited the museum whilst we stayed in Hanoi. The collection itself is interesting however it's very sad to see a significant historic collection with little supporting investment in its preservation. There was no humidity nor temperature control and in some places sunlight was streaming in on some objects. There was also very little information on any of the labels if they were there at all. The houses outside we're interesting and worth seeing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CelSam63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Museum of Ethnology also viewed

 

Been to Vietnam Museum of Ethnology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing