We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable trip with an awesome guide!”

Zoom Zoom Let's Go to the Countryside - Day Tours
Ranked #48 of 490 Outdoor Activities in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the Real Vietnam- Explore Hanoi and travel to the countryside around Hanoi and in Northern Vietnam. Think of it as an unique way to learn about Vietnamese culture and life.
2 reviews
“Unforgettable trip with an awesome guide!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I travelled to Mai Chau on motorbike with Zoom. It was an amazing, unforgettable experience, and Zoom is an awesome guide to travel with.

Taking a bike trip to Mai Chau is well worth it, with some great scenery along the way. Mai Chau is a beautiful valley, and while it's getting a little touristy, Zoom found us a lovely home stay that doesn't feel canned or commercial. Our trip was only 2d1n but it felt longer because not a moment felt wasted (maybe except the painful traffic getting in and out of Hanoi).

Zoom is genuinely an awesome person to travel with. You really get the sense that Zoom is a fellow traveller first and foremost, and a guide second. She puts in extra effort to make sure you get to experience Vietnam like a local, and not as a tourist. Once, we stopped to have lunch in a small town, and Zoom found a humble little roadside pho restaurant. We had amazing pho, had a conversation with the owner about life in a small town, played with her granddaughter and her pet puppy, and smoked a tobacco pipe while sipping iced coffee and watching traffic go by. Serendipitous perhaps, but memorable experiences like this happen because of the way Zoom goes about her business. She genuinely loves traveling too, and she gets really excited when we sees beautiful sights, and it's infectious!

At the end of our trip we felt we've really made a new friend in Zoom. She showed a lot of care for our wellbeing - we both fell sick and she took great care of us - and even took us to a spa in Hanoi after our trip was over.

I can't recommend Zoom enough. It was really fun traveling with her. I would love to do it again in the future.

Helpful?
Thank Joelawawaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    2
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
“Excellent authentic trips”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Dung is a lovely tour guide who takes you to places around Hanoi and also further in to the countryside where tourists usually don't get to go on their own. She is very knowledgable and her friendliness opens doors, literally. On my last cycling trip we suddenly found ourselves in a house drinking tea with a retired nurse who was serving during the war and thus had interesting stories to tell. Unique experiences are guaranteed on a trip with Dung. She is an all-rounder but my favorite trips are the cycling tours around Hanoi for tourists and expats alike, it's an escape from the hustle and bustle and it also enables you to get a deeper understanding of Vietnam and its people.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 467Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“One of my favorite days of my whole 2 month trip”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I fell in love with Hanoi after this day of cycling with Zoom. She picks you up from the hotel, you get fitted for nice mountain bikes, and she takes you through the city out into the countryside.

You cycle a few km out and you're in this amazing lush green countryside, with the skyscrapers of hanoi peering over the lush trees and crops.

You meet so many cool locals, zoom herself is very educated and worldly and she's a blast to converse with.

She is also very very considerate of whether you're getting tired, if you want to do a longer tour or shorter, etc, so if you're worried about any physical aspect then don't be. The only thing that I encountered was along the farmland, some of the biking tracks were a bit narrow, but I simply walked my bike across that 10 meter section, no problem!

She takes lots of photos of your group as well. I did it with my boyfriend and it was one of the best days we had together.

Also the price is already really reasonable, we paid 70 a person for two people, but after considering that she rents the bikes, you go over rivers in little boats, and she pays for all your meals including a nice dinner together at the end, it's a total bargain.

Recommend a million times!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC CYCLING DAY - AMAZING ”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We have just got back to our hotel in Hanoi after a day cycling from Hanoi out to the local countryside.

We cannot recommend zooms tour enough!!

We have had such a FANTASTIC day.

Zoom arrived at our hotel for our 8am day tour, we cycled out of Hanoi and into the countryside, through the farm lands and into villages. all the villagers were shouting hello, people were so genuine asking us to come to their houses, we visited temples, little street food places - went into locals houses for coffee (we are two westerners and they like to show their hospitality to 'foreigners'- older villagers wanted us to stay for dinner etc).
we have literally had a day of life experiences.

Zoom even invited us to meet her family at home as we were cycling close by!

We booked this tour to have the 'personal touch' and a tour not full of other tourists and it was a brilliant decision - please book you will not regret this one bit!

We are both 30, very well travelled and this tour has made our last day in Hanoi one to remember.

Zoom is so knowledge about Hanoi!

You won't regret booking this!!!

Helpful?
Thank CBryant30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vietnam - off the beaten track”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

An excellent way to see the country - through the eyes of a local and someone who is enthusiastic about her country and about getting you local experiences.

Zoom is not your traditional tourist guide. Instead she brings you to where fewer tourists go; to eat genenuine local foods (rather than "tourist" food); loves nature & the local peoples and passes that along to you too; organises activities (cycling, hiking, motorbiking - we choose cycling).

We had 5 days cycling in earlly November in Central Vietnam (Hoi An-Hue) and a few days in Hai Noi

I highly recommend Zoom indeed - you won't regret it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MickCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoom Zoom Let's Go to the Countryside - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Zoom Zoom Let's Go to the Countryside - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing