We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanoi Serendipity Hotel
Ranked #91 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Had a nice stay here. I was staying on the First Floor and that can be noisy! I Could hear the phone ring from the reception but at night they switch the sound off (or nobody called). You can also hear people at breakfast talking.
For me this was no problem, so I did not complain about it.
Just mentioning it, if you stay here, and I would recommand it! , keep it in mind. You can ask for a room on a higher floor. There is a lift!

The service was great! Friendly, Nice breakfast, helpful with tours. They're not pushing you to book a tour.
I booked a 1 day halong Bay tour with them and it was perfect. Max 25 on the boat.

If you're looping for a Nice hotel in the old quarter, I would stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisje29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    59
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
66
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed in nine different hotels/homestays/overnight boats/bungalows, etc. while on our trip to Vietnam and Serendipity was our favorite. We'd booked a private room at a well-known hostel nearby to try to save money, but after one night we couldn't stand staying there another. We took one look at the spotlessly-clean, fresh rooms that easily measure up to Western hotel standards (which we rarely find) and booked it at a cost LESS than what we paid at the hostel. It included a great, freshly-cooked breakfast (the staff told us we can order however many options we wanted!) with Vietnamese coffee. The location is good, walking distance to the lake, the Old Quarter, and other tourist attractions. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. We felt spoiled staying at the Serendipity and saved money at the same time, what a great combination!

Read more about the Serendipity and our other hotels, sights, and experiences in Vietnam on our travel blog at www.travel-cowboys.com.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I have come to Hanoi for business and stay in this hotel for three weeks. I really enjoyed the friendly atmosphere, the professionalism of the staff, the quick responsiveness to issues related to my visit to the country, the clean and quite indoors and even the comfortable desk ideal for writing my professional reports.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank EMICH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hanoi Serendipity Hotel for 4 nights in January. With so many choices for hotels in Hanoi, it was really hard to settle on one. However, we were quite pleased with our stay with this hotel and would recommend it to others.
The location of the hotel is fantastic. It is located right in the heart of the Old Quarter, but on a quiet side-street. The roads in Hanoi can be pretty confusing but, regardless of how "lost" we were, we always found our way back to the familiar area of our hotel. A one minute walk down the street leads you right into the heart of the action.
The staff were friendly and hospitable, especially Henry. He helped us arrange a decent 2D1N trip to Halong Bay. Breakfast was good.
The room was basic but clean. The only thing that we were not totally thrilled about were the thin walls. We had a very noisy family staying on the same floor for a couple nights and then a couple young girls blasting music the other nights. I think these incidents were isolated though, as we had a friend staying on another floor who said he didn't hear much.

Room Tip: All rooms seem pretty similar...I don't think any one would have a better view or layout. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenWoodsCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very clean, comfortable, good wifi and a pc in every room. Well located. Nice staff, very helpful,and you can print whatever you need. Good breakfast, with a menu and a good cook preparing what you ordered. We booked a tour to Halong Bay but, unfortunately, it was cancelled due to bad weather conditions. Henry gave us most of our money back, only charged us for the transport (we went there and back to Hanoi) and helped us in each and every question we had, with a lot of patience. The transfer to the airport is highly recommended. Congratulations to this pearl of vietnamese hotels.

Raquel, Spain

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlpargataOJara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Really overwhelmed by the warmth and hospitality shown to me by the staff at serendipity. A really great find and will be sure to return. Great trip recommendation to Halong Bay. Rooms are very clean and location is perfect. You're a legend Henry

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank DStretch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

What makes this place unique is the incredibly helpful staff. Both Henry and Irene were charming. I wasn't feeling well the day I left and was able to stay in the room after chek-out time until my taxi arrived (thank you Irene!). Henry booked all my trips and since my wallet had been stolen and I had to live on emergency cash, I was able to pay everything in one go the day I left. That way, I didn't have the hassle of managing the cash I would need to exchange for every transaction. Conclusion: if it is possible for the Serendipity staff to arrange something (i.e. anything, nearly) for you they will do it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank solotraveler118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Serenity Villa Hotel
Serenity Villa Hotel
#55 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Symphony Hotel
Hanoi Symphony Hotel
#61 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luxury Hotel
Luxury Hotel
#89 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi City Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.0 mi away
Blue Hanoi Inn Hotel
Blue Hanoi Inn Hotel
#51 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Serendipity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Serendipity Hotel

Property: Hanoi Serendipity Hotel
Address: 14A Chan Cam Street - Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Serendipity Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 26 en-suite exclusive guest rooms, the Hanoi Serendipity Hotel offers cosmopolitan elegance and comfort to suit all needs from business to family, to leisure and adventure. Enter a world that is complete in every way. Be looked after by a dedicated and professional team who will be delighted to make your stay in Hanoi, and Vietnam, a truly unforgettable and special one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Serendipity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing