We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, bland experience and coffee”
Review of The Coffee Inn

The Coffee Inn
Ranked #33 of 182 Coffee & Tea in Hanoi
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice staff, bland experience and coffee”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

This is a fine place if you think Starbucks et al set the global benchmark for coffee and coffee shop experience. I drank half of mine and left it as there are so many places that probably have better coffee and are certainly more interesting right nearby.

I'm not sure why reviewers are getting so excited about it when there are many other choices on the same street. Indeed, there are many places where this would be a standout place to get coffee, just not here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    16
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great coffee”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Great coffee, great taste with great value. My close friends and I always hang out at this place. The coffee house was cozy and it feels like old Hanoi.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ttiiee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Who needs Starbucks with these local coffee shops?”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Wanted to visit a local (but not too local) coffee shop to try the iced Vietnamese coffee and this one fitted the bill perfectly. The staff were very friendly and helped us choose the coffee and muffins (they also serve churros after 6 pm outside). Prices are good and as seems to be the norm there is free wifi, Who needs Starbucks when you have coffee shops like this?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The ice blended coffee... too good.”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is a nice little cafe we found one even walking through old quarter. We got one ice coffee and had to come back the following night it was just so well made we got three which were all finished! Check it out if you are in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaprikaWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Very good to see Matcha tea, which we don't have in UK. All coffees very well priced. Excellent find.

Helpful?
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee Inn also viewed

 
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to The Coffee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing