We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Time Hostel 2
Ranked #43 of 621 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, really nice hotel but a little bit out of the way from any restaurants or touristy things apart from a shopping centre but still plenty of coffee houses to waste the day away in ( If your in to that type of thing).
Overall the staff were very helpful and helped us out when we were trying to buy plane tickets and recommended lots of places for us to eat and organised transport.
Rooms are very clean and tidy and have everything you need to get by. Nice breakfast in the mornings and free computers in the hotel lobby or free wifi that works great on the lower floors but not so much in the rooms higher up.
Was recommended to us from a backpacker we met and we were glad we took there advice.
Good quality, excellent service!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimstand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    67
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
135
46
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

First, despite the name, if you're looking for a 'hostel' or are a backpacker wanting to meet people, this isn't the place. Like many hotels in the area, the reception is not really a common room and you won't meet travelers here or on this street.

That being said, this is a great hotel and I enjoyed my stay. The staff seriously care about reviews and press, so they are extremely friendly. Without asking, they oriented me around Hanoi, provided a map, free coffee, and on one occasion when I had slept in VERY late, even cooked a special breakfast for me when it was supposed to have ended at 09:30. That's good service.

Like many hotels in the area, this one is tall and narrow -- rising up to seven floors. I stayed in two different rooms. I booked a single but was given a double just as a free upgrade. I agreed to move because I extended my stay and the weekend was coming up. Both rooms were very spacious and had nice work desks.

Fortunately, there is an access point on every floor and I had excellent Wi-Fi in my rooms on the seventh and fourth floors. There is a nice, modern lift that worked well. Rooms are nonsmoking and I didn't have any issues with smells.

The rooms are older, as is the building, but everything worked just fine. The TV had some lines on it, but you do get free movie channels. Besides, that's not the reason you come to Vietnam! Although there is some wear, my rooms were clean and the beds comfortable enough with good, clean linen. You get both a fan and air-con. The fan is great for making white noise for sleeping.

Water pressure was great even on the seventh floor. My only complaint is the layout of the toilet: there's no way to shower without getting the floor wet. Other than that, everything worked great!

This hotel is located on a wide, pleasant street with trees and loads of sidewalk cafes. You're less than a five-minute walk from the lake and maybe a 10 - 15 minute walk from the 'traveler' areas in the Old Quarter. If you're wanting to stay in a backpacker area to party, this is not it. If you really want to meet people and only hang out with other backpackers, you're better off on Ma May or Ngo Huyen. The benefit of staying just a short walk away from those areas is a much nicer room and friendlier staff not yet jaded by drunken idiots.

I wasn't once pressured by any of the staff to book Halong Bay, transportation, or anything else. That's a BIG reason to choose this hotel.

I took advantage of the airport pickup for $15. The price is about right for the hour-long drive from the airport and you get to ride in a comfortable, scam-free SUV. If you take your chances with a random taxi, you may have to deal with 'fixed' meters, crap drivers, or even being taken to the wrong hotel. Avoid the hassle -- email Tony and arrange pickup so that someone is waiting for you with your name on a sign!

In summary, the staff are doing a great job and working with what they've got. If you're a backpacker/budget traveler, you're going to think this place is luxury. If you're a tourist who is accustomed to more luxurious places, you may find some stuff to complain about.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VagabondingLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic little hostel in a really great location in Hanoi, Tony and his staff will do everything they can to make your stay a great experience, and are more than happy to arrange tours for you around Hanoi or further afield, we booked a couple of trips to halong bay and sapa which Tony arranged all for us, allowed us to leave some luggage at the hostel and let us shower when we returned, even though we were leaving that night. Great service from a great hostel!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Good location with nice big rooms. Very close to the lake, markets and food district. Best of all the welcoming and very attentive staff!Helped us with organising trips, booking trains, picking up tickets, etc. Best hostel in Vietnam so far.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianneA26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The rooms were excellent for the price with all the facilities we needed. The hotel was in a perfect location, very centrally located right by the lake. The breakfast was good and served until 11 giving us a chance to sleep in.
We received a very warm welcome with drinks and fruit and Tony gave us an introduction to the city and advised us on where to visit. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly, especially Tony who booked a tour to Ha Long Bay for us which turned out to be excellent and Ahn who helped me to find a bubble wrap supplier and send a package to the UK. Overall the stay was fantastic and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have a window, so request one with!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Having stayed in many average hostels we were very surprised when we walked through the doors and had someone offer to carry our bags for us, and when we were shown the room we couldn't believe what we had got for so little money.

Tony and Ahn, the two receptionists, were incredibly welcoming and very helpful without putting pressure on you to book with them. Both speak very good English and always have a smile on their face which is a welcome change from most of the places we've stayed on our travels.

Would definitely recommend staying here, it's a little more expensive than backpacker hostels but with breakfast included and a very comfortable room it's well worth spending a little extra. Fantastic location and walking distance from everywhere you'd want to see.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_Speed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I came to stay at this hostel after having a negative experience at a different hostel. My stay at Golden Times was fantastic. Staff were very helpful. Rooms very clean and nice décor. Fantastic location. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 85Laur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Viet View Hotel & Spa
Viet View Hotel & Spa
#111 of 591 in Hanoi
290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Focus Boutique Hotel
Hanoi Focus Boutique Hotel
#164 of 591 in Hanoi
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi E Central Hotel
Hanoi E Central Hotel
#16 of 591 in Hanoi
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thaison Palace Hotel
Thaison Palace Hotel
#10 of 621 in Hanoi
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Time Hostel 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Time Hostel 2

Property: Golden Time Hostel 2
Address: 8 Ly Thai To | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 621 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Time Hostel 2 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Time Hotel 2! Our Hostel is located on the large & quiet Ly Thai To street which is very close Hoan Kiem Lake( symbol of Hanoi Capital), ANZ bank, Opera House ( was built in 1911 by the French), shopping area, just next to a bunch of traditional Vietnamese, Indian, Italian and Asian cuisine restaurants. Each room is equipped with facilities such as: antique wood furniture, wood floors, satellite TV, a mini bar, working table, wardrobe, bathtubs, air conditioning, telephone, and ADSL Internet connection for you convenience. We are one of the tallest buildings in the Old Quarter and have installed an elevator connecting the nine floors and 24 guest rooms for convenience during your stay. There is also a restaurant and bar on the 8th floor, offering European and Asian food for breakfast, lunch and dinner and surely, a royal view of Hanoi. With our new look we aim to create a new standard of hotel service in Hanoi that is honest, helpful, friendly, and informative. To make your holiday stress free you can book tours and transportation in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Golden Time Hostel 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing