We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable”

Porte D'Annam Restaurant
Ranked #177 of 3,649 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in front of the St Joseph's Cathedral, in the center of the historical quarter, come to discover a New Vietnamese cuisine. You can also buy our chef's special blend spices , Unique in Vietnam. Lunch Menu: 168 000 vnd +/pax Monday to Saturday , 198 000 vnd +/pax Sunday. Dinner with set menu and "A la carte" available. All day dining 11.00 am - 10.00 pm.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I enjoyed 4 days in Hanoi, eating at the charming Porte D'Annam every day! Just reading the menu was an adventure, as I discovered a selection of wonderful Asian fusion cuisine - fish, soups, cheeses. Best time to go is for lunch - I was so happy to order the reasonably-priced "Menu of the Day." My visits were enhanced by the restaurant manager who was always friendly, greeting me with a smile and cheerful words, like an old friend. The location is fantastic -- across the street from St. Joseph's Cathedral, and around the corner from the Apricot Hotel.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank FrankSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCRestaurant, Người quản lý at Porte D'Annam Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear FrankSteve,

Xin chào from Porte d'Annam !

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am very delighted to hear that you had a most wonderful time at Porte d'Annam Restaurant and that you really enjoyed Chef Didier Corlou’s cuisine creation.

Thank you so much for dining at the restaurant and we hope to see you again soon

Best regards,
Porte d'Annam team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came last weekend with some of my friends, happy hour for cocktails by 1 get 1 free. It was very good cocktails, maitai, maragtita, pepper...
The food was delicious. I took the noodle soup with beef, fish in beer can, my friends took squids, spring rolls, grilled duck. Amazaing indochina food with perfect matching wine suggested by the manager.
The staffs are friendly and helpful too. Highly recommend

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Pnal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCRestaurant, Người quản lý at Porte D'Annam Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Pnal38,

Xin chào from Porte d'Annam !

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your experience at Porte d'Annam. I am super happy to hear that you not only enjoyed our Chef’s creations but the atmosphere and service had also made your dinner exceptional.

Thank you again for dining at Porte d'Annam Restaurant and for sharing your wonderful compliments feedback. We very much hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Best regards,
Porte d'Annam Team .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019

We ate here on our second night in Vietnam and were looking forward to a culinary treat. Our starters of satay and spring rolls were good, however, the main courses although looking beautiful and quirky (rice field fish cooked inside a beer can for example) were surprisingly bland and lacking in flavour. We were billed for one beer too many and this was rectified with no problems. Our main complaint, however, and a big one is that we had asked for a large bottle of water towards the end of our meal and this was handwritten onto the bill at 108,000 VND. We felt this was very high but paid up as we were still finding our way around Vietnam pricing. We quickly realised that this is around 10 times more than the general going rate and sadly we had been scammed by the staff. I suggest that you check the bill very carefully if eating at this place.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ringrose20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCRestaurant, Người quản lý at Porte D'Annam Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ringrose20,

Thank you for sharing your comment for us on Tripadvior !

I am very sorry that our restaurant did not satisfy you.
However, what you respond to was not really the same as what the other diners experience. The Rice field fish is one of the best seller at Porte d'Annam, its the unique dish.
As for the price of drinks, this is the average price of restaurants in the city center, especially the old quarter. We also serve you free tap water if you request, and just like you, after the meal, you can tell our service.
We have been trying to give customers the best experience when coming to dine in one of the restaurants with nice location in the center of the old quarter !

Thank you

Me and Porte d'Annam team
Phan Le
Restaurant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2019 via mobile

Absolutely 12/10 for food service and friendliness - started with the nem & mixed satay delicious- followed by the pork rib and prawn risotto - when talking to our beautiful waitress we advised it was a special 20th wedding anniversary and the owner and staff all delivered us our stunning desert on the house cocktails were also yummy highly recommend this lovely restaurant

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank shanhonem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCRestaurant, Người quản lý at Porte D'Annam Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2019

Dear Shanhonem,

Once again happy your wedding anniversary ! We're very glad to serving you.
If only we knew it before we've prepared for you much better.

Thank you for sharing your comment on tripadvior. And hope to see you again !

Me and Porte d'Annam team,

Phan Le
Restaurant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019

Vietnam with some French flair.in old Hanoi, up by old Catholic Church.lovely food, very large serves,so be aware and don’t over order. I had the Pork Ribs, absolutely beuatiful but could not finish my meal, partner had a Chicken dish, great flavours. Not overly busy on a Friday evening, definitely not Street Food,a proper little restaurant

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Euan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCRestaurant, Người quản lý at Porte D'Annam Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2019

Dear Euran R,

Thank you for sharing your comment,

Great welcome from Porte d'Annam. We're glad to serving you and trying our best for customers.


Me and our team

Phan Le
Restaurant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porte D'Annam Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Porte D'Annam Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing