We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Hanoi
Post
Inbox
Search
Vietnam in Focus - Photo Tours and Workshops
Open today: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Vietnam in Focus - Photo Tours and Workshops
from $119.00
More Info
from $119.00
More Info
from $119.00
More Info
from $119.00
More Info
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveler rating
283
22
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
283
22
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long bien market sunrise tour camera settings great shots street photography train tracks photography experience photographic tour taking pictures ha giang great teacher explore hanoi photo opportunities great tour private tour small group an amazing experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 308 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2019

I spent 14 fine days on VIF's Golden Harvest tour, led by photographer Duc Nguyen. The tour featured a good assortment of scenic landscapes, close up "people shots' and market shooting. Duc was able to quickly establish friendly dialogues that led to great opportunities for shooting people at work, and, of course, knew the best spots and light conditions for landscape shooting. Highly recommended.

I also spent two very early mornings in Hanoi on VIF's Hanoi on the Tracks and Morning Market tours. Excellent!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank lucastoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Owner at Vietnam in Focus - Photo Tours and Workshops, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2019

Thanks so much for the very kind review. It means a great deal to us that you enjoyed the tour, especially as your previous experience with another photo tour outfit here had been a disaster. Won't name names!

Both Duc and Cristian enjoyed shooting with you up in the mountains, and I know the others in the group enjoyed your company too. Looking forward ot seeing more of your pictures from the trip. All the best with your photography and travels, and look forward to hearing from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2019

Thanks Alex and Duc for a wonderful excursions and being very flexible when things don't go according to plan due to weather. Took 2 private tours, the Hanoi Explorer and Tho Ha Handicraft Village. Had a wonderful experience and some nice photos too. Will definitely do Vietnam again with your service. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank azlananuar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Owner at Vietnam in Focus - Photo Tours and Workshops, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2019

Huge thanks to you for the review, and for joining us on these tours. August can be pretty rainy and unpredictable, so we're glad we got in some good trips and shoots with you in any case. All the best with your photography and look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019

We had a fantastic day experience with Duc. He helped all four of us both experienced and not using cameras and phones. We have some fabulous and memorable photographs. Highly recommend this experience.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Curiosity680438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Owner at Vietnam in Focus - Photo Tours and Workshops, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2019

Thanks so much for your great review. We're very glad you guys enjoyed Hanoi Explorer with Duc. Would love to see some of the pics, especially from the iphones! All the best from us and see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019

In 2016, my family had very good experiences with Vietnam in Focus on two half-day Hanoi tours.

I was contemplating a Myanmar photography trip (with my son) and saw that VIF had such a tour scheduled in 2020, but (unfortunately), we could only travel this past month (Aug., 2019). I’d asked if VIF might arrange a guide and/or itinerary for a 7-8 day Myanmar photo tour, and Alex and company assembled and arranged an excellent tour – working with our contemplated travel dates -- with photographer/guide Mostafa Mansour.

I think the planned VIF tour in 2020 is a longer trip, with more destinations. Ours covered three basic areas: Mandalay; Bagan; and In Le Lake.

We’ve just returned. The tour was truly outstanding -- even better than I could have possibly expected -- and my son and I both enjoyed it immensely. We really liked every single shooting locale, and Mansour was a superb tour leader and enthusiastic and encouraging adviser; always up for an extra shoot (as were we), full of good ideas and aesthetic insights, patient and helpful, and excellent and worldly company besides. Between the sheer beauty (and warmth) of the Myanmar people, the extraordinary activities in the markets, fields, and workshops, the exotic and stunning structures, and the landscapes, it's simply an incredible place to visit. We had a couple of unlucky weather/lighting half-days (U Bein Bridge; first boat ride), but we also had some great and lucky accidents: side-of-the-road encounters with rice harvesters, a single farmer with his animal pulling a wooden plow; a chance run-in with two traditional acrobatic dancing fisherman when we were the last boat on the river; and then the really fun slow train to Thazi.

Our days were occupied from 5:30 or 5 AM to 9:30 PM every day and I'm only now getting the time to look at my pictures. Mansour asked about our favorite activities and any critiques: really, there were no critiques, aside from a recognition that an extra day in 2 (or all 3) of the sites would have allowed us a little more time to roam, to spread out the activities or to take a second shot at a sunrise or sunset shoot. Among the highlights: All of In Le Lake -- especially the monastery (young monks studying and later praying); parents picking up their their kids at school on the lake; the incredible central market; and cruising the river canals.

Bagan is other-worldly: the monkeys at two of the temples we saw; the spectacular edifices and beauty of the landscape; the mere fact that it exists relatively unscathed in the 21st century.

Also, the roadway encounters; Mandalay blacksmith/silversmith workshop; the amazing Buddha-carving quarter; textile workshops and the gold-leaf workshop as well; and the night market.

Finally, the logistics accommodations and meals were good, and between Mansour and the Buffalo Tour local guides (all of them good) and drivers, everything was handled very professionally and went quite smoothly. (We're not used to being spoiled, but everyone was extremely helpful). We actually had a lovely room at the Bagan hotel, and the issues weren't really that consequential: we were barely there more than 5 - 6 hours at night, and it's possible that we just had them on an unlucky couple of days. The hotel in In Le area was spectacular.

Anyway, thanks to VIF for putting this all together. I told Mansour that I'd certainly enthusiastically recommend him and Vietnam in Focus to any photographer I know with the certainty that even experienced and savvy photographers would get a lot out of such a well-conceived tour.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank rosse240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Owner at Vietnam in Focus - Photo Tours and Workshops, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2019

Thanks so much for this awesome review. It means a huge amount to us that you guys enjoyed the tour in Myanmar. Actually, we knew you would, but it's still great to have this feedback!

Mansour also very much enjoyed adventuring and shooting with you. It's a great country for such trips.

Wishing you guys all the best with your photography and everything else, and I'm sure we'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2019

The tour was very well organised. Duc, our photo guide, was nice, kind and very helpful with photo composition and technique advises.
The places we visited were very special and, especially the handicraft village, was quite simple but full of photo opportunities.
Duc is very knowledgeable of the sites and he is a good guide.
Alex, from the office, helped with an efficient and prompt organisation for making the day very successful.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank alexgM7797LQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Owner at Vietnam in Focus - Photo Tours and Workshops, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2019

Thanks so much for this great review! We were especially glad that the weather held out for your tours with us. It means a lot for us to hear this feedback from folk like yourselves who have done many other photo tours around the world. Delighted to hear we're among the best! Thanks again and see you guys back soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews