We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best hostel in Hanoi.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Street Backpackers Hostel

Street Backpackers Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Street Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #100 of 333 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Kempten, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Probably the best hostel in Hanoi.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We were pretty lucky to find this stay in Hanoi. The owner Lio and his little family have been so nice to us..they showed us around, took us to the local market and the zoo...helped us to find a good motorbike and everything else we needed for our motorbike trip.
It was a great experience and we are very happy that we ended up staying at the Street Backpackers Hostel! If you wanna stay in a nice hostel which is not packed with party tourist and have a real Hanoi experience...choose this one.
In addition to that they made my birthday very special! Thank You!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DanielLehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
7
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Battambang, Cambodia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

This is a fine cheap hostel. The accommodations are nothing special but for the price, it was worth it. The staff were friendly and the location was great. Breakfast was also included which was a nice touch. I'd definitely recommend this hostel for budget travelers.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank Joey613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nice place, good location, friendly staff. Lio knows the best places to eat in Hanoi. Free breakfast and one-hour free beer... ;)
In my opinion, the best value for money in Hanoi (after 2 weeks in the city this year and 2 more last year)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Josebasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay if you are a budget traveler, looking for a fun social place to stay amongst the old quarter. Free beer and rice wine from 8-9 brings everyone together so great for meeting new people.
The family that run the place are very friendly and helpful. Happy to make any bookings for you. Laundry service available.

We stayed in the 3rd floor dorm which was spacious enough with a multi-purpose bathroom like most places in Vietnam.

Would happily stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
10 Thank outback-backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

On our first day in Hanoi, we found this hostel and ended up staying for about a month. The staff here is amazing and extremely helpful. The place has everything you need and can organize tours, transportation, and visa extensions. I will definitely be back to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonewall, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Traveled from Laos and landed in Hanoi on December 25th. Found this hostel looking on the internet and thought for the price in the old quarter, it was a good deal. Little did I know I would fall in love with the staff here. Lio and Hanna are wonderful people, doing anything and everything they can to make your experience the best it can be in Hanoi. They offer tours for a discounted price though the hostel, they can book your train/bus/flight ticket to your next destination of choice. Free breakfast in the morning and free beer in the evening. Being away from home for an extended period of time, Lio and Hanna really treat you like their own family Never have had such a wonderful experience traveling and would recommend this hostel to anyone, whether you're on a buget on just looking to meet some good people, Streetbackpackers hostel is the place to go. It was my first time here but definitely not my last. Thank you streetbackpackers for making my time in Hanoi something i will never forget. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Cody204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Rong Samloem, Cambodia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

A wonderful family run hostel. Luggage storage, great location, very clean. Easy to get my Chinese visa and train ticket in 4 working days. Breakfast included and a new stainless steel kettle made the coffee even better. I look forward to seeing everyone again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Andrew721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Green Hanoi Backpackers Hostel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.4 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
#58 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Street Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Street Backpackers Hostel

Property: Street Backpackers Hostel
Address: 1 Ngo Huyen | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 333 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Street Backpackers Hostel is top hostels run by a Vietnamese family in Hanoi, located in the center of the Old Quarter in Hanoi “Cathedral quarter”. It is just a stone’s throw from St. Joseph’s Church (Cathedral) on a quiet lane. This convenient location allows you to be just a 5 minute walk from Hoan Kiem Lake, Vietnam Airlines booking office & Quang Trung bus stop (for service to Noi Bai International airport). You can get to all the famous travel points, restaurants, craft shops, pubs and art galleries,… as soon as you step onto the main road. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing