We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A most pleasant stay ”

Friendly Hotel & Travel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Friendly Hotel & Travel
Ranked #103 of 577 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A most pleasant stay ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend have had the most relaxing and enjoyable stay at this hotel. The manager is extremely helpful and friendly, he could not do enough for us. We checked in a little early after getting off the sleeper train, the room was lovely (one of the nicest we have stayed in to date in Vietnam), the bathroom was a little dated but the shower was powerful and plentiful. The manager had plenty of information about the area, ha long Bay and Sapa, so much so that our ha long Bay trip was booked through him. Looking online, the trip we have booked has received good reviews and so we await that trip. We will be staying here again on our return to Hanoi, if that doesn't speak volumes, I am not sure what does. A fantastic little budget hotel that I would highly recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
20
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Chanced upon this hotel on the first night in Hanoi after terrible dinner experience around the same area (Great food but horribly loud and cramped environment). We were scouting for Halong Bay tour and popped into this place to enquire. Han did a great job at helping us find a cruise as many were rushing to get on one too after Typhoon Haiyan passed Vietnam. As we were worrying abt accomodation after coming bck fr Halong, Han offered us room at a much lower price than the place we were at. Han even offered to safekeep our luggages when we go for the Halong trip. Upon coming back we were warmly greeted by Han and his staff and given the key to our room. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The a/c, fan, water heater etc all worked beautifully. The advice and tips given were genuine and without biasness. Han booked a cab to the airport for us at a much cheaper rate compared to other quotations. He had even told off a lady selling sugar donuts on the streets for overcharging me! The warmth and hospitality is genuine and you will feel really comfortable here. Definitely heading back for 2nd rounds! Thanks guys for making our Hanoi experience a positive one! :D

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyDeefyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and were very happy with the level of service we received. We haggled a bit on the price of the room, so we got quite a good rate. We then booked a trip to Halong bay through the hotel, which was quite good. Ensure to haggle if booking day tours, these guys are nice and friendly, but will overcharge you of they can.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank petergrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a night here and we're very happy. Extremely friendly manager and went out of his way to offer any help he could. We paid $10 and in return received a room with double bed, a/c, fan and hot water. It's a couple of blocks walk from the lake. I did enquire about larger rooms and he said they have them for $15-$20. I would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very friendly and helpful owner, good Price, perfect Location, in walking distance of everything. The Rooms are clean and nice and you have everything you need (AC,Fan,TV,Towels,Fridge,Phone;-)). The Tours we booked in the Hotel (Sapa, Halong Bay) were very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night (only because there was no room on the second night). The rooms have everything you need (minibar, great ac, good bed and so on..)
the highlight of the hotel is han, the manager of the hotel. He is absolutely the greatest! Helpful with everything. He gladly answers any questions you need about everything. Booked a wonderful cruise to Ha long bay and a bus to Sapa. He even told us where my boyfriend could go shave is beard (so you can really ask him about everything and he knows)
overall great for those on a tight budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Hans and Toei are very kind and helpful. The suggestions they gave about my trip are really informative and helpful. This place is a really very friendly hotel. Rooms are clean and they are in very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Space Hotel
Hanoi Space Hotel
#32 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Elite Hotel
Hanoi Elite Hotel
#4 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hanoi 3B Hotel
Hanoi 3B Hotel
#7 of 577 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Guest House
Hanoi Guest House
#3 of 577 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Hotel & Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Hotel & Travel

Property: Friendly Hotel & Travel
Address: No. 68 Ma May, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 577 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-positioned in Hoan Kiem District - Old Quarter, Hanoi Friendly Hotel is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Hanoi. Only 45 km away, this 2-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. With the city's main attractions such as Museum Of Independence, Old Quarter, Hang Ngang Hang Dao within close reach, visitors to the hotel will just love its location.Hanoi Friendly Hotel also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Hanoi. A selection of top-class facilities such as bicycle rental, valet parking, laundry service/dry cleaning, concierge, airport transfer can be enjoyed at the hotel.Hotel accommodations have been carefully appointed to the highest degree of comfort and convenience, with shower, separate shower and tub, desk, internet access – LAN (complimentary), hair dryer in each room. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Superb facilities and an excellent location make the Hanoi Friendly Hotel the perfect base from which to enjoy your stay in Hanoi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing