We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to its name”

Friendly Hotel & Travel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Friendly Hotel & Travel
Ranked #159 of 647 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The owner worked hard to.make sure we were comfortable, and we particularly appreciated being charged for one and a half nights instead of two because we arrived at 5 am - though we seem to have paid a lot.more than previous reviewers. Finding a quiet room can be a problem in Hanoi: ours fronted onto the busy street, but was tolerable with the windows closed.

Room Tip: At least one of the rooms has no windows, so it's quieter but a bit claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dfbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 65 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

It's in the perfect location in the centre of Old Town, where all the fun is. We took their cheapest room at $12 but it was really good for the price - very clean, hot water, cable TV, free wifi and a very well-made and comfortable bed. The staff are young and friendly and speak good English. Of course they were keen to sell us tours... but so is everyone in Vietnam, so no problems there. We got a good quote from an agency for a Sapa Trekking Tour. The guys at Friendly Hotel were happy to match it so we booked with them and it was a fantastic well organised tour. There is also an amazing and cheap restaurant just nest door (Newday Restraunt).

You won't find better value accomodation in Hanoi. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Wonderful little hotel in the heart of things. Our room was quiet, clean and cozy and had all that we needed for a one night stop. The people could not have been more helpful. Breakfast cooked to order and included in a very low price. Just a note that the free shampoo sachet is actually hair die meant for the locals and if your Vietnamese is as rusty as mine it can be quite interesting :-)

Room Tip: Go as high as your legs will take you for a quiet night in the centre of a very busy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulDH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Han is lovely and so helpful. Our room was upgraded so we had a massive room! It was clean and the air conditioning worked.
We booked both halong bay and our open bus tickets through Han. Halong bay was lovely albeit the weather.
We had a problem with our bus tickets, we had the wrong ones and Han was on hand to help us sort them out even when we had left Hanoi!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beemichaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We ended up staying after our confused taxi driver dropped us off right in front and we were too tired to walk around town to look for something else. The room was a bit shabby and could use some refurb but that did not bother us at all. The owner of the hotel was the friendliest Vietnamese person we met during our trip from north to south!! He helped us to book tours and gave great suggestions on exploring the city. The place does not have a lift so you got to be fit to carry your bags up some pretty steep stairs. All in all I would recommend this place to anyone on budget as it is clean and the staff is great.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AND1ONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

The name of the hotel is completely true. The staff is very friendly. Very welcoming when you enter the hotel. Rooms are clean. Good beds! Soft bed and good pillows. Only no heater en no windows (only shutters) in the winter so it got very very cold in the room, when it was four degrees outside. Good wifi and free usage of pc. Location is in the tourist area, what is a good spot. Close to restaurants, bars and tourist things. Do not forget to visit the draft beer bars at the street around the corner of the hotel! Very cheap beer and awesome to watch the traffic pass by. Breakfast was not enough for us, but when we asked for more it was free. We booked a Sapa tour and Halong Bay tour. What turned out very good. It was arranged well. We even got a free pick up to the airport (guess they made enough commission on us ;)). Once we weren't able to finish our breakfast, so they put it in a plastic bag with extra toast to take away. Very sweet!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maar-itt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for one night two days Han was great gave me good advice on halong bay certainly knows his stuff. We booked Halong bay through Han,the cruise certainly lived up to our expectations. Han also booked our flights and accom in Ho chi min city at a good rate.we are travelling with two teenagers, the family room is spacious and clean best hot water shower in Hanoi so far.Top location, in the old quarter.We will be back

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2.1 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.4 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#99 of 600 in Hanoi
2,309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendly Hotel & Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Hotel & Travel

Address: No. 68 Ma May, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 647 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: $12 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Friendly Hotel & Travel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-positioned in Hoan Kiem District - Old Quarter, Hanoi Friendly Hotel is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Hanoi. Only 45 km away, this 2-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. With the city's main attractions such as Museum Of Independence, Old Quarter, Hang Ngang Hang Dao within close reach, visitors to the hotel will just love its location.Hanoi Friendly Hotel also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Hanoi. A selection of top-class facilities such as bicycle rental, valet parking, laundry service/dry cleaning, concierge, airport transfer can be enjoyed at the hotel.Hotel accommodations have been carefully appointed to the highest degree of comfort and convenience, with shower, separate shower and tub, desk, internet access – LAN (complimentary), hair dryer in each room. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Superb facilities and an excellent location make the Hanoi Friendly Hotel the perfect base from which to enjoy your stay in Hanoi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing