We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hostel with nice and friendly people”
Review of Hanoi City Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanoi City Hostel
Ranked #24 of 367 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Cheap hostel with nice and friendly people”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed here with a friend in a double bedroom the first night we arrived in Hanoi. It was a last minute booking and we were glad that they had a room for us during the peak period in the month of December. The people in the hostel (Hannah and Moon) are both very friendly and willing to help us out - with booking of halong bay, getting taxi to places, tickets to Sapa.

They charged 15 dollar for airport pickup which we both find pretty decent as we didn't want to take the risk of being scam by taxi drivers at the Hanoi airport (which is common here in Hanoi).

The rooms are pretty decent, clean and pretty big for the price we paid. 10minutes walk to most of the recommended restaurants, cafés and places.

The recommended cruise for us to halong bay was albatross, and we paid a pretty decent amount for a 2D1N tour. They served nice food and we had a great tour guide (Mao)! Met a lot of nice people aboard the cruise ship too.

Moon and Hannah also helped us with the booking of the train to Sapa without additional charges!(more expensive if book online through agent)

Throughout we stayed 4 nights here and we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iceicemilktea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    100
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
135
64
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The rooms are fairly basic and average, however, for the money, it's got everything you need plus a fair amount of space. The location was manageable, 15 to 20 minute walk to most of the places to visit to in Hanoi. What really makes this place stand out though is the wonderful service. The two ladies who run the front desk were always bright, happy, and always patient to resolve any questions or issues I had. Throw in a super plain but free breakfast, and a couple free computers to use, definitely a good option for a few days in Hanoi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2013

If you are staying in Hanoi and aren't staying in expensive hotels you have two options: Hanoi Backpackers Hostel or Hanoi City Hostel. Hanoi Backpackers offers more a young-party atmosphere and Hanoi City Hostel is relaxed, clean, and you can get a good nights sleep.

It's located in the heart of the Old Quarter within walking distance of many of Hanoi's sights and activities. The Hostel it self is very clean, great value for your money, and the rooms are hotel quality. You also get a free wifi, breakfast, and coffee. The staff are great and can arrange airport pick-up and drop-off. Also I would recommend booking Ha Long Bay tours through the Hostel as they get the best prices and don't over charge! The staff are friendly and helpful, especially the lovely Hannah!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryzer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Tremendous place perfectly located in the hustle and bustle of downtown hanoi. I payed $15 for a standard room but because there was no one staying in the larger room 'moon' upgraded me free of charge.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My friend and I had a great stay at Hanoi city hostel. The room was basic, but clean and comfortable. The staff were excellent, giving great advice and helping us to book tours to Halong bay and sapa. Would recommend it

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeydubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This may not be the prettiest hostel in the world, but the location is great, the staff are fantastic, and it's cheap as chips. It is just a short walk to the bustling old town. Our double room was large and comfortable, if a little noisy from the street at night. All the staff we encountered were lovely, and the breakfast was delicious. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyandAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Roooomss are clean beds are comfy, desent price for a night and the hostel staff are friendly and helpfull.

Not to far from the main night life, 5 minute walk.

Thể are available atms around the hoetl, brecfast í very nice, basic but good, brecy í free also.

they have safes for the rốm, tv, air con ect.

would recomend.

Room Tip: be nice speak a little vietnamise and it will get you a far ưay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Asia Guest House
Hanoi Asia Guest House
#172 of 586 in Hanoi
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kangaroo Hotel
Kangaroo Hotel
#30 of 367 in Hanoi
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
#15 of 367 in Hanoi
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#9 of 367 in Hanoi
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#12 of 367 in Hanoi
1,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#2 of 367 in Hanoi
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi City Hostel

Property: Hanoi City Hostel
Address: 95B Hang Ga Street | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 367 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi City Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's situated in convenient location in the Hanoi old Quarter, it is very easy for you to go to Hoan Kiem Lake and some famous landcapes in Hanoi center. We offer many kinds of room like: Private Single, Private Twins, Private Doubles, and Triple and dorm room - decorated in modern style with the ELEVATOR. All rooms are well-equipped with: satellite TV, mini bar, air-conditioning,hair-dryer ,bathroom with bathtub and hot water 24hrs More ever, our friendly staff are well English speaking always willing to help you with recommending to you the good service any travel request and to beyond your expectaions. Check out is up until 12 noon Credit cards are accepted and are subject to a 3% service charge Cancellation policy is 48 hours before the day of arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hanoi City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing