We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay friendly staff”
Review of Hanoi City Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanoi City Hostel
Ranked #23 of 371 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
“Great stay friendly staff”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Roooomss are clean beds are comfy, desent price for a night and the hostel staff are friendly and helpfull.

Not to far from the main night life, 5 minute walk.

Thể are available atms around the hoetl, brecfast í very nice, basic but good, brecy í free also.

they have safes for the rốm, tv, air con ect.

would recomend.

Room Tip: be nice speak a little vietnamise and it will get you a far ưay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    100
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
138
64
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night before we jumped on the bus to Halong Bay and we were impressed with the accommodation.

What most impressed us was when we mistimed our twelve hour train ride back and arrived, without booking at 4:30am in the morning, we were allowed in and given a room to change and shower as well as breakfast.

Wonderfully helpful with transfers, buses and tips in Hanoi, a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieTtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

My two mates and I stayed here for 5 nights. Nice room with 3 single beds, aircondition and own bathroom. Good comfort and clean. Good place to stay if you are looking for a proper room and friendly staff while exploring Hanoi city. Amazing value for money!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rasmus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friends had an absolutely nice stay at this hostel. The room was nice and big, with a big bathroom. The personal at the hostel gave us top-service, they were openminded, positive and always eager to help us with tours and getting around in the city. The price is more than okay compared to the service, room and the breakfast which is also included. I will definintely reccomend this hostel to other travellers visiting Hanoi. Thanks for they stay!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tobias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Our expectations were rather low due to the extremely cheap price, but we were amazed by how much value for money we got. Nice, clean room with 3 single beds, air condition and a proper bathroom. The hosts were very helpful with booking tour to Halong Bay etc.
All in all very satisfied!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steffan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I failed to understand how this place has got so many 5 stars. For me, it was just average. We booked a double room and told them we would be arriving at the airport at 6.10pm so will probably be at the hostel at 9pm latest. We arrived at 8.30pm and checked in. The lady, who was nice and smiling all the time, told us that she had given our double room to someone else so we have been moved to a twin room. I'm sure that's not how bookings work. You book a double, you get given a double. Very simple. The room was nice and away from the road but you could still hear it a little. We were in room 102 so one of the first rooms. It was quite noisy when people were going up and down the stairs as you can hear them right from when they leave their room until they get to the bottom. Flip flops and wooden floors don't mix. The breakfast was fine. Filled us both up until lunch. The location was good, never had to get a taxi anywhere but we don't really mind walking.

You can book all sorts at reception and the first thing she asks you is about a ha long bay tour. I said we were going to book a decent one with the operator but she still shoved a lot of cheap boat brochures in our faces and tried the hard sell. They may have been ok, but I never trust booking agents in Asia, plus I like doing things myself even if it takes a bit longer.

Overall, if you get the room which you booked, are a bit higher up and away from the room then I'm sure your stay will be fine.

P.S if you get the minibus service from the airport, it drops you at the wrong place but there's lots of "taxis" there (stuffy men with old cars and no signs to show they are a real taxi). Just walk away from them and jump in a little small taxi or the big red hanoi group taxi. If they ask for more than 40,000 dong, negotiate down.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the road on the higher floors. There's an elevator so don't wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattpreece87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Found the staff very friendly and helpful, would definitely recommend for a relaxed stay in Hanoi. The hótel had a lift for easy access to all floors, the rôom ứa kept clean, the breakfast ứa good value, and the staff coped well with my coming back after being awây for a few dáys at a time. Also at $16 the Hostel offered excellent value.

Room Tip: The rôm at the top had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Kangaroo Hotel
Kangaroo Hotel
#28 of 371 in Hanoi
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#10 of 371 in Hanoi
319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#2 of 371 in Hanoi
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
0.5 mi away
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
#15 of 371 in Hanoi
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#13 of 371 in Hanoi
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi City Hostel

Property: Hanoi City Hostel
Address: 95B Hang Ga Street | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 371 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi City Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's situated in convenient location in the Hanoi old Quarter, it is very easy for you to go to Hoan Kiem Lake and some famous landcapes in Hanoi center. We offer many kinds of room like: Private Single, Private Twins, Private Doubles, and Triple and dorm room - decorated in modern style with the ELEVATOR. All rooms are well-equipped with: satellite TV, mini bar, air-conditioning,hair-dryer ,bathroom with bathtub and hot water 24hrs More ever, our friendly staff are well English speaking always willing to help you with recommending to you the good service any travel request and to beyond your expectaions. Check out is up until 12 noon Credit cards are accepted and are subject to a 3% service charge Cancellation policy is 48 hours before the day of arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing