We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service until the very end, worth more than the price”
Review of Hanoi City Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanoi City Hostel
Ranked #24 of 473 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We never had such good service in SE Asia as in this hostel. We arrived quite late (1:30am) with our sleeper bus and without a reservation the staff opened the door for us. The city was very dead at that time so we were very thankful just to get an answer after knocking on the locked entrance door. The rooms (we tried both Deluxe - 18$ and Superior - 16$) were spotless clean and well decorated. The bathroom had a proper bath and shower which is something rare in SE Asia. The rooms had good AC and thicker blankets if needed.

We slept very well in both beds and appreciated the included breakfast every day of our stay (3 nights). The nice waiter seemed to be really happy to work there even if his english was limited. He nicely stirred our coffee himself every time and had very good manners. The staff was so polite, friendly and helpful. They made an effort to learn our names and were very generous in providing advice and directions to help us plan our days. They offered to help us booking a trip to Halong Bay but we never felt pressured to buy their tour like we heard other hotels do. They booked our bus tickets to Sapa for a very good price including pickup. I asked for an extra towel for the room and they happily provided it for us. Their laundry service is cheap and very good too. WIFI connection was amazingly fast and efficient. My partner had to work online during our time here and never had a connection problem. Each floor has its own router so it makes it very efficient. They even havec two computers in the lobby for guests to use. The location of the hotel is perfect as we could walk anywhere. We could get free water refills downstairs to make up for the lack of bottles in the room.

The staff recommended a nice Spa to get my nails done and it included free taxi ride to get there. Good and cheap Spa beauty salon.

On our last day we had to take a bus around 6pm and the owner was very sweet to offer a free shower, use the dining room, tv and wifi for as long as we needed before leaving. We really appreciated it as we came back from walking around town very sweaty lol. Anna gave us free lemon juice and fruits on top of it. Couldn't have had a better service than that. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely be back here one day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelistraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 486 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed there twice, as I was really happy after the first 2 nights. The rooms are clean and spacious, Breakfast is very basic, but ok. Wifi for me did not work sometimes properly in some rooms, but just tell the staff. The price is definitely good value for all that.
The staff, especially Moon and Hannah are amazingly friendly, basically helped me with everything, directions, taxi, early check in, trains, trips...
Regarding that, on a side note: the Halong trip I booked through this Hostel was very good and for a fair price. There were some people on my boat who paid like 20 or 30% more. You'll probably hear or read a lot about scams and hassles regarding Halong trips, so if you want to be safe, just go through this one. But ask the driver not to stop for so long at those tourist traps on the way to and from Halong...
Back to the Hostel: strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

What a delightful little place in the Hanoi old quarter. The rooms are far better than what you would expect for the price, we paid £12 a night for a superior double room which was lovely. The beds are HUGE and very comfortable. We were booked in for 2 nights but stayed for 5 in total!

More importantly the staff are fantastic, Hannah and Moon in particular- incredibly helpful and lovely people. They could not help us enough, even when we were being very indecisive about our halong bay tour (which by the way was excellent, the Cristina Cruise organised by Hannah for us)!

A couple of suggestions- air con may need fixing as it never gets quite cold enough, and breakfast could be a little more varied (a lot of bread-although it was the best bread we had). Finally sometimes the lift is broken so would be worth fixing for people on the top level?

All in all a fantastic hotel, outstanding value for money and the nicest people as staff that we met in the whole of Hanoi. Thank you!

Sam & Giselle

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giselle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great place!! Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights during our stay in Vietnam. We were recommended the hostel by friends who had stayed there earlier. This was our first hostel and we didn't expect too much, but was happily surprised:) the rooms was big and clean with bathroom, a large bed, desk, tv and closet, and plenty floor space. We stayed in standard double room. The first day we arrived at 7am with the night train and the staff was kind and let us check in early. the staff was helpful with all our questions and posted our postcards++. They can also book trips for you, but we had already booked the halong bay cruise. Breakfast was ok, you could choose from a menu. At these prise you can't expect a buffet:) we will recommend this hostel to everyone, the location is good in the old quarter. This place was better than some hotels we stayed in in other cities in Vietnam:)
Norway

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Berit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I liked this place! Staff was super friendly and helpful, especially the guy who usually works the night shift. And while they did mention tours 2 or 3 times, they didn't really pester us to book something with them, which in the end we did anyway (Perfume Pagoda, pretty good).

The room was very nice, just the bathroom seemed a bit dated. But for that price I certainly won't complain, especially since a decent breakfast is included! I like the location, close to everything, but still rather quiet.

My only real gripe was the WiFi, the connection dropped all the time, which was rather annoying since we were trying to plan our trip through Vietnam a bit. I suppose it was better in the other room on our floor since the router was right in front of that door, but then you are facing a rather busy street, which I'd rather not. Also when we arrived with a booking, they wanted us to stay in their friend's hostel for one night since the occupants of one room hadn't returned from their trip as planned. Normally I wouldn't have minded, but since we just had a rather absurd move forced on us in Hong Kong 2 days earlier (see my review for Hong Kong City Guesthouse), we refused and they managed to find a solution in the end.

Room Tip: The 01 rooms on each floor seem to have better WiFi, while the 02 rooms don't face the big stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citizen428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The staff here are the highlight as they will do everything to make you comfortable and help you with the various idiosyncrasies of staying in Hanoi and booking trips. We stayed on the top floor with a large and very comfortable room.

The location is excellent as you are right in the middle of the most interesting and vibrant part of the city, the old quarter. There is a delicious street restaurant right on the corner of the street opposite the bank which does excellent beef dry noodle.

I would really recommend staying here for an authentic Hanoi experience.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor as the city is very noisy due to incessant horn honking by motorists and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed with my friend Tamara on three occasions in this hotel. The hotel itself was quite nice and clean but the best thing was the helpful staff. On the last day my friend and I run out of money and our cards got stolen so, since the hotel was fully booked and we didn't have money they let us stay at a friend's hotel for a very cheap price (they let us have breakfast in their hotel because their friend's didn't have any and they carried our bags to the other hotel!).

We would definitely stay again. Also, they are very helpful when booking trips and do everything for you (they bought us all the tickets to travel around Vietnam without getting commission).

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#2 of 473 in Hanoi
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Backpackers Hanoi
0.3 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#9 of 473 in Hanoi
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Traveller Hostel
Hanoi Traveller Hostel
#18 of 473 in Hanoi
305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
#19 of 473 in Hanoi
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi City Hostel

Address: 95B Hang Ga Street | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 473 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range: $16 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi City Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's situated in convenient location in the Hanoi old Quarter, it is very easy for you to go to Hoan Kiem Lake and some famous landcapes in Hanoi center. We offer many kinds of room like: Private Single, Private Twins, Private Doubles, and Triple and dorm room - decorated in modern style with the ELEVATOR. All rooms are well-equipped with: satellite TV, mini bar, air-conditioning,hair-dryer ,bathroom with bathtub and hot water 24hrs More ever, our friendly staff are well English speaking always willing to help you with recommending to you the good service any travel request and to beyond your expectaions. Check out is up until 12 noon Credit cards are accepted and are subject to a 3% service charge Cancellation policy is 48 hours before the day of arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hanoi City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing