We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Stay - Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
Ranked #10 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Second Stay - Excellent”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is my second stay at the Golden Sun Palace Hotel. The first time they went above and beyond to take care of me. This time was no different. Excellent room - clean, modern and tidy. Fantastic location right in the Old Quarter and exceptional help from the staff. Just wonderful indeed!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    70
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
163
425
96
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

What a pleasure it was to stay at the golden sun palace!we booked this hotel after reading great reviews on multiple sites and were not disappointed. When we arrived,our taxi was trying to rip us off but the staff there took acre of it so that we weren't taken advantage of. Bruce, the owner, was so friendly and helpful during our entire stay. The next day, he biked a ha long bay tour for us at a decent price. The room it's self was beautiful and we had no complaints- cold and hot water, as well as air conditioning worked perfectly. The included breakfast was great, with a lot of options. Also, the area is very centrally located (I hate walking too far and loved where we were). Lots of cheap (non-touristy) street food right around the hotel. Would definitely stay here if I came back!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Gypsyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed for three nights in August 2014. We were a bit suspicious when we arrived at the area, but the hotel was a very positive surprise. Helpful staff, the best breakfeast menu we had on the whole trip, clean and new rooms, cosy bed, new tv and working a/c. The price for three nights was the same as for one night in a nearby four star hotel, but the experience was at least the same. We will definately visit again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmohlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panay Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We are happy to sing the praises of this hotel. We had a wonderful five day stay there in room 603, a room which makes up the entire 6th floor of the hotel. It’s more of a suite than a room. It’s perfect for a family as it is very large, has two queen-sized beds and a comfortable sitting area with couches, split air conditioning and a decent bathroom. The room is very quiet because the windows open on to a light shaft illuminated by a skylight. It’s not claustrophobic as there are two windows and the room is huge.

The desk staff, Bruce and Flower will do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. If you want a restaurant reservation, they will make it for you. If you need a taxi, they will get a reliable one. Huong will greet you with a smile in the morning and serve you a very fine breakfast. The breakfast includes fresh fruit, fresh fruit juices, brewed coffee, yogurt and your choice of Western or Vietnamese dishes. All are good, but the Vietnamese choices (beef or chicken) crab soup, banh cuon (rice noodle roll) are as good as you will find in Hanoi. The service is five star.

Room Tip: Room 603 a room which makes up the entire 6th floor of the hotel. It’s more of a suite than a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Archipelago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel was the last stop on our itinerary and boy, did I feel pampered. Golden Sun has a chain of hotel services from the one next door to the backpacker hotel a few blocks down. They understand the service required and expected from foreigners. For the price we paid, the room and service we received was phenomenal. Price also included breakfast which was plenty to last until early afternoon. When we left for Ha Long Bay, they also stored luggage for us professionally, with luggage tags. Pickup and dropoff services at the airport very convenient and reasonably priced ($15-18). Ms Flower, Julia, and Bruce were very helpful with problems we had with the safe, local food places, and airport transfers.

Bring cash (USD or VND) to pay for your room! Credit card is accepted but includes a 2% surcharge. Be careful not to go to the Bun Cha place on 1 Hang Man - they charge tourists 90 vnd and locals 50 vnd for bun cha with spring rolls. Go to Bun Cha Nem Cua Be on 29 Cau Go instead - they charge 40 vnd for Bun Cha, no spring rolls. I recommend doing some research if you plan on eating at the food stalls, unless you don't mind being ripped off.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forgotten620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for five nights with side trips to Ha Long and Sapa. Great hotel great staff willing to do what ever is needed to make our stay in Hanoi perfect. From the train and airport pickup service to the quadruple glazed windows and rose petals on our bed. We rate the Golden Sun best hotel we have stayed in. A 3 star hotel that is really 5 star. Thank you Flower and Bruce. Located in Central Hanoi close walking to all to see and do.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlinp952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The staff at Golden Sun Palace Hotel were second to none. The rooms are to a high standard, good price and service is impeccable! The staff will go above and Beyond to make your stay enjoyable and will ensure you get the best out of your trip. Bruce especially made out trip, from organising our halong bay trip, to organising taxi's and even making us a packed up breakfast for our early morning departure (just so sweet)! You would be stupid to turn a blind eye to this hotel, they treat you like family and I shall definitely be returning! Thank you to all the staff....

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sthornton16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#4 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
#16 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Trendy Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi E Central Hotel
Hanoi E Central Hotel
#11 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sun Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sun Palace Hotel

Property: Golden Sun Palace Hotel
Address: 33 Hang Quat Street, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sun Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Golden Sun Palace !The brand new Golden Sun Palace just opened on 30th Dec, 2012Hanoi’s newest boutique hotel combine’s modern architecture and features with traditional Vietnamesestyle in 29 well appointed rooms. Located in the heart of the Hanoi Old Quarter on historic Hang QuatStreet, it is a short walk to the Night Market Hoan Kiem Lake, the Water Puppet Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golden Sun Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing