We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vietnamese delight”
Review of Cafe Lautrec

Cafe Lautrec
Ranked #201 of 2,240 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A stylish and contemporary Mediterranean style brasserie located in the heart of the French Quarter offering guests a splendidly unique and intimate dining environment.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
770 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Vietnamese delight”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had breakfast here on each of the three mornings of our stay and can definitely recommend the Pho Bo and Pho Ga - magnificent. The Café also provides an excellent variety of western style food to cater for everyone's needs. We also had lunch on one day and dinner one night that provided an array of choice. The meals we ate were wonderfully presented and extremely delicious. The staff, particularly Huyen and Lien, were fantastic and enhanced our dining experiences here even more.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Baylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    26
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“French-inspired Cafe in the French Quarter”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed in Hotel de L'Opera for 4 days, and part of our package included breakfasts at Cafe Lautrec. Breakfasts was a relaxing experience -- not much noise and human traffic you see in bigger hotels. The chairs in the cafe were very comfortable; the ones at the atrium were just as relaxing. The coffee and bread basket was something I look forward to every day. They also serve vietnamese dishes: pho (i had their pho for breakfast and dinners!), steamed meat in a bun, some stir-fried noodles and freshly-cooked rice wrap with meat. The pastries were really good and authentic (croissants, baguette, etc), and they also had different cheeses to serve.

For lunch, we tried the Risotto, the spring rolls and the stuffed duck... all of them tasted great!

I must say that the cost was not that bad too. It may be expensive if you are on a budget, but if you are thinking of pampering yourself, this would be the place to satisfy your appetite in the French Quarter.

As for the service, Vietnam has been known to have very friendly people... and the same can be said of the restaurant staff. They always have a smile on their faces and they're always ready to serve you and your dining needs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jollynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely Cafe in Great Location”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were staying at the Hotel de L'Opera and so made good use of the Cafe Lautrec while we were there. Great menu (for both breakfast and lunch), extensive wine list and great ambience. The cafe also leads into the atrium if you want a more al fresco feel.
The service was great and prices pretty reasonable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisamacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A French bistrot tucked away in old Hanoi.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Whenever we visit Hanoi, we make at least twwo visits to this delightful piece of Paris.
The food is superb, the ambience perect and the service professional. Make it part of your Hanoi experience.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank journeywoman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Diverse menu”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Excellent menu with great choices reasonably priced. Brilliant service. The decor is fantastic! Very prompt service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JDMGeelongAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Lautrec also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Lautrec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing