We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maison D'Hanoi Boutique Hotel
Ranked #200 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and I had made reservations at the Maison D'Hanoi Hanova Hotel where we have stayed several times before. This time on arrival we were told that we could not stay due to some issues at the hotel. However, we would be accommodated at this sister hotel which is relatively new. To make up for our change of venue we were upgraded from a Hanova Deluxe room to a Boutique Suite room. We were also given a voucher for a set menu meal at the hotel restaurant. This seemed to be a good deal. On being shown to our room we were quite disappointed at the size. It is definitely not a suite as we would have expected. The bed takes up most of the room and even the shower room is quite small. The room did benefit from a small balcony overlooking the street. There is a good size wardrobe but no drawers for small items and nowhere to store luggage. The shower room does not have anywhere to hang wet towels.

We took advantage of the dinner voucher on the first evening. The food was in fact very good. Unfortunately, the "restaurant" is actually tables on one side of a thoroughfare to 2 of the 3 lifts in the building. From certain tables you can also see the toilets reflected in the mirrors.Whilst we were eating a large party came through which spoilt the meal for us as they were quite intrusive. The "restaurant" is also where breakfast is served. We really enjoyed the breakfast experience at the Hanova because the chef had a unique way of cooking omelettes and other dishes. Also we remember there being better choices.

Finally, the street noise in the room at night was quite loud. As this is a newish hotel why no double glazing?

We appreciate that the hotel had issues but we were very disappointed that our favourite hotel in Vietnam was not available to us. We also know that we are going against previous opinions about this hotel but having experienced the Hanova we much prefer that hotel.

Room Tip: In our opinion calling the room we were in a Suite is a misnomer. It was just a Deluxe room. No kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff_motueka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisondHanoi, General Manager at Maison D'Hanoi Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Jeff_Motueka,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at Maison D’Hanoi Boutique Hotel .

We would sincerely like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us . We have taken a serious view of these matters and We will try to fix and maintain it .

We certainly appreciate your support and look forward to continuing welcoming you back to Maison D’Hanoi Hanova Hotel in the further.

Best regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 385 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Hotel is perfectly situated right mid in Hanoi Old Quarter. We stayed here in total 8 nights, divided by our trips to Sapa and Halong Bay. Every time we checked in, we felt like this was like coming home. Extremely friendly staff, good housekeeping, average breakfast and average WIFI.

Basic rooms are small and some don't have windows. We stayed in 3 different rooms. Wish we had known about the street view deluxe rooms, then we definitely had upgraded. Beds are extremely good and bathroom clean and nice decorated.

If you need to buy food, drinks, medical go dining we recomand nearby Hang Bo street just behind the hotel. Big supermarket is Intimex by the lake with affordable prices on wines.

Only negative thing is, they charge us 25 USD for late checkout (6.30 PM) when we can book a room for only 35 USD for the whole night including breakfast.....

Will defintely come back, but will book Deluxe street view rooms next time.

Room Tip: Basic rooms are small and some don't have windows. We stayed in 3 different rooms. Wish we had k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisondHanoi, General Manager at Maison D'Hanoi Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Mr. Peter H,

Thank you for taking the time to share the recent experience you have had at Maison D’Hanoi Hotels. I am pleased to hear that you appreciated the friendliness of the staff, the comfort of your room as well as our central Hanoi location.

We also take care your feedback about late check out fee .

We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was amazing value for money. The rooms were comfortable with great aircon and good wifi. The breakfasts were very pleasant. The staff were so lovely and very helpful and there was always someone with good English on duty.
The location is right in the old quarter which is an experience in its self and we walked all over the city from here.
This was the by far the best hotel in our 2 week stay!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms in this hotel are quite small and some don't have a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisondHanoi, General Manager at Maison D'Hanoi Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Liz C,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at Maison D’Hanoi Boutique Hotel . I am very pleased to hear about your general satisfactory experience at our hotel and your kind words are most gratifying and have been shared with the whole team. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

Thank you very much and best regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great hotel utilising incredibly clever design to make the most of such a tiny space. Rooms are compact but so exceptionally well laid out that they don't feel small.

We stayed in a deluxe room and wanted for nothing. Right in the heart of the old quarter.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiscoSaysNeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our family of 3 spent a total of 5 nights here. The staff were very helpful when it came to storing our suitcases during our trips to Halong Bay & Sapa. We always had a room overlooking the street, which allowed for a lot of natural light & a bit more traffic noise. A good base for exploring the Old Quarter sights and sounds & a comfortable retreat when we needed to rest & recharge our batteries after dodging the traffic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisondHanoi, General Manager at Maison D'Hanoi Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

May 16, 2013
Dear Ms. Diana H,

Thank you for taking the time to share the recent experience you have had at Maison D’Hanoi Boutique Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you appreciated the friendliness of the staff . We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel

Thank you and best reagrds,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A group of 5 couples stayed at the hotel in early April. Thanks to the previous Tripadvisor reviews, we booked deluxe rooms, which meant that we had external views. The Superior rooms only have windows to the corridor which means no natural light to the rooms.
The rooms were lovely, very comfortable and far from cramped. The restaurant was great for breakfast, though the choice of food available was quite limited. 8 of us had an evening meal at the hotel on our last night, wish we had eaten elsewhere - the food and service was very ordinary. Normally meals are delivered at generally the same time; this one had meals coming out nearly 20 minutes after others had received theirs.
The location in the old quarter was excellent, we felt very comfortable walking around the streets and eating out. There was plenty of options in regards to shopping in the area, and a leisurely trip on a cyclo is a great way to see the sights. The night markets were only a couple of blocks away.
Had some great value shopping as well- my iPad had a broken screen; was quoted nearly $300 to replace in Perth, cost $70 a block away from the hotel. Even if I was charged double to locals rate, it was still good value. The street vendors, store owners and staff were all friendly and helpful, and best of all not too pushy.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustT0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaisondHanoi, General Manager at Maison D'Hanoi Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Austourist,

It was a real pleasure reading such positive a feedback as yours and I thank you for that.

I will pass on your kind words to my teams which will serve as an encouragement to all of them to keep on providing high standard of services to all of our guests.

We look forward to your next visit to Maison D’Hanoi Hanova Hotels

Thank you and best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent 5 nights here including 1 night at Halong bay. It is wthin easy striking distance of the old quarter, attractions and restaurants, the room was adequate but had no outside window. The staff were very professional and friendly. The breakfasts are a combination viet and western, so it would suit all tastes. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0 mi away
Hanoi Space Hotel
Hanoi Space Hotel
#33 of 607 in Hanoi
295 reviews
0 mi away
Hanoi La Suite Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Nostalgia Hotel
Hanoi Nostalgia Hotel
#189 of 607 in Hanoi
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel
Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel
#170 of 607 in Hanoi
282 reviews
0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel Hanoi
Pavilion Hotel Hanoi
#224 of 607 in Hanoi
28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Merci Hotel
Hanoi Merci Hotel
#185 of 607 in Hanoi
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison D'Hanoi Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison D'Hanoi Boutique Hotel

Address: 37 35, Ma May Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Maison D'Hanoi Hanova 2 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $33 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison D'Hanoi Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAISON D'HANOI BOUTIQUE HOTEL- An Excellent New 3 Star plus Hotel is located in center of the Hanoi Old Quarter and Hoan Kiem lake. Conveniently within walking distance to the legendary Hoan Kiem Lake, the famous Water Puppet Theatre, Joseph Saint Cathedral, Ngoc Son Temple, the ever bustling Dong Xuan central market and Hanoi Old Quarter with 36 famous streets. You can have easy access to restaurants, bars, shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison D'Hanoi Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing