We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and a lovely stay..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Art Hotel
Ranked #5 of 565 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great staff and a lovely stay..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed a total of 4 nights on 2 separate occasions - the first three nights in an inside room and another night in an street-facing room. The first 3 nights stay comes with a free car pickup from the airport and I also opted for the hotel to drop me off at the airport. This proved to be hassle free, may cost 18USD but the car is clean and the drive to and fro from the airport, very comfortable.

The hotel located in the old quarters, about 5 to 10 mins to the lake and many good restaurants and food located nearby. It is sited at a small street so taxis may have difficulties locating the hotel. Because of its location, it is quieter and a little oasis should I want to get out of the hustle and bustle of the city.

Both the rooms I stayed in are very spacious and clean and they are on the second floor. The photos on the website are an accurate representation of the rooms. The inside room is definitely quieter in the afternoon. If you are light sleeper, I recommend rooms on higher floors, as I can hear people talking at reception and at breakfast. I am especially particular about the toilets and bathrooms. Separate shower and toilet to separate wet and dry areas.. Very good water pressure but the drainage in both toilets are slow. The exhaust system for one of the toilets is either not existent or it malfunctioned during my stay. The toilet floor remained wet throughout my 1 night stay. It was not a big concern as I only need the room for one night.. I would otherwise be uncomfy as I hate wet toilet floors..

The beds are extremely comfortable - white clean sheets, warm comforters and soft pillows. I have many good night sleeps. The rooms are all well equipped with an AC, LCD TV, a laptop, an safe, brolly, bathrobes and slippers. Tea, coffee and fruits and little pastries are placed on the bedside table every evening.. Such amenities are available in only 4 or 5 star hotels so was pleasantly surprised..

But the biggest pleasure I have in staying in this hotel is the staff and the level of excellence in the service.. Unlike the 4/5 star hotels I stayed in Bangkok and HK, I was addressed by my name or my surname, even after returning from trips to Halong Bay and Sapa. The service staff are very attentive and what impresses me most is their follow-up skills - requests or enquiries made to staff working in evening shifts are passed on to the staff working in morning shifts and vice versa..

I booked my Halong Bay trip via the hotel and on that day where I made my booking, the winds picked up and ships could not go to the bay and trips were cancelled. I was given updates of the weather at a couple of hours interval. I was amused and yet I felt reassured. People I travelled with to Halong Bay had not even heard that the previous day's cancellation.

I arrived into Hanoi late and did not have any VND. I was expecting the hotel to have money changing facilities but they don't. Instead I was offered some VND which they put in my bill.. This flexibility and service is deeply appreciated..

On both trips back to the hotel from Halong Bay and Sapa, I was offered the use of a clean bathroom and laptops and as soon as the room is available, I was able to check in.

Each night's stay comes with breakfast - Order the omelette, that's really good..

All in all, I had a great stay. Thanks to Yen, Kathy, Eva and Phi for making my stay comfortable.. Should I make my way back to this city, I will not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, choose inside rooms on the higher floor... If you want to see a little a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colours49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    171
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
208
608
133
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The whole family loved this hotel. They were well-organised when it came to hotel pick-ups and drop- offs. The rooms were clean, with the ones at the back being quieter. The family room was a bit of a squish for four, but our kids didn't mind, because they loved the place. Laptops are provided in the rooms, as are bathrobes, torches, sandals, umbrellas, a hair dryer and a late night snack.
The rooms are outfitted with quality fittings. The showers are superb.
The breakfasts were the best we have had in Vietnam. The quality of the ingredients was second-to-none and the choice was extensive without being ridiculous.
The staff were friendly and helpful. I also loved the staircase banisters.
The only down-sides were the Hanoi noise and the maps provided are not the most easy to follow.
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fujisawa-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Spent three nights here in mid-December. The hotel is located in the old city section of Hanoi. The district is a fantastic place for the adventurous traveler who is willing to explore and try new things. Amidst the hustle and bustle of the area, the hotel offers a very quite respite from the noise. The rooms are clean and nicely appointed with amenities. The best part is the staff. Everyone was cheerful and quite helpful. They even planned an Xmas Party for people staying in the hotel. A very comfortable three nights in a convenient location to see Hanoi. While a small establishment compared to the large (generic) hotel conglomerates, the quality of the staff and hotel are hints of Vietnam's potential. I would be very happy to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We loved everything about it: the great location (in the middle of the hectic Old quarter but in a more quiet side street), the unbelievably friendly staff, the modern and clean room, the nice breakfast selection, etc.
We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Hanoi (which hopefully will be soon again because we really enjoyed this fascinating city).
Thanks again to the lovely staff for their help and smiles, very much appreciated!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VadeRetroChocolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed in Art Trendy hotel for 5 nights in Dec 2012. The hotel is located in a small quiet street in Old Quarter, very close to all interesting places in Hanoi. Rooms are new and very clean! Hotel staff is friendly and very very helpful. They helped us to organize different kind of things...train tickets, excursions etc. Special thanks to Phi! Definitely a good choice if you are looking for a quality hotel in Hanoi at a reasonable price. We had a very pleasant stay there and we would like to recommend Art Trendy hotel as the first choice for staying in Hanoi. We will come again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jelica v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I stayed at.

Staff were friendly and prompt to my email questions and arranged a personal pick up from the airport to the hotel. Once we reached, they offered us towels, fresh juice and fruits while they did the check-in. Room was more than what we expected for the price. Everything was clean, bed was comfortable, toilet was new and clean, hot water was always available. Staff also offered us a list of places/things to do/eat they did up based on real customer feedback. They gave us advice on what cabs to take, and would call cabs for us, and offered to help us handle any disputes with overcharging cabbies.

On Christmas eve, they even organised a christmas party for the guests which was very very nice.

Truly, the hotel staff made our trip really pleasant. Definitely going back and recommending any other people to do so.

James and pat from Singapore

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aborealis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

My partner and I arrived at Hanoi on 13 Dec. Our itinerary was such that we would go to Sapa (13-16 Dec) and Halong Bay (17-18 Dec) before going back to Hanoi proper for three days, where we stayed at Art Trendy. There was no problem leaving our luggage at the hotel and the staff offered us free use of the shower facility both when we arrived on 13 Dec and on 17 Dec, which was very welcome since we had just spent the night on a sleeper train. The staff knew our names (and I didn't manage to get theirs!) and were friendly and helpful. They helped us with our laundry and call for a taxi to the airport.

Location-wise, it's a bit further from the lake/centre of activity than other hotels, but after the first night we realised that it was good because it was quieter. (I stayed on the fourth floor)

I liked that the room had an umbrella, a weighing machine (useful for weighing luggage!) and a laptop. Towels and toiletries were replaced daily, which I thought weren't very environmentally friendly but certainly good from the cleanliness point of view. Also liked that they gave two pillows per person. The pillows were very fluffy which I loved, but my partner thought they were too thick.

Oh, and the breakfast. I recommend the mixed omelette (no.8 I believe). I ordered it every day! It was delish stuffed into a baguette. Loved that they had different fresh fruit juices every day too and fresh cut fruit.

Would definitely recommend Art Trendy Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#13 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Art Hotel

Property: Golden Art Hotel
Address: 6A Hang But Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam (Formerly Art Trendy Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 565 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Art Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
uests with shopping Night Market (every friday to sunday) and banking facilities.We also offer all room with air conditioned,in room computer connect with wireless,desk, minibar and 24 hour room service. A convenient place of stay Golden Art Hotel it is Welcome to Golden Art Hotel Hanoi.A brand new hotel that opening 01st October 2012 features 25 luxurious rooms and suites. We offer convenience to our guests by providing elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a 3 star hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Very Quiet Street of Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately few minutes walk to Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show and about 20 minutes by walk to Ho Chi Minh mausoleum.Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions,convenient for good choice for couple,twin and familias travelers who like quite place to stay in Hanoi Old Quarter.We are young, professional staff who have a lot of experience in hospitality field, and we are friendly, easy going people, always listen and try to answer all of your questions, try to give you best things from our knowledge and understanding. An exceptional that has drawn much praise and repeat business Please come and find for your self why we are the first choice in Hanoi centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing