We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great staff”
Review of Skylark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Skylark Hotel
Ranked #114 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I don't normally bother writing hotel reviews, but with the Skylark I will definitely make an exception. After considerable time spent researching options for a Hanoi base from which to launch several legs of our North Vietnam trip, I chose the Skylark hotel and hoped for the best. 5 minutes walk from the old quarter but far enough removed from the madness, it seemed perfect. For once, our experiences exceeded our expectations. We stayed in 3 different rooms, and all were excellent. Clean, well appointed, exactly as described, and amazingly even appeared bigger than in the pictures for once and not magnified by some sort of trick photography. The rooftop pool, although small was a little oasis and great for families with kids, the food was nice and prices reasonable. The best part, however was the one thing you can't capture in a review.... the staff. Without exception the staff were excellent - however, especially worthy of mention was Ngyuen Thi Mai on the front desk who beamed and welcomed us like family every time we returned, helped us with phone calls, taxis and advice and the doorman who greeted us every day and took our side when the only taxi driver who tried to inflate our fare tried it on and sent him packing by defending his guests. 10/10 guys. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in 806, 801 and 701. All were very good, 806 at the front was definitely the best room, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 484 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel is a good location with lots of places to eat close by. It had it's little maintenance faults but the staff were quick to address any issues asap. It cannot be described as a swimming pool.

What makes this hotel is the care and attention of the staff. All are friendly and welcoming with a 'nothing is too much bother' attitude. Special mention should go to Mai. She not only gives good, expert and professional advice but goes beyond the call of duty to make you feel welcome always greeting you with a smile. They obviously work hard on their customer care and service.

I really felt like it was my home from home and would stay there again. I stayed on two seperate accossions this trip.

Room Tip: Rooms prices can be negotiated r even upgraded dependent on the length of your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We hopped on and off the hotel throughout our northern Vietnam itinerary and we were so impressed with the service. The staff always remembered us, were very helpful and warm, and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable, including finding somewhere for us to shower after we checked out, before our train.

The location is ideal, just outside and walking distance from the center of Old Quarter, but a lot quieter. The breakfast was better than I expected, and the cleanliness of the entire hotel was quite impressive.

Very good option!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Novivedeensalada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the Skylark hotel in Hanoi on 3 occasions. First for few days to visit Hanoi, then on our return from Sapa visit and another time on our return from Halong Bay trip. Have to say this hotel was excellent. Staff excellent and friendly, especially Ms Mai, she was FOM and Mr Tung, the doorman.The hotel manager was also very attentive and helpful. Room was great. Had executive room each stay which is at front of hotel with nice big window overlooking park and street. Bed comfy, Great position, just near old Quarter and market. Only few minutes walking. Would recommend this hotel when visiting Hanoi.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank kassi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is the first trip of our group in Hanoi and we got this hotel as the company strongly recommended it. The hotel is actually very good. the location is great which is around some minutes walking from the night market and the nice shopping area surrounding.
The hotel room is really fantastic. We got all the space we need even for the one with 3 persons in a room. The lovely girls down at the lobby and breakfast really brought a friendly emotion to us. The breakfast is also nice with many choices but there is a small matter of the crowd and the rush hour everyday.

Room Tip: The hotel has a good swimming pool on the top with good view. We was told that this is one of the fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I checked into this hotel as my other friends were going on a 3 day trip to nearby islands and as I wasnt feeling great I decided to check myself into a nice hotel and omg I sure made the right choice when picking this hotel!! The room was just amazing, spotlessly clean and so spacious!! The rooms look exactly like the ones in the pictures and the service from the staff is great even though they dont have much english! Room service was lovely and the breakfast buffet is just class with so much selection and a chef there to freshly cook you any kind of eggs you want!! Not cheap but not too expensive for what you get!!
Would highly reccomend this hotel!!!

Room Tip: I went for a superior room and think they are the quietest along with the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for a night after travelling back from Halong Bay. The bedroom and bathroom was spacious and clean. The hotel was within walking distance to to Don Xuang market and night market.

The only downside is they do not provide spa services in their hotel. They only offered 1 free taxi ride to the spa centre.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serene_yap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.7 mi away
The Light Hotel
The Light Hotel
#103 of 607 in Hanoi
203 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Lapis Hotel
The Lapis Hotel
#55 of 607 in Hanoi
263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silk Queen Grand Hotel
Silk Queen Grand Hotel
#137 of 607 in Hanoi
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#101 of 607 in Hanoi
580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#73 of 607 in Hanoi
1,736 reviews
0.6 mi away
May de Ville Old Quarter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skylark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skylark Hotel

Address: 15 Phan Dinh Phung Str,, Ba Dinh Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $44 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skylark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skylark Hotel is located on Phan Dinh Phung street which is considered one of the most beautiful streets in Hanoi and attracts many tourists visit. Here, you not only admire the unique of ancient architecture, but also immersed in a lush green space, filled with trees. Walking along the street, watching falling yellow leaves, hear the church bells make your heart has many feelings. In addition to the 50 elegantly appointed rooms and suites, our Skylark restaurant and stylist X Bar are privilege places for any meeting at any moment of the day. The Skylark Health Club featuring with the unique roof-top indoor pool and the most up-to-date equipped gymnasium in Hanoi will give you the best possible conditions for complete well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Skylark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing