We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #135 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Convenient location, clean rooms”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed in Lan Vien Hotel for a night as part of our packaged tour.

Good points:
- Good location, short walk (~5-10min) from the south end of hoan kiem lake and the old quarter
- Has other nearby food locations such as Quan An Ggon (around 10 min walk)
- Spacious and clean rooms
- Provided 2 small bottles of complimentary mineral water for guests

Bad points:
- Did not sleep well due to the on and off noise coming from the mini bar fridge (probably needs some servicing?) Could not inform the hotel staff about it as we were staying for only 1 night and checked out early the next morning.
- Poor lighting in the room. The room was really dim even with all the table lamps and lights on.. Our single room window was also facing the inside of the building with no natural lighting in the day

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yluah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    119
    26
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
76
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on business. Stayed in one of the suites. The room was clean and spacious. This is a local hotel and offers functionality with minimal luxury. This is not a 5 star hotel nor part of an international chain and one should not expect similar levels of service nor facilities. It is however in a good location and near my meeting venues. Food-wise, breakfast was satisfactory with both local and western fare, but on the night of my arrival, I tried getting some dinner but the restaurant was "closed" (lights off) despite being well within operating hours. The hotel is also at a busy traffic junction and traffic noise can get to you at times. Overall, for the price, this is a decent option for business trips.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FullRatchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinjang
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I strongly Recomend to people who visits VIETNAM. Me and my friends stay in 3 rooms and all of us are happy with all the services. It is located in the center of town, with sound proof high quality window fittings. Morning buffet lots of local food and French bread

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brokeguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Lan Vien hotel was a pleasant surprise for us. It's right in the middle of Hanoi, and 2 blocks from the Hoan Kiem Lake. There is lots to eat and shop around the hotel, and there's an upscale mall with a food court a block north of the hotel (you really can't miss it). Don't be intimidated by the upscale (i.e. Prada, Cartier) shops on the ground floor, the shops get cheaper and less intimidating as you go up the floors. Apart from the 5 star hotels, you will notice that this is one of the few hotels with a "driveway", which makes it infinitely safer and easier to get in and out of whatever transportation you have arranged.

If you've never been to Vietnam, the traffic can be a little scary, but the traffic crossings by the hotel weren't too bad.

We stayed here before and after our Halong Bay cruise, and we experienced 2 types of rooms here. There is a bigger room and a smaller one. Both have the same quality of furnishings and both are clean and modern, it is purely a difference in size and the existence of a balcony. Our first experience was with the smaller room, which did not face the busy street. The room was small but at least it was quiet. The larger room that we had probably had an extra 20 square feet spread between the room and the bathroom and had a balcony facing north. The view was nice, but with all the constant honking in Vietnam, not sure if it was worth the extra space.

There is free wifi internet in the hotel, and speeds were fast enough for basic emailing and web browsing.

The hotel has a fitness center on the top floor, but it is not air conditioned (or at least they didn't turn the AC on). Unless you go at night and open the patio doors, this may be unbearable. They do have a rooftop patio that opens from the gym, which provides a great view when working out.

Breakfast was included in our stay, and the food was high quality, with many fruits and also hot foods. Definitely try the Pho station when you are here! The coffee here at the breakfast (and in all the other hotels in Vietnam) is by far the best I've ever had at a hotel, and is probably all French pressed.

We also enjoyed dinner here one night and the food was very reasonably priced and quite delicious. Then again, I can't imagine finding expensive food in Vietnam.

The hotel also offers money changing service, and the rate wasn't too much of a ripoff, and quite convenient when arriving late at night.

The hotel only gave us one keycard to access our room, and many hotels in asia require you to stick your card in the wall to get electricity and Air Conditioning. When you check in, most probably the room will be quite warm, bring along a library card, or something non-essential and stick that in the wall while you go out for the evening so your room can cool down by the time you get back.

Room Tip: if you want quiet, go for an inside (smaller) room. Otherwise brave the noise but be rewarded with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0eus0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Myself and my three boys stayed here for three nights on two short trips to Hanoi in Atari around North Vietnam. You cannot fault the rooms they are large, extremely clean and with a full compliment of amenities including good quality towels. Breakfast was a limited but more than adequate particularly if you stuck with the local breakfast if noodles. Only downside is that it is about a 15minute of walk from the old quarter. Also it is next to a very hip new night club which can lead to some noise pollution. But all in all very very good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Lan Vien Hotel was a short walk from the southern end of the lake Ho Hoan Kiem. Traffic noise was quite noticeable but that will apply anywhere in Hanoi.
The room was really nice, very clean and had a large bathroom.
Breakfast was excellent, with a really good view from the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldandrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We only stayed one night in Hanoi and we loved it here. Small problem when we got in as there was a little smell in the bathroom. One phonecall and 3 minutes later, they moved us to another room that was even bigger. You can easily walk from here to the lake and old town for visits or dinner. Breakfast was ok but very Vietnamese although you could always find something Western. Take a backside room if you want to avoid any traffic noise or a room that is on a higher floor to have less noise but still enjoy the thousands moto's crossing the roads.

Room Tip: Higher floors give you less street noise. No street noise in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Silk Path Boutique Hanoi
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Hotel
Hanoi Hotel
#265 of 580 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoa Binh Hotel
Hoa Binh Hotel
#330 of 580 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Conifer Boutique Hotel
Conifer Boutique Hotel
#100 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
#339 of 580 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
#109 of 580 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi

Property: Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
Address: 32 Hang Bai / 37A Ly Thuong Kiet Street, | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing