We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, well located.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #125 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, well located.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had two separate stays at the Lan Vien hotel either side of a trip to Ha Long Bay. The second experience much better than the first. On our first visit the room smelt bad - blocked drain smell. This wasn't rectified by the time we left, we were also on the 10th floor (despite room confirmation of 9th floor) under the restaurant and this was noisy in the mornings due to the furniture noise above. On our second stay (8th floor) no noise from above and the smokey smell in our room was addressed immediately. This hotel is close to the end of the lake opposite to the old quarter. It's about a 15 minute walk. This was meant to be quieter but it still was very noisy from traffic beeping but helped by the windows which are double glazed. Rooms are very large, clean and comfortable. The shower in our room was over the bath but leaked badly on to the floor. Service was better once our agent intervened to have our issues addressed. In summary: clean, comfortable, well located.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    117
    24
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
72
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel room is good and large, with wooden floor. Very clean. The front staff very friendly and accomodative for any complain. I got a smoking room that smell quite bad, and when I complain about it, they refreshed the room very good. No smell left when I came later. The free wifi is super fast at 6th floor.
Beware of night club next door. It is quite noisy for the room on lower level. Also the traffic noise could be bother you for the room on the road side.
The location is good, walking distance to hoan kiem lake and the old quarter for cheap shopping. Street seller selling cheap bag and wallet are also easily find in front of the hotel in the morning or at night.
Breakfast is standard. The breakfast room is quite small for a big hotel like this.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, ask a room on the inside (not the road side) and on higher level. Of course, this...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank h35ti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The service provided by the staff from Lan Vien Hotel is simply wonderful. From the Bell Boy to the Front Desk to the breakfast servers, they make you feel welcomed at all times. The ladies behind the Front Desk are extremely friendly and speak very good English, hence asking for information is a breeze.

The rooms are very well maintained (and rightly so for a new hotel), although the lighting in the rooms can be a bit dim given the lack of ceiling lights.

Location wise, it is just two streets off Hoan Kiem Lake, making it very convenient to get to the main tourist area. However, the disco next door can be distracting to the light sleeper, especially if the rooms are on the lower floors (2nd to 5th). Thus, do ask for higher floors (6th to 9th) if available. (Avoid the 10th floor, too, as it is just below the breakfast restaurant and can get quite noisy during breakfast hours).

Definitely a hotel I will be going back to and worth considering for any visitor to Hanoi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hewylett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This Hotel is close to everything and a little away as well. Night club next door makes it a little noisy until midnight then it closes. Not that bad though. Bars and Restaurants near by. Good Breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bex, Switzerland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a Deluxe room at Lan Vien hotel, where we stayed for 4 nights in Ferbruary 2013.
The hotel was great, a little noisy due to traffic but it was OK.
The staff were very nice and helpful.
The breakfast was the best on our Asia tour with many choice, european and asian foods.
We can only recommend this hotel and look forward to come back whenever we will be back in Hanoi.

Room Tip: Select rooms not directly exposed to the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This Property was great all around. The rooms are beautiful, with red colored wood throughout, floors, furniture, built-in cabinetry. The bathroom was all marble/ stone, and the tub was great for a soak after a long day of walking. Breakfast started at 6AM and sure was good, including both western foods and local vietnamese dishes/ PHO. Hien on the wait staff had great english. The restaurant is on the top floor with nice light and views. I was surprised with the street noise despite my being on the 6th floor, but I immediately got used to it and slept just fine. The streets go quiet from 1AM-4AM. The location is close to the lake for morning walks, and really close to everything for exploring the city and surrounds.

Room Tip: Not sure what to say, I think my room was typical and it was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel was quite a surprise. It seems quite new, nothing worn looking about it at all. The rooms are very nice, although a little dark if the sun isn't shining brightly and at night the lighting is very subdued, resulting in pockets of darkness making it difficult to see detail.
It is very clean, the breakfast spread substantial and the staff are friendly. Location is also good. Best to ask for a high room away from the lifts as it can be a bit noisy for light sleepers.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfreak2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Silk Path Boutique Hanoi
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Hotel
Hanoi Hotel
#281 of 578 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoa Binh Hotel
Hoa Binh Hotel
#301 of 578 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Conifer Boutique Hotel
Conifer Boutique Hotel
#101 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
#380 of 578 in Hanoi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
#107 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi

Property: Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi
Address: 32 Hang Bai / 37A Ly Thuong Kiet Street, | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lan Vien Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing