We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are two Violet Hotels avoid Violet 2 37A Hang Thung Street”
Review of Violet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Violet Hotel
Ranked #351 of 623 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“There are two Violet Hotels avoid Violet 2 37A Hang Thung Street”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were conned on the price and once in were to lazy to move. Violet 2 is at 37A Hang Thung Street, This hotel will vary its price and will blatantly lie about its rates. The best rooms on the front vary from $24 for four persons to $30 for two, breakfast included.
The male staff are from Faulty Towers but are even worse.
My photos would not load, they would have shown a bathroom that would fail a health inspection, the rooms are OK but the toilets bathroom and balcony's are disgusting. .
Breakfast is ultra basic.
Avoid or negotiate a deal at half price. Not for couples who cannot overlook the poorest cleaning efforts I have seen in 3 trips and over 13 weeks in Vietnam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lloyd p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    6
    11
    42
See reviews for
2
32
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I'm shocked to see the bad reviews for this place! For the price this hotel is in a great location in Hanoi, the staff are super friendly and go out of their way to help, they offer great deals for halong bay (always haggle to save a few dollars wherever you book) plus you get a good breakfast and a clean room. Great value for money, especially for backpackers!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manonanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Ripped us off by $70 US on the halong bay cruise went on a different boat than booked. Room had mould and cigarettes all through it. Hotel staff are useless and unfriendly I would recommend this place to my worst enemy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezandshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Kunming
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We got a room for $15 including breakfast , eggs, bread, tea or coffee.

We were very happy with the room although very small it was all we needed and so close to the old quarter and the lake.

The staff were friendly to us...they did try get us to book Halong bay.. But From reading other reviews on trip advisor and because of the weather conditions we decided not to go at all.
So we can not comment on the travel agents in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonaKonaTron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

we stayed in 2nights , the guy try to sell halong for us over price.
Room are very poor, not confortable at all, very hot, bad clean and let mosquitos and bugs in. So is impossible to be in the room. This was the worst place in my 2day vacations in Vietnam and one of the must expensive one.
Many hotel around for good choice and same price

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 187david12345187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Worst hotel I've ever been too. Beds are horrible, mould all over the wall, one of the guys at the counter was rude and reluctant to giving us the aircon remote. We went on an overnight trip to halong bay which was canceled, so we went back to get a refund (which we were told that we were entitled to). Another guy at reception, pretended he didn't know the tour was canceled, and that he didn't have anyone's number to call, even though he was calling them the day before and it was his companies tour. So he ended up getting away with more of our money, and tried to charge us for things that were actually free.
I would recommend NEVER EVER EVER go to this hotel, they are extremely rude and the rooms are horrible. Get your money worth somewhere else, this place isn't worth a dime.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We were approached by the owner on the street as we arrived back from Halong Bay. The room was very spacious and clean for $25. So we agreed to stay 3 nights and told the owner so.
Coming back into the hotel that evening the owner was showing some prospective guests rooms and suspiciously had our room key in his hand. The next morning we were asked to move rooms as ours was booked.
We complained that if that was indeed the case he should have told us before we took the room and we got a long winded bogus excuse.
The hotel is worth staying at but do not organise anything through the owner.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianRachelIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Royal View Hotel
Hanoi Royal View Hotel
#329 of 592 in Hanoi
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#142 of 592 in Hanoi
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Bella Rosa Hotel
Hanoi Bella Rosa Hotel
#23 of 623 in Hanoi
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Bella Rosa Suite Hotel
0.0 mi away
Stork Hostel
Stork Hostel
#86 of 385 in Hanoi
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Violet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Violet Hotel

Property: Violet Hotel
Address: 18 Cau Go Str., Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 623 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Violet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Violet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing