We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy with my stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Barbara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santa Barbara Hotel
Ranked #262 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy with my stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

More than happy with my stay here. The location just outside the 'Old Quarter' was great, and made walking to a lot of places of interest relatively easy.The staff were friendly and helpful, the buffet breakfast was more than adequate and the rooms were comfortable. I did not find noise a problem at all as mentioned in some other reviews. There did seem to be a problem with reliable hot water, but due to it being very hot and humid, cool showers were quite ok. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
11
21
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for a few nights and had no problems whatsoever. The rooms are fine, nice and clean. Our room overlooked the busy main road but I had no problem sleeping as noise levels within the room weren't bad at all. The only meal I ate in the hotel was breakfast, buffet style, not brilliant but ok. Any staff that I spoke to or had to deal with we're very friendly and willing to help in any way they could. I would stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toekneeallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Good location but sorry to say this was the worst of the 5 hotels we stayed in whilst visiting Vietnam by some margin. The staff were very friendly and did their best to solve the issues we had. Room smelt incredibly musty/mouldy and was small. We moved to a bigger room but it still smelt awful.Maybe it was due to the typhoon a few days previous to our stay...The lift didn't work but was fixed within a day. Loud music was piped through the corridors at 7am, but turned off when someone complained. We tried to organise a late check out or somewhere to shower but were told that would cost 10 dollars each despite others in our party getting this service for free (may have been language difficulties or due to the manager standing by and speaking though the receptionist) Breakfast was a chaotic experience too. This is the first negative review I've ever had to write but hope others have a more positive experience if you stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AandH17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was disappointed with the noise outside our room, there was a local outdoor bar just across the road from the hotel and it was so noisy at night you could not sleep at all until it closed.
The rooms were big but quite tired. The bathrooms were pretty good. Wifi would drop out constantly in the hotel room so you had to go down the the foyer to use it properly.
Breakfast was ok, the first morning we stayed there we had to wait to get a table. After that morning we were fine. The Pho was really nice.
The hotel was in a good location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taffy29Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights & would definitely stay again when in Hanoi again. The location was perfect for all areas. The rooms were large, clean & everything worked! The staff were fantastic - from arranging airport pickup, assisting us with places we wanted to go to, items we wished to purchase. When we arrived back at the end of a day, staff were keen to find out where we had been & what we had done. All meals & drinks were wonderfully prepared & when invited by staff into the kitchen it was meticulously clean, organised & second to none. The manager made himself known to us on a number of occasions throughout our stay to check we were happy with our stay. Happy to recommend the hotel to all!

Room Tip: No matter where you stay in Hanoi (&Saigon) you will get some noise. We saw a variety of rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night when we arrived in Hanoi. The hotel is very modern and the staff was very friendly. We were heading to Sapa late the next day after a long day of sightseeing and they held our luggage until we were ready to head to the train station. Location on the edge of the Old Quarter is good, but definitely on the noisy side.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmelnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013. The staff were wonderful and the rooms were perfect. Large clean bathrooms with nice showers with two separate shower heads depending on whether you wanted a "rain fall" shower. There were two of us traveling, but arriving on two separate international flights and we had arranged for a hotel pick up from the airport. One of the people didn't come for us, so we ended up traveling together. It was a long drive at night (about 50 mins) from airport and our driver spoke virtually no english and was driving very slowly. The breakfast was fantastic - much to choose from and very strong coffee, which was good for the jet lag! The spa was nothing special, but it was worth the price after a long trip to Hanoi. It's an easy walk to the Old Quarter. Would recommend without reservation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baggie487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
First Eden Hotel
First Eden Hotel
#249 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
2.0 mi away
Asia Hotel Hanoi
Asia Hotel Hanoi
#444 of 578 in Hanoi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hanoi Delight Hotel
Hanoi Delight Hotel
#371 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
A25 Hotel 44 Hang Bun
A25 Hotel 44 Hang Bun
#522 of 578 in Hanoi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Gate Hotel
Royal Gate Hotel
#446 of 578 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalcedony Hotel
Chalcedony Hotel
#145 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Hotel

Property: Santa Barbara Hotel
Address: 23 Quan Thanh Str, Ba Dinh Dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Barbara Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Santa Barbara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing