We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service in great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angel Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Angel Palace Hotel
Ranked #70 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
202 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great service in great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We did not know which hotel to choose in Hanoi, but we were glad we've picked up Angel Palace, because we felt like in heaven! Clean, spacious rooms (ask for cityview), and perfect service. Breakfast was not best, but who cares!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    123
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
70
214
54
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mount Isa, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Vietnam for our honeymoon, on arrival to Angel Palace, we were certainly treated as honeymooners. We checked in and went to our room after a huge day of traveling. There was a knock at the door and the staff where there with a huge bunch of flowers, a chocolate cake and a bottle of wine, they said that were so happy to share in our honeymoon. We were originally booked to stay at this hotel for 3 nights. We had some complications with our tour of Ha Long Bay (Paloma cruises...but that will be a separate review). After consulting the manager, he told us not to worry, he will sort everything out. We were a little sceptical, however continued into the old quarter for some sightseeing and shopping, which is very easy to do as everything is in walking distance of this hotel's location. Upon returning to our hotel, the manager was so excited to tell us that he had secured a room on a boat for us and we had been upgraded to Ha Long Bay's number one cruise boat (Au Co). Our booking for this cruise could only be done a day after we intended to go, so Angel Palace allowed us to stay another night at the extremely discounted rate, that we initially booked at. Our entire trip in Hanoi was made enjoyable throughout the delightful service of this hotel, to return everyday and be greeted with big smiles and courteous service was amazing. Nothing was too hard or a problem. Upon our return from Ha Long Bay, we had approximately 3hrs before our train was to depart, they allowed us to leave our bags with them (even though we were not guests anymore) and then when it was time to catch our train, the doorman escorted us to the train, coming with us in the cab, directing us to the correct train (which would have been hard if it was just my husband and I), he carried our bags to our carriage and waited roughly 30 mins with us before our train was ready to board. This is a small boutique hotel, with large service and experience, almost everyone speaks English (varied levels) but everyone was so happy to help, from the management to the kitchen staff etc. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Hanoi and we will certainly be back.Thank you Angel Palace.

Room Tip: We had booked a city view room but where then asked again upon arrival if we still wanted this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Antara2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed this accommodation three separate times in distinct type of rooms during a trip around this district. I suppose this hotel is one of the most excellent in the cost benefit balance in Hanoi.
Since this hotel is located in the center of the city, we could go to most of interesting places on foot. Rooms were clean and adequately equipped. The staffs are so helpful and responded our needs even before we requested. When we went to station for Victoria Express, one staff boy kindly guided us even to the train compartment at midnight.
Only for short overnight stay, the classic room is sufficient, if you don't mind less spacious room without window, though you had better to avoid rooms near the staircase. The city view room is still low in price and the most recommended. It is calm and considerably spacious; well equipped comparable to rooms in five star class hotels.

Room Tip: You had btter select city view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginmokusei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here four nights over Christmas 2012. Great location at the edge of the Old Quarter, very quiet rooms, clean and a wonderful complementary breakfast.

Reserved a deluxe room; however, upon checking in our room was not available. The story was the occupant got hit by a motorbike and his wife had to stay one more night and they could not relocate her. Thus we were given a standard room. It was clean, but quite small and had no windows (expect for one that would look to the elevator window thus providing zero privacy. With my claustrophobia kicking in, it was a long night...

The next morning we were provided an upgrade to the best room in the hotel for the standard room rate. A very nice gesture. We loved our room for the next three nights. We had a great view of the street below, yet with the double pane glass windows the room was always quiet. The service with the hotel was perfect. Always helping us with anything from ice to a wine opener, to restocking the mini bar late at night with fresh cold beer. On a whim, I even requested an english Hanoi newspaper and one was delivered free of charge to my room within minutes.

The free breakfast each morning was quite good, including omelets prepared anyway you wanted it.
From the hotel management to the service staff, we were very impressed with this hotel.

We posted a video of this hotel on our photography travel site quickadventures.net (along with other must see sites in Hanoi)

Room Tip: Room with a window facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluefive5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stay here for 6 nites as compare to other newer hotel this hotel is definitely much better. Everything are new and clean. But taxi cannot stop in the front if the hotel as u have to cross the road in order to get on the taxi. Be careful many cars on the Hang Bong is the main street so quite dangerous to cross so I may suggest u go to Silk Path hotel which is about 10 meter away to board or drop off from taxi. But Angel Palace surely can be among the top 10 hotel in Hanoi.
Breakfast place is clean and good and choices are not too bad but hope they will replenish some of the food if it is finished. Also I hope they could have more choice of pillows as on my arrived day was told that as they are running full house they couldn't find me low pillow as I find that the one in my room is too high to sleep.
Overall experience is good and will return for sure.
Additional note : Hotel did throw a small party for hotel guest on eve of New year which is very good gesture.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEKCHONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Stay here for 6 nites as compare to other newer hotel this hotel is definitely better. But taxi cannot stop in the front if the hotel as u have to cross the road in order to get on the taxi. But many cars on the Hang Bong street actually so quite dangerous to cross so I may suggest u go to Silk Path hotel which is about 20 meter away to board or drop off from taxi.
Breakfast place is clean and good but limited choices and they will not replenish the food or juices once finished. So u got to go earlier for food. If they have put more choices and change some dishes will be good for long staying guests like me. I have requested for flat pillow but they said room running full so no more pillow. I have to wait until 3 days only then have the pillow that is flatted. Also I think during winter time they should on their heater at all time for the guests.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEKCHONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is beautiful. Everything is clean and new. It looks a bit like a fancy doll house on the inside. The staff is very friendly and will accomodate you in any way that they can. During our stay they arranged taxis, helped us with an ATM, extended our stay and even offered to cook us noodles after the kitchen was closed. The hotel is very quiet and clean. The rooms are warm with plenty of hot water. They also offer free wifi. The spa treatments, although off site, are really nice and I would recommend them. The breakfast is just mediocre, but fine. We had laundry done and everything came out fine. The only negative is that the hotel is a bit of a walk about 15-20 minutes) from the real center of the old quarter. However, we looked at some other hotel closer to the lake and center of the old quarter and nothing could complete with this hotel. It is a great value and I look forward to visiting again when I come back to Hanoi!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi City Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
#49 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#62 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#55 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Graceful Hotel
Hanoi Graceful Hotel
#69 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Palace Hotel

Property: Angel Palace Hotel
Address: 173 Hang Bong Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Angel Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest boutique hotel consists of 36 elegant rooms and conveniently situated in the heart of Vietnam’s capital, just 15 minutes walks to famous Opera House and 10 minutes walks to the legendary Hoan Kiem Lake, in the of business districts is ideally for business and leisure guests alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Angel Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing