We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse
Ranked #252 of 662 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Can not recommend this place highly enough....

Staff are so friendly, helpful, obliging and reliable!

Book our halong bay tour with them taxi to the airport and took there advise for eating out!

Situation in old town it is a family owned guesthouse that is well worth a trip!

Great value too!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aoife B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 274 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff is very very welcoming! Very nice as well, my friend was sick at some point and they brought her fruits, very caring staff. The location is perfect, close to everything. It is very easy to book for Sapa and book for Ha Long Bay, you can even leave your bags here and bring just a little bag. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is pretty good! I recommend this hotel! Great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyne723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The rooms were reasonably priced, very clean and a decent size. The bathrooms are very small buttery clean and much better than many of the bigger bathrooms we have had on our SE Asia trip.

Breakfast was fine - eggs, bread and jam. Wifi was a bit hit an miss.

Location was very good - close to good food and bia hoi, but not right in the middle of the noisy backpacker area.

The highlight was the staff, who were very friendly and helpful, with lots of local tips. They were not at all pushy with tours, although we did actually book our Halong Bay tour with them and got a very good price compared to what other people on the tour paid. The guest house let us leave our pack packs with them while we were away on the tour, and valuables in their safe.

We also booked train tickets on the overnight train from Hanoi to Hue with the guesthouse staff. This all worked well and they even let us use a shower in the guest house after we got back from Halong Bay but before our train.

Room Tip: The room at the very top feels a bit dark because of all of the curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddyb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked online before arriving at Hanoi and the staff were very accommodating in answering queries and arranging airport transfers etc. The rooms are basic but clean and airconditioned. We had a room with a balcony which was nice. Very friendly staff and breakfast was nice to have. You can find cheaper accommodation but from what I heard you get what u pay for. When back in Hanoi after travelling east we thought we had booked with them but they didn't have rooms and they arranged for another hotel nearby which would have been more money but we paid the same. Great service.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great to be in the old quarter and close enough to the train station for a cheap transfer. Very very helpful staff, all of them, and so friendly, before and during our stay. Room nothing smart but adequate for the one night we were passing through. Beds are hard but most beds in vietnam have been so far! Nice to have a balcony for fresh air. Basic Breakfast was nice and early , before our tour to BaBe National Park which we booked through the guesthouse and it was a great success. Very nice guide Mr Viet of B Travel who's English was good. He and his driver were fab company for the 3 days we spent together - when we asked him where else we should go he recommended HaGiang and it was spectacular. Go if you have the time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrytucker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Quite simply:

Great staff
Great location
Great rooms
Great service
Great advice

We also booked a Halong Bay tour through them and they were really accomodating with strange schedule we wanted to create. They basically made the tour work around our needs! The tour was really cheap and all three of us thought the tour exceeded our expectations (Me, my sister and my husband).

Couldn't fault them!

(Well there is some street noise but that is just Hanoi)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We only actually spent one night in this guesthouse, but the staff let us use it as a base in Hanoi in between and after trips to Halong Bay and Sapa.

Firstly, the night we stayed - the room was quiet, comfortable and clean. The hostel is also in an excellent central location in Hanoi's old town - only a short walk from most of the sights. We arrived early morning, and despite not having spent the previous night there we were offered breakfast - a nice touch. Despite not booking our Halong Bay trip with them, they were happy for us to leave our baggage with them while away.

However, we did organise a trip to Sapa through them. Everything turned out perfectly - we were picked up from the guesthouse and taken to the train station, put on the train, and there was a guide waiting for us at the other end. For the price we paid, the amount included and quality of the hotel were phenomenal - we spent 3 days in Sapa and can honestly say it was the highlight of our month in Vietnam - we would certainly recommend anyone to book their Sapa trip through Lucky Guesthouse.

We returned from Sapa at an unsociable time of 4:30am, however we were welcomed back to the guesthouse, given a place to sleep despite them not having a room available, once again offered breakfast and use of all facilities despite not having booked a further night.

Every member of staff is friendly, cheerful and incredibly helpful - it was a real home-from-home for us and we couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Bodega Hotel
Bodega Hotel
#322 of 606 in Hanoi
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#132 of 606 in Hanoi
1,322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Evergreen Hotel
Hanoi Evergreen Hotel
#96 of 662 in Hanoi
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#15 of 453 in Hanoi
1,179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
1.1 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#98 of 606 in Hanoi
2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse

Address: 14 Bat Su Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 662 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: $14 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hanoi Lucky Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing